Head-to-Head

American Express Business Checking

No monthly fee + 1.30% APY on first $500k + Membership Rewards, online-only, no cash deposits

VS

Meow Business Banking

Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank

Monthly Fee
$0 — unconditional
Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Checking APY
1.30% APY on first $500,000 per account (variable; no activity gate)
Rating
8.2/10
8.5/10

Costs & Fees

MetricAmerican Express Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Monthly maintenance$0 — unconditionalMarketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Fee waiverN/A — no monthly fee to waiveN/A — no published maintenance fee to waive
Transaction feesNo excess-item fees; effectively unlimited electronic and paper items (operational limits may apply unpublished)No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits.
Overdraft/NSF$0 NSF/stop pay/returns; overdrafting not a product — items exceeding balance generally refusedCRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed.
ATM feesAllpoint + MoneyPass in-network $0 Amex fee; out-of-network owner surcharge (no rebate). Daily ATM cash limit $1,000.Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic wire $0. Outgoing domestic wire $25. Standard ACH $0. Same-day ACH $10 (cutoff 2:45 PM ET). Outgoing international wires not offered.Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0.

Interest & Yields

MetricAmerican Express Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Checking APY1.30% APY on first $500,000 per account (variable; no activity gate)
Savings APYN/A — single checking product
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at AENB (accounts aggregate)Standard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank

Features & Access

MetricAmerican Express Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. 70,000+ Allpoint + MoneyPass ATMs for withdrawals only (no cash deposits).None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails.
Mobile appBusiness Blueprint ~4.5/5 Google Play (~1.6k reviews); Amex app ~4.8–4.9 iOS citedNo first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP.
Virtual cardsNot marketed for business debit productIncluded — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API
Opening deposit$0$0 marketed for core checking
EligibilityCorporation, LLC, partnership, unincorporated association, sole prop. 25%+ owners must be U.S./territory residents with SSN/ITIN.Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated.

Pros & Cons

American Express Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly fee, $0 opening deposit, $0 excess-item fee unconditionally
  • 1.30% APY on first $500,000 per account with no balance or activity gate
  • Membership Rewards on debit spend plus Redeem-for-Deposits into checking
  • 24/7 specialist support — differentiator vs most online business banks
  • 70,000+ Allpoint/MoneyPass ATM withdrawals at $0 Amex fee; up to 10 accounts at $0 extra

Cons

  • Cash deposits not supported at all — need another bank for cash businesses
  • No outgoing international wires; USD Fedwire domestic/territories only
  • APY stops at $500k/account; FDIC remains $250k with no ICS/sweep
  • Thin card/user toolkit vs Relay/Bluevine-style employee and virtual cards
  • Beneficial owners must be U.S./territory residents with SSN/ITIN — blocks international founders

Meow Business Banking

Pros

  • Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
  • IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
  • Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
  • Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
  • Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend

Cons

  • Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
  • Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
  • No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
  • No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
  • Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set

Verdict

American Express Business Checking

American Express Business Checking is a single-tier online account issued directly by American Express National Bank — not a fintech wrapper. As of September 2026: $0 monthly fee, 1.30% APY on the first $500,000 per account (up to 10 accounts), standard FDIC $250k with no sweep. Strengths are unconditional $0 fees, decent APY without activity gates, MR on debit spend, QuickBooks, Zelle, and 24/7 support. Weaknesses are no cash deposits, no outgoing international wires, APY/FDIC gap above $250k, and limited multi-user debit tooling. Best for digital firms already in the Amex ecosystem; pair with a branch bank if the business handles cash.

Meow Business Banking

Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.