Head-to-Head

Bluevine Business Checking

Online SMB checking with tiered APY, waivable paid plans, and $3M sweep FDIC — weak on cash, strong on ACH/invoicing

Airwallex Business Account

Multi-currency SME wallet — $0 Explore, local rails + FX, cards/spend; not cash or branch banking

Monthly Fee
Standard $0; Plus $30; Premier $95
Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Checking APY
Standard 1.3% (first $250k, monthly activity test); Plus 1.75% (to $250k); Premier 3.0% (no cap per interest terms)
None — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Rating
8.4/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricBluevine Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Monthly maintenanceStandard $0; Plus $30; Premier $95Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Fee waiverPlus waived if avg daily balance ≥ $20,000 AND ≥ $2,000 card spend (excl. ATM). Premier waived if avg daily balance ≥ $100,000 AND ≥ $5,000 card spend. Balance across main + sub-accounts.N/A on Explore (already $0). Grow has no published balance waiver. Do not apply UK/EU/AU Explore waiver rules to U.S.
Transaction feesNo per-item excess fees; unlimited transaction count subject to dollar caps (see limits)No classic item-count checking fees. Cost drivers: FX, SWIFT/Fedwire, incoming Fedwire, exotic inbound %, Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026, optional acquiring, Grow seats.
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft; $0 NSF (returned deposited items: customer owes item amount)Not disclosed / not a published overdraft product
ATM feesMoneyPass in-network $0; out-of-network $2.50 + operator surcharge (no rebate). Daily cash-out cap $2,000.Not disclosed. No ATM network marketed. CFSB card terms may allow ATM cash subject to limits/fees — product not designed as cash account.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic wire $0 all plans. Outgoing domestic: $15/$12/$7.50. Incoming intl: $15/$12/$7.50. Outgoing intl USD: $25/$20/$12.50. Outgoing intl FX: $25+$1.5% / $20+$1.25% / $12.50+$1.0%. Standard ACH $0. Same-day ACH: $10/$8/$5.Incoming US Fedwire into Global Accounts: $15. USA/Canada local networks in/out: $0. Outgoing FedWire/SWIFT SHA: $15; SWIFT OUR: $25. Incoming most currencies 0%; KRW/VND/BRL/MYR 0.60%. ACH/local USA-Canada $0 on SMB table.

Interest & Yields

MetricBluevine Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Checking APYStandard 1.3% (first $250k, monthly activity test); Plus 1.75% (to $250k); Premier 3.0% (no cap per interest terms)None — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Savings APYN/A — single checking product with tiered APYN/A — no separate FDIC savings product
FDIC coverageStandard $250,000 at Coastal Community Bank; sweep program up to $3,000,000 across Program Banks (pass-through, aggregation caveats apply)Eligible USD at U.S. partner banks: FDIC pass-through up to $250,000 per qualified customer per institution in customer beneficial interest (omnibus FBO). Not Airwallex’s own operating cash.

Features & Access

MetricBluevine Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. 37,000+ MoneyPass surcharge-free ATMs for withdrawals.None. No marketed ATM network. Cash access unreliable / not a design goal.
Mobile appGoogle Play ~4.2/5 (~2.2k reviews, Apr 2026); iOS ~4.7 cited in secondary reviewsApp Store US ~4.8/5 (~426 ratings, Aug 2025 scrape); AppBrain ~4.84 (~478); older Google Play ~4.2 — recheck live stores.
Virtual cardsIncluded — physical + virtual debit cards with spend/ATM controls; up to 50 cardsIncluded — unlimited virtual on marketing; merchant/limit controls Explore; richer rules Grow+
Opening deposit$0$0
EligibilityU.S. owners: sole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, nonprofit corp. International owners: U.S. LLC or corp only (25 supported countries).Legal business entity or sole proprietor; principal place of business in the United States (Airwallex US / Evolve). Corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, LLC, incorporated nonprofit, sole prop. Not for consumers/personal/household use.

Pros & Cons

Bluevine Business Checking

Pros

  • Standard is $0 monthly with $0 overdraft/NSF and free standard ACH plus incoming domestic wires
  • Premier 3.0% APY with no interest cap in March 2026 terms — rare for SMB checking
  • Advertised sweep FDIC up to $3M at Program Banks (with aggregation caveats)
  • Sub-accounts (5/10/50), up to 50 cards, and role-based AP with bill-pay approvals
  • Built-in invoicing, Stripe Tap to Pay, and QuickBooks sync without separate banking subscription

Cons

  • Plus/Premier waiver requires balance AND card spend — miss either and $30/$95 posts
  • Cash deposits priced ($1+0.5% or $4.95) and capped at $7,500/30 days — poor for cash businesses
  • Default $100,000/30-day combined outgoing wire+ACH ceiling unless raised
  • No branches; support weekday 8am–8pm ET only
  • Standard APY drops to 0% any month the activity test is missed; recurring freeze/hold complaints

Airwallex Business Account

Pros

  • US Explore $0/month with no published minimum balance (US Fee Schedule, 18 Sep 2026)
  • Transparent FX 0.50% majors / 1.00% others vs typical 2–4%+ bank markups
  • Local-rail payouts and USA/Canada transfers $0; Grow/Accelerate exempt from Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026
  • Local receiving in 20+ currencies reduces incoming international wire friction
  • Cards + expense + bill pay + QBO/Xero on one wallet; Grow adds NetSuite-class controls; optional Yield ~3.3–3.6% net MMF

Cons

  • Not a bank; FDIC pass-through $250k at partner banks (omnibus FBO); no advertised multi-bank sweep
  • Yield is SIPC MMF — not FDIC and not checking APY
  • No cash or check deposit rail
  • Grow is $12 × Spend users + unpublished platform fee — hard to model from public docs
  • Trustpilot 2.9/5 and freeze/hold complaint pattern; Explore has no dedicated RM; incoming Fedwire $15

Verdict

Bluevine Business Checking

Bluevine Business Checking is an online interest-bearing SMB account from fintech Bluevine Inc., with deposits at Coastal Community Bank and optional sweep to Program Banks for up to $3M FDIC coverage. Three plans: Standard ($0, 1.3% APY with monthly activity test), Plus ($30 waivable, 1.75% to $250k), and Premier ($95 waivable, 3.0% uncapped APY). Strengths are yield, free Standard ACH/incoming wires, sub-accounts, 50 cards, invoicing, and QBO sync. Weaknesses are priced/capped cash deposits, $100k/30-day outgoing cap, weekday-only support, and documented freeze/hold patterns. Best compared to Chase for digital-first businesses that prioritize APY over branches.

Airwallex Business Account

Airwallex US is a money transmitter with USD at partner banks (Evolve named for certain customers) — FDIC pass-through $250k, no advertised ICS sweep. Explore $0; Grow $12/Spend user + undisclosed platform fee. Wallet FX 0.50%/1.00%; USA/Canada local $0; SWIFT $15/$25; incoming Fedwire $15. No cash/checks. Optional Yield MMF ~3.33–3.60% net (22 Sep 2026) is SIPC not FDIC. Strong for FX-heavy digital firms; weak for cash, branch, and freeze-averse buyers given Trustpilot 2.9.