Head-to-Head

Bank of America Business Advantage

National branch + ATM bank with waivable monthly fees; cash and paper-item priced by tier; 0% APY on checking

VS

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

$0 monthly fee + modest checking APY + unlimited items, online-only, weak cash rails

Monthly Fee
Fundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)
$0 unconditional
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiers
0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%.
Rating
7.6/10
7.9/10

Costs & Fees

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageFirst Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceFundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)$0 unconditional
Fee waiverFundamentals: $5,000 combined avg monthly balance OR $500+ net debit purchases OR Preferred Rewards for Business. Relationship: $15,000 combined avg balance OR Preferred Rewards. No debit-spend waiver on Relationship.N/A — already $0
Transaction feesFundamentals: 20 free non-electronic items/cycle then $0.45 each. Relationship: 500 free then $0.45. Electronic/debit/mobile-ATM-RDO excluded from cap.Unlimited transactions; no per-item fees advertised. Footnote: 'Dollar amount restrictions may apply' — meaning not disclosed.
Overdraft/NSF$10 overdraft item fee, max 2/day. No NSF fee when bank declines/returns unpaid.Conflict: marketing says 'no overdraft fees.' Fee schedule lists Returned Item $20 and Uncollected Funds $30 (schedule dated 03/15/2018). Confirm at opening.
ATM feesBofA ATMs $0. Other U.S. ATMs $2.50 + operator. International ATM $5.00 + operator.Bank ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge possible. Up to $10/month reimbursement of third-party ATM surcharges. No branded free network. 2% ISA on intl ATM/debit.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic/intl $15 (waived Relationship + Preferred Rewards inbound). Outgoing domestic $30. Outgoing intl USD $45. Outgoing ACH online: $1 (3-day) / $5 (next-day). Bill pay $0.Incoming domestic: $15. Outgoing domestic: $20. Incoming intl: $15. Outgoing foreign: $50. Standard ACH in/out: not disclosed as fee (treated as free). Business ACH default cap $25,000/day unless raised in writing.

Interest & Yields

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageFirst Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Checking APYNone — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiers0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%.
Savings APYBusiness Advantage Savings 0.01% standard; up to 0.04% with Preferred Rewards booster (Gold 0.02%, Platinum 0.03%, Platinum Honors 0.04%)
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Bank of America, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at First Internet Bank of Indiana

Features & Access

MetricBank of America Business AdvantageFirst Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~3,530 U.S. financial centers; ~14,939 branded ATMs (as of 6/30/2026). Thin/no presence in several states.No branch network. HQ lobby Fishers, IN only. Any ATM for withdrawal — bank $0, up to $10/month surcharge rebate. No ATM cash deposit advertised.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8/5 (~5M ratings); Google Play 4.6/5 (~1.2M reviews, Jul 2026)iOS 4.3/5 (~265 ratings); Google Play ~4.1–4.2 (~115–116 reviews)
Virtual cardsDigital debit card with dynamic security codes; employee debit with access controlsNot disclosed for this checking tier
Opening deposit$100+ (Clarity) or unfunded online open$100 conservative (official page silent; secondary sources split $0 vs $100)
EligibilitySole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, professional corp, unincorporated association. Nonprofit supported as association-type — confirm.U.S.-based businesses; owner at least 18. Structures not fully published — NerdWallet cites sole prop, LLC, corp with EIN or SSN and formation docs.

Pros & Cons

Bank of America Business Advantage

Pros

  • First 12 statement cycles at $0 on Fundamentals, then waiver via $500 debit spend, $5k balance, or Preferred Rewards
  • Electronic transactions do not consume the 20/500 non-electronic item cap
  • Relationship bundles second checking + savings at $0 and waives inbound wires and stop payments
  • Dense branch/ATM network — ~3,530 centers and ~14,939 ATMs as of 6/30/2026
  • Preferred Rewards waives fees on up to 4 checking + 4 savings and boosts card rewards 25–75%

Cons

  • 0% APY on checking; linked savings only 0.01–0.04% even with Preferred Rewards booster
  • Fundamentals 20-item / $5,000 cash limits are tight for paper- or cash-heavy operators
  • Outgoing wires $30 domestic / $45 international USD on both tiers
  • 3% foreign debit FX unless high Preferred Rewards tier waives it
  • Support not 24/7; megabank hold/closure complaint patterns; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly maintenance, $0 stated per-item fees, unlimited transactions (2026 FAQ)
  • 0.50% APY on checking at $10k ADB — uncommon among free business checking (rate 6/16/2026)
  • Balance Optimizer sweeps idle cash to First IB MMA at 2.94% / 3.64% without third-party sweep
  • Phone support into evening and Saturday; Zelle for Business and account aggregation included
  • Direct FDIC member bank (cert. 34607) — not a fintech/partner stack

Cons

  • No usable cash-deposit system
  • Incoming wires $15 even domestic — recurring cost for wire-paid businesses
  • Checking APY modest and gated at $10,000 ADB; below that, yield effectively zero
  • Standard FDIC $250k only; no advertised excess-insurance network
  • Stale 2018 fee schedule vs 'no overdraft fees' marketing; check holds up to 7–9 business days

Verdict

Bank of America Business Advantage

Bank of America's Business Advantage series offers Fundamentals ($16/mo after 12 free cycles) and Relationship ($29.95/mo after 2 free cycles) — both non-interest-bearing with waivable fees. Fundamentals waives via $5k balance, $500 debit spend, or Preferred Rewards; Relationship via $15k balance or Preferred Rewards and adds a free second checking, savings, and waived inbound wires. Strengths are branch/ATM access, 12-month Fundamentals intro, electronic activity outside item caps, and Merrill/Preferred Rewards ecosystem. Weaknesses are 0% checking APY, tight Fundamentals item/cash boxes, expensive outgoing wires, and no sweep above $250k FDIC. Choose Relationship for higher paper/cash volume; Fundamentals for digital-light SMBs that can hit the $500 debit waiver.

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

Do More Business™ Checking is First Internet Bank of Indiana's single-tier online SMB checking. Direct FDIC member (cert. 34607). $0 maintenance, unlimited items, no cash network. 0.50% APY requires $10k ADB (rate 6/16/2026). Balance Optimizer sweeps to internal MMA (2.94%/3.64%). Costs: $15 incoming wires, $20 outgoing domestic, $50 outgoing foreign, $10/month ATM rebate cap, $3 paper statements, $5/month dormant. Funds availability can hold checks 7–9 days. Strong phone hours and Zelle; weak for cash, incoming wires, and balances above $250k FDIC.