Head-to-Head

American Express Business Checking

No monthly fee + 1.30% APY on first $500k + Membership Rewards, online-only, no cash deposits

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
$0 — unconditional
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
1.30% APY on first $500,000 per account (variable; no activity gate)
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
8.2/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricAmerican Express Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 — unconditional$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverN/A — no monthly fee to waiveN/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesNo excess-item fees; effectively unlimited electronic and paper items (operational limits may apply unpublished)No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$0 NSF/stop pay/returns; overdrafting not a product — items exceeding balance generally refused$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesAllpoint + MoneyPass in-network $0 Amex fee; out-of-network owner surcharge (no rebate). Daily ATM cash limit $1,000.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic wire $0. Outgoing domestic wire $25. Standard ACH $0. Same-day ACH $10 (cutoff 2:45 PM ET). Outgoing international wires not offered.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricAmerican Express Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APY1.30% APY on first $500,000 per account (variable; no activity gate)Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYN/A — single checking productBusiness Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at AENB (accounts aggregate)Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricAmerican Express Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. 70,000+ Allpoint + MoneyPass ATMs for withdrawals only (no cash deposits).24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appBusiness Blueprint ~4.5/5 Google Play (~1.6k reviews); Amex app ~4.8–4.9 iOS citedPrimis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsNot marketed for business debit productNot disclosed
Opening deposit$0$1.00
EligibilityCorporation, LLC, partnership, unincorporated association, sole prop. 25%+ owners must be U.S./territory residents with SSN/ITIN.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

American Express Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly fee, $0 opening deposit, $0 excess-item fee unconditionally
  • 1.30% APY on first $500,000 per account with no balance or activity gate
  • Membership Rewards on debit spend plus Redeem-for-Deposits into checking
  • 24/7 specialist support — differentiator vs most online business banks
  • 70,000+ Allpoint/MoneyPass ATM withdrawals at $0 Amex fee; up to 10 accounts at $0 extra

Cons

  • Cash deposits not supported at all — need another bank for cash businesses
  • No outgoing international wires; USD Fedwire domestic/territories only
  • APY stops at $500k/account; FDIC remains $250k with no ICS/sweep
  • Thin card/user toolkit vs Relay/Bluevine-style employee and virtual cards
  • Beneficial owners must be U.S./territory residents with SSN/ITIN — blocks international founders

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

American Express Business Checking

American Express Business Checking is a single-tier online account issued directly by American Express National Bank — not a fintech wrapper. As of September 2026: $0 monthly fee, 1.30% APY on the first $500,000 per account (up to 10 accounts), standard FDIC $250k with no sweep. Strengths are unconditional $0 fees, decent APY without activity gates, MR on debit spend, QuickBooks, Zelle, and 24/7 support. Weaknesses are no cash deposits, no outgoing international wires, APY/FDIC gap above $250k, and limited multi-user debit tooling. Best for digital firms already in the Amex ecosystem; pair with a branch bank if the business handles cash.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.