Head-to-Head

Bank of America Business Advantage

National branch + ATM bank with waivable monthly fees; cash and paper-item priced by tier; 0% APY on checking

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
Fundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiers
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
7.6/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricBank of America Business AdvantagePrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceFundamentals $16/mo (first 12 cycles free); Relationship $29.95/mo (first 2 cycles free)$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverFundamentals: $5,000 combined avg monthly balance OR $500+ net debit purchases OR Preferred Rewards for Business. Relationship: $15,000 combined avg balance OR Preferred Rewards. No debit-spend waiver on Relationship.N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesFundamentals: 20 free non-electronic items/cycle then $0.45 each. Relationship: 500 free then $0.45. Electronic/debit/mobile-ATM-RDO excluded from cap.No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$10 overdraft item fee, max 2/day. No NSF fee when bank declines/returns unpaid.$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesBofA ATMs $0. Other U.S. ATMs $2.50 + operator. International ATM $5.00 + operator.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic/intl $15 (waived Relationship + Preferred Rewards inbound). Outgoing domestic $30. Outgoing intl USD $45. Outgoing ACH online: $1 (3-day) / $5 (next-day). Bill pay $0.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricBank of America Business AdvantagePrimis Business Checking
Checking APYNone — non-interest-bearing on both Advantage checking tiersUnlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYBusiness Advantage Savings 0.01% standard; up to 0.04% with Preferred Rewards booster (Gold 0.02%, Platinum 0.03%, Platinum Honors 0.04%)Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Bank of America, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricBank of America Business AdvantagePrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~3,530 U.S. financial centers; ~14,939 branded ATMs (as of 6/30/2026). Thin/no presence in several states.24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8/5 (~5M ratings); Google Play 4.6/5 (~1.2M reviews, Jul 2026)Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsDigital debit card with dynamic security codes; employee debit with access controlsNot disclosed
Opening deposit$100+ (Clarity) or unfunded online open$1.00
EligibilitySole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, professional corp, unincorporated association. Nonprofit supported as association-type — confirm.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Bank of America Business Advantage

Pros

  • First 12 statement cycles at $0 on Fundamentals, then waiver via $500 debit spend, $5k balance, or Preferred Rewards
  • Electronic transactions do not consume the 20/500 non-electronic item cap
  • Relationship bundles second checking + savings at $0 and waives inbound wires and stop payments
  • Dense branch/ATM network — ~3,530 centers and ~14,939 ATMs as of 6/30/2026
  • Preferred Rewards waives fees on up to 4 checking + 4 savings and boosts card rewards 25–75%

Cons

  • 0% APY on checking; linked savings only 0.01–0.04% even with Preferred Rewards booster
  • Fundamentals 20-item / $5,000 cash limits are tight for paper- or cash-heavy operators
  • Outgoing wires $30 domestic / $45 international USD on both tiers
  • 3% foreign debit FX unless high Preferred Rewards tier waives it
  • Support not 24/7; megabank hold/closure complaint patterns; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Bank of America Business Advantage

Bank of America's Business Advantage series offers Fundamentals ($16/mo after 12 free cycles) and Relationship ($29.95/mo after 2 free cycles) — both non-interest-bearing with waivable fees. Fundamentals waives via $5k balance, $500 debit spend, or Preferred Rewards; Relationship via $15k balance or Preferred Rewards and adds a free second checking, savings, and waived inbound wires. Strengths are branch/ATM access, 12-month Fundamentals intro, electronic activity outside item caps, and Merrill/Preferred Rewards ecosystem. Weaknesses are 0% checking APY, tight Fundamentals item/cash boxes, expensive outgoing wires, and no sweep above $250k FDIC. Choose Relationship for higher paper/cash volume; Fundamentals for digital-light SMBs that can hit the $500 debit waiver.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.