Axos Bank Business Checking
Basic = $0 monthly + unlimited items + unlimited domestic ATM rebates. Interest = waivable $10 + declining-tier APY.
Costs & Fees
Monthly maintenance: Basic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000
Fee waiver: Interest Checking only — $5,000 ADB waives $10 monthly fee. Basic has no monthly fee.
Transaction fees: Basic: unlimited items (debits, credits, deposited items). Interest: 100 free items/month then $0.50 each. RDA deposits count as 2 items; 60 RDA items/month cap on both.
Overdraft/NSF: NSF paid or returned item $25 (max $75/day); no fee if negative balance less than NSF fee. Returned deposited item $10. Linked-account OD transfer free.
ATM fees: Axos charge $0. Unlimited domestic third-party ATM surcharge reimbursements on both products. International ATM surcharges not reimbursed.
Wire/ACH: Incoming domestic + international: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15. Basic reimburses 2 outgoing domestic wires/month. Outgoing international: $50. Online/automated transfers free. ACH origination is treasury add-on.
Cash deposit: Not disclosed on business fee schedule. Deposit-taking Allpoint/MoneyPass ATMs (Axos $0); Green Dot retail reload possible on personal FAQ (retailer up to $4.95, $20–$500/visit typical). No branch vault.
Interest & Yields
Checking APY: Basic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+
Savings APY: Business Premium Savings advertised up to 3.60% APY as of 9/2/2026 — separate product, not checking APY
FDIC coverage: Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Axos Bank (Cert 35546)
Access, Features & Tools
Access
Branch/ATM: No SMB retail branches. Any U.S. ATM with unlimited domestic surcharge rebates (~90,000+ network cited). Cash deposits at deposit-taking Allpoint+/MoneyPass ATMs only.
Mobile app: iOS ~4.7; Android ~4.6 (~10.1K reviews); NerdWallet weighted ~4.52 (Feb 2026)
Cash deposits: Deposit-taking ATMs; Green Dot retail (personal FAQ only — not on business pages). No night drop, armored courier, or branch vault.
Features
Invoicing/bill pay: Bill Pay included (Basic and Interest). No native invoicing/AR suite. Bill Pay limits: email $2,500; individual $10,000; company/transfer $100,000.
Virtual cards: Standard Visa debit only; virtual employee cards not disclosed
International: USD checking only; incoming intl wires free (intermediary fees possible); outgoing intl $50 + undisclosed FX
Integrations
- ✓ QuickBooks Desktop + Online via Direct Connect / Web Connect
- ✓ Quicken Desktop via DC/WC
- ✓ CSV, QBO, QFX, OFX file export
Limits & Requirements
Opening deposit: Basic: none. Interest: $100
Minimum balance: None published to keep account open; Interest fee waiver at $5,000 ADB
Eligibility: U.S. companies only — sole prop, GP, LLC, LP/LLP, C-corp, nonprofit corp, association/HOA. U.S. resident signer with SSN and physical business address required.
Best for: No monthly fee (Basic) Unlimited transactions (Basic) Unlimited domestic ATM rebates Free incoming wires Interest-bearing checking (Interest tier) Real FDIC bank charter IntraFi sweep up to $265M QuickBooks integration
Pros & Cons
Pros
- ✓ Basic: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited item processing (Agreement 07/2025)
- ✓ Unlimited domestic ATM surcharge rebates on both products
- ✓ Incoming domestic and international wires $0 on fee schedule
- ✓ Basic reimburses two outgoing domestic wire fees per month
- ✓ Interest Checking publishes dated deposit APY (1.01% as of 9/2/2026) with no spend gate; IntraFi ICS to $265MM
Cons
- ✗ No branches; cash is ATM/retail-constrained with possible retailer fees
- ✗ Interest Checking: $0.50/item after 100 plus 60-item RDA cap; APY falls sharply above $50k
- ✗ RDA availability can be five business days by contract
- ✗ Business support weekday-only; reviews cluster on holds, portal bugs, slow ops
- ✗ Outbound international wires $50 + undisclosed FX; no multi-currency; weak native multi-user
Strong Pick (digital-only SMB — Basic for fee/value; Interest only under $50k)
Axos Bank offers two online SMB checking accounts at a direct FDIC member bank (Cert 35546). Basic Business Checking is structurally cheap: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited items, free incoming wires, and two reimbursed outgoing domestic wires — ideal for digital SMBs. Business Interest Checking adds tiered APY (1.01% below $50k as of 9/2/2026) but charges $10 unless $5k ADB and meters items after 100. Both cap mobile deposits at 60 items with up to 5th-business-day availability. IntraFi ICS to $265MM helps large balances but checking APY collapses above $50k. Weak on branches, cash, multi-user, and 24/7 support. Price Interest against the $50k APY cliff and item cap.