Head-to-Head

Bank of America Business Advantage

National branch + ATM bank with waivable monthly fees; cash and paper-item priced by tier; 0% APY on checking

Airwallex Business Account

Multi-currency SME wallet — $0 Explore, local rails + FX, cards/spend; not cash or branch banking

Monthly Fee
Fundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)
Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiers
None — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Rating
7.6/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageAirwallex Business Account
Monthly maintenanceFundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Fee waiverFundamentals: $5,000 combined avg monthly balance OR $500+ net debit purchases OR Preferred Rewards for Business. Relationship: $15,000 combined avg balance OR Preferred Rewards. No debit-spend waiver on Relationship.N/A on Explore (already $0). Grow has no published balance waiver. Do not apply UK/EU/AU Explore waiver rules to U.S.
Transaction feesFundamentals: 20 free non-electronic items/cycle then $0.45 each. Relationship: 500 free then $0.45. Electronic/debit/mobile-ATM-RDO excluded from cap.No classic item-count checking fees. Cost drivers: FX, SWIFT/Fedwire, incoming Fedwire, exotic inbound %, Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026, optional acquiring, Grow seats.
Overdraft/NSF$10 overdraft item fee, max 2/day. No NSF fee when bank declines/returns unpaid.Not disclosed / not a published overdraft product
ATM feesBofA ATMs $0. Other U.S. ATMs $2.50 + operator. International ATM $5.00 + operator.Not disclosed. No ATM network marketed. CFSB card terms may allow ATM cash subject to limits/fees — product not designed as cash account.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic/intl $15 (waived Relationship + Preferred Rewards inbound). Outgoing domestic $30. Outgoing intl USD $45. Outgoing ACH online: $1 (3-day) / $5 (next-day). Bill pay $0.Incoming US Fedwire into Global Accounts: $15. USA/Canada local networks in/out: $0. Outgoing FedWire/SWIFT SHA: $15; SWIFT OUR: $25. Incoming most currencies 0%; KRW/VND/BRL/MYR 0.60%. ACH/local USA-Canada $0 on SMB table.

Interest & Yields

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageAirwallex Business Account
Checking APYNone — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiersNone — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Savings APYBusiness Advantage Savings 0.01% standard; up to 0.04% with Preferred Rewards booster (Gold 0.02%, Platinum 0.03%, Platinum Honors 0.04%)N/A — no separate FDIC savings product
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Bank of America, N.A.Eligible USD at U.S. partner banks: FDIC pass-through up to $250,000 per qualified customer per institution in customer beneficial interest (omnibus FBO). Not Airwallex’s own operating cash.

Features & Access

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageAirwallex Business Account
Branch/ATM network~3,530 U.S. financial centers; ~14,939 branded ATMs (as of 6/30/2026). Thin/no presence in several states.None. No marketed ATM network. Cash access unreliable / not a design goal.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8/5 (~5M ratings); Google Play 4.6/5 (~1.2M reviews, Jul 2026)App Store US ~4.8/5 (~426 ratings, Aug 2025 scrape); AppBrain ~4.84 (~478); older Google Play ~4.2 — recheck live stores.
Virtual cardsDigital debit card with dynamic security codes; employee debit with access controlsIncluded — unlimited virtual on marketing; merchant/limit controls Explore; richer rules Grow+
Opening deposit$100+ (Clarity) or unfunded online open$0
EligibilitySole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, professional corp, unincorporated association. Nonprofit supported as association-type — confirm.Legal business entity or sole proprietor; principal place of business in the United States (Airwallex US / Evolve). Corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, LLC, incorporated nonprofit, sole prop. Not for consumers/personal/household use.

Pros & Cons

Bank of America Business Advantage

Pros

  • First 12 statement cycles at $0 on Fundamentals, then waiver via $500 debit spend, $5k balance, or Preferred Rewards
  • Electronic transactions do not consume the 20/500 non-electronic item cap
  • Relationship bundles second checking + savings at $0 and waives inbound wires and stop payments
  • Dense branch/ATM network — ~3,530 centers and ~14,939 ATMs as of 6/30/2026
  • Preferred Rewards waives fees on up to 4 checking + 4 savings and boosts card rewards 25–75%

Cons

  • 0% APY on checking; linked savings only 0.01–0.04% even with Preferred Rewards booster
  • Fundamentals 20-item / $5,000 cash limits are tight for paper- or cash-heavy operators
  • Outgoing wires $30 domestic / $45 international USD on both tiers
  • 3% foreign debit FX unless high Preferred Rewards tier waives it
  • Support not 24/7; megabank hold/closure complaint patterns; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Airwallex Business Account

Pros

  • US Explore $0/month with no published minimum balance (US Fee Schedule, 18 Sep 2026)
  • Transparent FX 0.50% majors / 1.00% others vs typical 2–4%+ bank markups
  • Local-rail payouts and USA/Canada transfers $0; Grow/Accelerate exempt from Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026
  • Local receiving in 20+ currencies reduces incoming international wire friction
  • Cards + expense + bill pay + QBO/Xero on one wallet; Grow adds NetSuite-class controls; optional Yield ~3.3–3.6% net MMF

Cons

  • Not a bank; FDIC pass-through $250k at partner banks (omnibus FBO); no advertised multi-bank sweep
  • Yield is SIPC MMF — not FDIC and not checking APY
  • No cash or check deposit rail
  • Grow is $12 × Spend users + unpublished platform fee — hard to model from public docs
  • Trustpilot 2.9/5 and freeze/hold complaint pattern; Explore has no dedicated RM; incoming Fedwire $15

Verdict

Bank of America Business Advantage

Bank of America's Business Advantage series offers Fundamentals ($16/mo after 12 free cycles) and Relationship ($29.95/mo after 2 free cycles) — both non-interest-bearing with waivable fees. Fundamentals waives via $5k balance, $500 debit spend, or Preferred Rewards; Relationship via $15k balance or Preferred Rewards and adds a free second checking, savings, and waived inbound wires. Strengths are branch/ATM access, 12-month Fundamentals intro, electronic activity outside item caps, and Merrill/Preferred Rewards ecosystem. Weaknesses are 0% checking APY, tight Fundamentals item/cash boxes, expensive outgoing wires, and no sweep above $250k FDIC. Choose Relationship for higher paper/cash volume; Fundamentals for digital-light SMBs that can hit the $500 debit waiver.

Airwallex Business Account

Airwallex US is a money transmitter with USD at partner banks (Evolve named for certain customers) — FDIC pass-through $250k, no advertised ICS sweep. Explore $0; Grow $12/Spend user + undisclosed platform fee. Wallet FX 0.50%/1.00%; USA/Canada local $0; SWIFT $15/$25; incoming Fedwire $15. No cash/checks. Optional Yield MMF ~3.33–3.60% net (22 Sep 2026) is SIPC not FDIC. Strong for FX-heavy digital firms; weak for cash, branch, and freeze-averse buyers given Trustpilot 2.9.