Head-to-Head

Bluevine Business Checking

Online SMB checking with tiered APY, waivable paid plans, and $3M sweep FDIC — weak on cash, strong on ACH/invoicing

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
Standard $0; Plus $30; Premier $95
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
Standard 1.3% (first $250k, monthly activity test); Plus 1.75% (to $250k); Premier 3.0% (no cap per interest terms)
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
8.4/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricBluevine Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceStandard $0; Plus $30; Premier $95$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverPlus waived if avg daily balance ≥ $20,000 AND ≥ $2,000 card spend (excl. ATM). Premier waived if avg daily balance ≥ $100,000 AND ≥ $5,000 card spend. Balance across main + sub-accounts.N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesNo per-item excess fees; unlimited transaction count subject to dollar caps (see limits)No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft; $0 NSF (returned deposited items: customer owes item amount)$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesMoneyPass in-network $0; out-of-network $2.50 + operator surcharge (no rebate). Daily cash-out cap $2,000.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic wire $0 all plans. Outgoing domestic: $15/$12/$7.50. Incoming intl: $15/$12/$7.50. Outgoing intl USD: $25/$20/$12.50. Outgoing intl FX: $25+$1.5% / $20+$1.25% / $12.50+$1.0%. Standard ACH $0. Same-day ACH: $10/$8/$5.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricBluevine Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APYStandard 1.3% (first $250k, monthly activity test); Plus 1.75% (to $250k); Premier 3.0% (no cap per interest terms)Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYN/A — single checking product with tiered APYBusiness Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard $250,000 at Coastal Community Bank; sweep program up to $3,000,000 across Program Banks (pass-through, aggregation caveats apply)Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricBluevine Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. 37,000+ MoneyPass surcharge-free ATMs for withdrawals.24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appGoogle Play ~4.2/5 (~2.2k reviews, Apr 2026); iOS ~4.7 cited in secondary reviewsPrimis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsIncluded — physical + virtual debit cards with spend/ATM controls; up to 50 cardsNot disclosed
Opening deposit$0$1.00
EligibilityU.S. owners: sole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, nonprofit corp. International owners: U.S. LLC or corp only (25 supported countries).Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Bluevine Business Checking

Pros

  • Standard is $0 monthly with $0 overdraft/NSF and free standard ACH plus incoming domestic wires
  • Premier 3.0% APY with no interest cap in March 2026 terms — rare for SMB checking
  • Advertised sweep FDIC up to $3M at Program Banks (with aggregation caveats)
  • Sub-accounts (5/10/50), up to 50 cards, and role-based AP with bill-pay approvals
  • Built-in invoicing, Stripe Tap to Pay, and QuickBooks sync without separate banking subscription

Cons

  • Plus/Premier waiver requires balance AND card spend — miss either and $30/$95 posts
  • Cash deposits priced ($1+0.5% or $4.95) and capped at $7,500/30 days — poor for cash businesses
  • Default $100,000/30-day combined outgoing wire+ACH ceiling unless raised
  • No branches; support weekday 8am–8pm ET only
  • Standard APY drops to 0% any month the activity test is missed; recurring freeze/hold complaints

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Bluevine Business Checking

Bluevine Business Checking is an online interest-bearing SMB account from fintech Bluevine Inc., with deposits at Coastal Community Bank and optional sweep to Program Banks for up to $3M FDIC coverage. Three plans: Standard ($0, 1.3% APY with monthly activity test), Plus ($30 waivable, 1.75% to $250k), and Premier ($95 waivable, 3.0% uncapped APY). Strengths are yield, free Standard ACH/incoming wires, sub-accounts, 50 cards, invoicing, and QBO sync. Weaknesses are priced/capped cash deposits, $100k/30-day outgoing cap, weekday-only support, and documented freeze/hold patterns. Best compared to Chase for digital-first businesses that prioritize APY over branches.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.