Head-to-Head

Axos Bank Business Checking

Basic = $0 monthly + unlimited items + unlimited domestic ATM rebates. Interest = waivable $10 + declining-tier APY.

VS

Live Oak Bank Business Checking

Online U.S. bank checking with waivable monthly fees, unlimited items, Allpoint ATM cash-out, no cash deposits, no checking APY

Monthly Fee
Basic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000
Essential $10/cycle if ADB <$1,000; Plus $25/cycle if ADB <$25,000; Analysis $100/mo (offset by earnings credit — rate unpublished)
Checking APY
Basic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+
None — non-interest-bearing on all three current tiers
Rating
8.1/10
7.6/10

Costs & Fees

MetricAxos Bank Business CheckingLive Oak Bank Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceBasic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000Essential $10/cycle if ADB <$1,000; Plus $25/cycle if ADB <$25,000; Analysis $100/mo (offset by earnings credit — rate unpublished)
Fee waiverInterest Checking only — $5,000 ADB waives $10 monthly fee. Basic has no monthly fee.Essential: cycle ADB ≥ $1,000. Plus: cycle ADB ≥ $25,000. Analysis: earnings credit offsets fees.
Transaction feesBasic: unlimited items (debits, credits, deposited items). Interest: 100 free items/month then $0.50 each. RDA deposits count as 2 items; 60 RDA items/month cap on both.Unlimited — no charge for checks paid/deposits, ACH, debit card on Essential/Plus (fee schedule 7.21.25)
Overdraft/NSFNSF paid or returned item $25 (max $75/day); no fee if negative balance less than NSF fee. Returned deposited item $10. Linked-account OD transfer free.Overdraft $25; NSF no charge; returned item $5. No daily cap published.
ATM feesAxos charge $0. Unlimited domestic third-party ATM surcharge reimbursements on both products. International ATM surcharges not reimbursed.Allpoint 55,000+: $0 from Live Oak. OON: Live Oak $0 + owner surcharge. Foreign ATM 3% of amount. No rebate program.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic + international: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15. Basic reimburses 2 outgoing domestic wires/month. Outgoing international: $50. Online/automated transfers free. ACH origination is treasury add-on.Incoming wire $10. Outgoing domestic $19. Outgoing international $40. ACH no charge on fee schedule. ACH collections/payments/EFTPS are Plus/Analysis features only.

Interest & Yields

MetricAxos Bank Business CheckingLive Oak Bank Business Checking
Checking APYBasic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+None — non-interest-bearing on all three current tiers
Savings APYBusiness Premium Savings advertised up to 3.60% APY as of 9/2/2026 — separate product, not checking APY
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Axos Bank (Cert 35546)Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Live Oak Banking Company

Features & Access

MetricAxos Bank Business CheckingLive Oak Bank Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo SMB retail branches. Any U.S. ATM with unlimited domestic surcharge rebates (~90,000+ network cited). Cash deposits at deposit-taking Allpoint+/MoneyPass ATMs only.No retail branch network. Allpoint 55,000+ for cash withdrawal only — no ATM cash deposit. OON Live Oak fee $0.
Mobile appiOS ~4.7; Android ~4.6 (~10.1K reviews); NerdWallet weighted ~4.52 (Feb 2026)iOS ~2.6/5 (~109 ratings); Android ~3.0–3.1/5 (~100–107 reviews) — Forbes Advisor Aug 2026 called mediocre
Virtual cardsStandard Visa debit only; virtual employee cards not disclosedNot disclosed beyond debit Card Center
Opening depositBasic: none. Interest: $100$100
EligibilityU.S. companies only — sole prop, GP, LLC, LP/LLP, C-corp, nonprofit corp, association/HOA. U.S. resident signer with SSN and physical business address required.Sole prop, partnership, LLC, corporation, nonprofit. LP, professional corp, association on savings/CD pages.

Pros & Cons

Axos Bank Business Checking

Pros

  • Basic: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited item processing (Agreement 07/2025)
  • Unlimited domestic ATM surcharge rebates on both products
  • Incoming domestic and international wires $0 on fee schedule
  • Basic reimburses two outgoing domestic wire fees per month
  • Interest Checking publishes dated deposit APY (1.01% as of 9/2/2026) with no spend gate; IntraFi ICS to $265MM

Cons

  • No branches; cash is ATM/retail-constrained with possible retailer fees
  • Interest Checking: $0.50/item after 100 plus 60-item RDA cap; APY falls sharply above $50k
  • RDA availability can be five business days by contract
  • Business support weekday-only; reviews cluster on holds, portal bugs, slow ops
  • Outbound international wires $50 + undisclosed FX; no multi-currency; weak native multi-user

Live Oak Bank Business Checking

Pros

  • Unlimited transactions and $0 item/ACH/debit fees on Essential/Plus (fee schedule 7.21.25)
  • Monthly fee waivable at modest ADB — $1,000 Essential, $25,000 Plus
  • Deposits at Live Oak Banking Company (true bank) with optional IntraFi ICS
  • Allpoint 55,000+ cash-out with no Live Oak surcharge
  • QuickBooks, bill pay, mobile deposit, multi-approver controls; long weekday phone hours (8am–11pm ET)

Cons

  • Checking earns no APY
  • No cash deposits and no branches
  • Essential lacks online wire origination and ACH collections/payments per official matrix
  • Outgoing wires $19 domestic / $40 international; Analysis fee schedule not public
  • Weak mobile app ratings (~2.6 iOS); ICS liquidity not instant ($350k enrollment minimum)

Verdict

Axos Bank Business Checking

Axos Bank offers two online SMB checking accounts at a direct FDIC member bank (Cert 35546). Basic Business Checking is structurally cheap: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited items, free incoming wires, and two reimbursed outgoing domestic wires — ideal for digital SMBs. Business Interest Checking adds tiered APY (1.01% below $50k as of 9/2/2026) but charges $10 unless $5k ADB and meters items after 100. Both cap mobile deposits at 60 items with up to 5th-business-day availability. IntraFi ICS to $265MM helps large balances but checking APY collapses above $50k. Weak on branches, cash, multi-user, and 24/7 support. Price Interest against the $50k APY cliff and item cap.

Live Oak Bank Business Checking

Live Oak Bank offers three online-only business checking tiers at Live Oak Banking Company (Member FDIC): Essential ($10, waived at $1k ADB), Plus ($25, waived at $25k ADB), Plus Analysis ($100, ECR offset unpublished). Fee schedule 7.21.25: unlimited items, $0 ACH/debit, $10 incoming wires, $19/$40 outgoing wires, $25 OD. Essential = QuickBooks, bill pay, mobile deposit. Plus adds wire origination, ACH collections/payments, EFTPS, RDC. No cash, no APY, no branches. Allpoint cash-out only. Optional IntraFi ICS ($350k min). Weak app ratings. $200 bonus expired Apr 2026.