Axos Bank Business Checking
Basic = $0 monthly + unlimited items + unlimited domestic ATM rebates. Interest = waivable $10 + declining-tier APY.
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + modest checking APY + unlimited items, online-only, weak cash rails
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Axos Bank Business Checking | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | Basic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000 | $0 unconditional |
| Fee waiver | Interest Checking only — $5,000 ADB waives $10 monthly fee. Basic has no monthly fee. | N/A — already $0 |
| Transaction fees | Basic: unlimited items (debits, credits, deposited items). Interest: 100 free items/month then $0.50 each. RDA deposits count as 2 items; 60 RDA items/month cap on both. | Unlimited transactions; no per-item fees advertised. Footnote: 'Dollar amount restrictions may apply' — meaning not disclosed. |
| Overdraft/NSF | NSF paid or returned item $25 (max $75/day); no fee if negative balance less than NSF fee. Returned deposited item $10. Linked-account OD transfer free. | Conflict: marketing says 'no overdraft fees.' Fee schedule lists Returned Item $20 and Uncollected Funds $30 (schedule dated 03/15/2018). Confirm at opening. |
| ATM fees | Axos charge $0. Unlimited domestic third-party ATM surcharge reimbursements on both products. International ATM surcharges not reimbursed. | Bank ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge possible. Up to $10/month reimbursement of third-party ATM surcharges. No branded free network. 2% ISA on intl ATM/debit. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic + international: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15. Basic reimburses 2 outgoing domestic wires/month. Outgoing international: $50. Online/automated transfers free. ACH origination is treasury add-on. | Incoming domestic: $15. Outgoing domestic: $20. Incoming intl: $15. Outgoing foreign: $50. Standard ACH in/out: not disclosed as fee (treated as free). Business ACH default cap $25,000/day unless raised in writing. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Axos Bank Business Checking | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | Basic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+ | 0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%. |
| Savings APY | Business Premium Savings advertised up to 3.60% APY as of 9/2/2026 — separate product, not checking APY | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Axos Bank (Cert 35546) | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at First Internet Bank of Indiana |
Features & Access
| Metric | Axos Bank Business Checking | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | No SMB retail branches. Any U.S. ATM with unlimited domestic surcharge rebates (~90,000+ network cited). Cash deposits at deposit-taking Allpoint+/MoneyPass ATMs only. | No branch network. HQ lobby Fishers, IN only. Any ATM for withdrawal — bank $0, up to $10/month surcharge rebate. No ATM cash deposit advertised. |
| Mobile app | iOS ~4.7; Android ~4.6 (~10.1K reviews); NerdWallet weighted ~4.52 (Feb 2026) | iOS 4.3/5 (~265 ratings); Google Play ~4.1–4.2 (~115–116 reviews) |
| Virtual cards | Standard Visa debit only; virtual employee cards not disclosed | Not disclosed for this checking tier |
| Opening deposit | Basic: none. Interest: $100 | $100 conservative (official page silent; secondary sources split $0 vs $100) |
| Eligibility | U.S. companies only — sole prop, GP, LLC, LP/LLP, C-corp, nonprofit corp, association/HOA. U.S. resident signer with SSN and physical business address required. | U.S.-based businesses; owner at least 18. Structures not fully published — NerdWallet cites sole prop, LLC, corp with EIN or SSN and formation docs. |
Pros & Cons
Axos Bank Business Checking
Pros
- Basic: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited item processing (Agreement 07/2025)
- Unlimited domestic ATM surcharge rebates on both products
- Incoming domestic and international wires $0 on fee schedule
- Basic reimburses two outgoing domestic wire fees per month
- Interest Checking publishes dated deposit APY (1.01% as of 9/2/2026) with no spend gate; IntraFi ICS to $265MM
Cons
- No branches; cash is ATM/retail-constrained with possible retailer fees
- Interest Checking: $0.50/item after 100 plus 60-item RDA cap; APY falls sharply above $50k
- RDA availability can be five business days by contract
- Business support weekday-only; reviews cluster on holds, portal bugs, slow ops
- Outbound international wires $50 + undisclosed FX; no multi-currency; weak native multi-user
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly maintenance, $0 stated per-item fees, unlimited transactions (2026 FAQ)
- 0.50% APY on checking at $10k ADB — uncommon among free business checking (rate 6/16/2026)
- Balance Optimizer sweeps idle cash to First IB MMA at 2.94% / 3.64% without third-party sweep
- Phone support into evening and Saturday; Zelle for Business and account aggregation included
- Direct FDIC member bank (cert. 34607) — not a fintech/partner stack
Cons
- No usable cash-deposit system
- Incoming wires $15 even domestic — recurring cost for wire-paid businesses
- Checking APY modest and gated at $10,000 ADB; below that, yield effectively zero
- Standard FDIC $250k only; no advertised excess-insurance network
- Stale 2018 fee schedule vs 'no overdraft fees' marketing; check holds up to 7–9 business days
Verdict
Axos Bank Business Checking
Axos Bank offers two online SMB checking accounts at a direct FDIC member bank (Cert 35546). Basic Business Checking is structurally cheap: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited items, free incoming wires, and two reimbursed outgoing domestic wires — ideal for digital SMBs. Business Interest Checking adds tiered APY (1.01% below $50k as of 9/2/2026) but charges $10 unless $5k ADB and meters items after 100. Both cap mobile deposits at 60 items with up to 5th-business-day availability. IntraFi ICS to $265MM helps large balances but checking APY collapses above $50k. Weak on branches, cash, multi-user, and 24/7 support. Price Interest against the $50k APY cliff and item cap.
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Do More Business™ Checking is First Internet Bank of Indiana's single-tier online SMB checking. Direct FDIC member (cert. 34607). $0 maintenance, unlimited items, no cash network. 0.50% APY requires $10k ADB (rate 6/16/2026). Balance Optimizer sweeps to internal MMA (2.94%/3.64%). Costs: $15 incoming wires, $20 outgoing domestic, $50 outgoing foreign, $10/month ATM rebate cap, $3 paper statements, $5/month dormant. Funds availability can hold checks 7–9 days. Strong phone hours and Zelle; weak for cash, incoming wires, and balances above $250k FDIC.