Head-to-Head

Bank of America Business Advantage

National branch + ATM bank with waivable monthly fees; cash and paper-item priced by tier; 0% APY on checking

VS

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB

Monthly Fee
Fundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)
$10.00/month
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiers
Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Rating
7.6/10
7.7/10

Costs & Fees

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageChartway Premium Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceFundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)$10.00/month
Fee waiverFundamentals: $5,000 combined avg monthly balance OR $500+ net debit purchases OR Preferred Rewards for Business. Relationship: $15,000 combined avg balance OR Preferred Rewards. No debit-spend waiver on Relationship.Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation.
Transaction feesFundamentals: 20 free non-electronic items/cycle then $0.45 each. Relationship: 500 free then $0.45. Electronic/debit/mobile-ATM-RDO excluded from cap.Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items.
Overdraft/NSF$10 overdraft item fee, max 2/day. No NSF fee when bank declines/returns unpaid.Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0.
ATM feesBofA ATMs $0. Other U.S. ATMs $2.50 + operator. International ATM $5.00 + operator.Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed).
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic/intl $15 (waived Relationship + Preferred Rewards inbound). Outgoing domestic $30. Outgoing intl USD $45. Outgoing ACH online: $1 (3-day) / $5 (next-day). Bill pay $0.Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF.

Interest & Yields

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageChartway Premium Business Checking
Checking APYNone — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiersTiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Savings APYBusiness Advantage Savings 0.01% standard; up to 0.04% with Preferred Rewards booster (Gold 0.02%, Platinum 0.03%, Platinum Honors 0.04%)Business Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Bank of America, N.A.

Features & Access

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageChartway Premium Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~3,530 U.S. financial centers; ~14,939 branded ATMs (as of 6/30/2026). Thin/no presence in several states.~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited).
Mobile appiOS ~4.8/5 (~5M ratings); Google Play 4.6/5 (~1.2M reviews, Jul 2026)Chartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app.
Virtual cardsDigital debit card with dynamic security codes; employee debit with access controlsNot disclosed
Opening deposit$100+ (Clarity) or unfunded online open$100 membership share
EligibilitySole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, professional corp, unincorporated association. Nonprofit supported as association-type — confirm.Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required.

Pros & Cons

Bank of America Business Advantage

Pros

  • First 12 statement cycles at $0 on Fundamentals, then waiver via $500 debit spend, $5k balance, or Preferred Rewards
  • Electronic transactions do not consume the 20/500 non-electronic item cap
  • Relationship bundles second checking + savings at $0 and waives inbound wires and stop payments
  • Dense branch/ATM network — ~3,530 centers and ~14,939 ATMs as of 6/30/2026
  • Preferred Rewards waives fees on up to 4 checking + 4 savings and boosts card rewards 25–75%

Cons

  • 0% APY on checking; linked savings only 0.01–0.04% even with Preferred Rewards booster
  • Fundamentals 20-item / $5,000 cash limits are tight for paper- or cash-heavy operators
  • Outgoing wires $30 domestic / $45 international USD on both tiers
  • 3% foreign debit FX unless high Preferred Rewards tier waives it
  • Support not 24/7; megabank hold/closure complaint patterns; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Pros

  • Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
  • $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
  • NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
  • Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
  • Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access

Cons

  • 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
  • Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
  • Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
  • $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
  • Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint

Verdict

Bank of America Business Advantage

Bank of America's Business Advantage series offers Fundamentals ($16/mo after 12 free cycles) and Relationship ($29.95/mo after 2 free cycles) — both non-interest-bearing with waivable fees. Fundamentals waives via $5k balance, $500 debit spend, or Preferred Rewards; Relationship via $15k balance or Preferred Rewards and adds a free second checking, savings, and waived inbound wires. Strengths are branch/ATM access, 12-month Fundamentals intro, electronic activity outside item caps, and Merrill/Preferred Rewards ecosystem. Weaknesses are 0% checking APY, tight Fundamentals item/cash boxes, expensive outgoing wires, and no sweep above $250k FDIC. Choose Relationship for higher paper/cash volume; Fundamentals for digital-light SMBs that can hit the $500 debit waiver.

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.