Capital One Business Checking
Waivable monthly fee + unlimited digital transactions + 70,000+ ATMs; cash-friendly near Cap One/Allpoint or Enhanced's $40k/mo design limit
Axos Bank Business Checking
Basic = $0 monthly + unlimited items + unlimited domestic ATM rebates. Interest = waivable $10 + declining-tier APY.
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | Axos Bank Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | Basic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo | Basic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000 |
| Fee waiver | Basic: $2,000+ 30- or 90-day avg ledger balance (whichever greater), nonprofit classification, or up to 2 Basic accounts waived if Enhanced open. Enhanced: $25,000+ avg ledger balance. | Interest Checking only — $5,000 ADB waives $10 monthly fee. Basic has no monthly fee. |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited fee-free digital transactions (mobile deposit, ACH, select bill pay). No per-item fee on checks, ACH, or debit purchases. | Basic: unlimited items (debits, credits, deposited items). Interest: 100 free items/month then $0.50 each. RDA deposits count as 2 items; 60 RDA items/month cap on both. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $35 NSF/OD/Uncollected Funds when transaction would bring balance below $0. Free Overdraft Protection transfer from linked Cap One Business deposit account (does not eliminate $35 if uncovered). | NSF paid or returned item $25 (max $75/day); no fee if negative balance less than NSF fee. Returned deposited item $10. Linked-account OD transfer free. |
| ATM fees | $0 at Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint. Out-of-network $2 + owner surcharge (no rebate). | Axos charge $0. Unlimited domestic third-party ATM surcharge reimbursements on both products. International ATM surcharges not reimbursed. |
| Wire/ACH | Basic: incoming domestic $15, outgoing domestic $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40 FX / $50 USD. Enhanced: incoming domestic $0, first 5 outgoing domestic free then $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40/$50. Standard ACH $0. | Incoming domestic + international: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15. Basic reimburses 2 outgoing domestic wires/month. Outgoing international: $50. Online/automated transfers free. ACH origination is treasury add-on. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | Axos Bank Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and Enhanced | Basic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+ |
| Savings APY | Business Savings marketed up to 3.50% APY (promotional; re-check rate page — not checking yield) | Business Premium Savings advertised up to 3.60% APY as of 9/2/2026 — separate product, not checking APY |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Capital One, N.A. | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Axos Bank (Cert 35546) |
Features & Access
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | Axos Bank Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~260 branches (8 states + D.C.); 60+ Cafés; 70,000+ Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs | No SMB retail branches. Any U.S. ATM with unlimited domestic surcharge rebates (~90,000+ network cited). Cash deposits at deposit-taking Allpoint+/MoneyPass ATMs only. |
| Mobile app | Google Play ~4.5/5 (~1.7M reviews); iOS ~4.8–4.9 cited (consumer-dominated app) | iOS ~4.7; Android ~4.6 (~10.1K reviews); NerdWallet weighted ~4.52 (Feb 2026) |
| Virtual cards | Digital debit + employee debit mentioned; granular spend controls unclear on Basic/Enhanced | Standard Visa debit only; virtual employee cards not disclosed |
| Opening deposit | Not disclosed (commonly $0) | Basic: none. Interest: $100 |
| Eligibility | Legal U.S. resident 18+; U.S. street address (no P.O. box). Typical corp, LLC, partnership, sole prop structures. | U.S. companies only — sole prop, GP, LLC, LP/LLP, C-corp, nonprofit corp, association/HOA. U.S. resident signer with SSN and physical business address required. |
Pros & Cons
Capital One Business Checking
Pros
- Unlimited fee-free digital transactions on both tiers — ACH, mobile deposit, select bill pay
- 70,000+ fee-free withdrawal ATMs (Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint)
- Basic: Cap One/select Allpoint ATM cash deposits don't hit the $5k teller fee bucket
- Enhanced: $0 cash deposits (under $40k/mo), $0 inbound domestic wires, 5 free outbound domestic wires
- Enhanced can carry two Basic accounts at $0 monthly fee; nonprofit Basic waiver
Cons
- Checking pays 0.00% APY
- Branch footprint small (~260 branches) for a big-bank cash business
- Public fee PDF lists $35 NSF/OD — linked-account protection doesn't eliminate fee if uncovered
- No Zelle for Business, native invoicing, multi-currency, or published multi-user controls
- Enhanced not unlimited cash — conversion/closure language at $40k/month
Axos Bank Business Checking
Pros
- Basic: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited item processing (Agreement 07/2025)
- Unlimited domestic ATM surcharge rebates on both products
- Incoming domestic and international wires $0 on fee schedule
- Basic reimburses two outgoing domestic wire fees per month
- Interest Checking publishes dated deposit APY (1.01% as of 9/2/2026) with no spend gate; IntraFi ICS to $265MM
Cons
- No branches; cash is ATM/retail-constrained with possible retailer fees
- Interest Checking: $0.50/item after 100 plus 60-item RDA cap; APY falls sharply above $50k
- RDA availability can be five business days by contract
- Business support weekday-only; reviews cluster on holds, portal bugs, slow ops
- Outbound international wires $50 + undisclosed FX; no multi-currency; weak native multi-user
Verdict
Capital One Business Checking
Capital One Business Basic ($15/mo, waived at $2,000 avg ledger) and Enhanced ($35/mo, waived at $25,000) are non-interest checking at Capital One, N.A. with unlimited fee-free digital transactions — a structural advantage over item-metered big-bank accounts. Cash splits by tier: Basic gives $5k free teller cash then $1/$1k (ATM cash at Cap One/select Allpoint exempt); Enhanced is $0 cash but designed for under $40k/month. Wires: Basic $15 in/$25 out domestic; Enhanced free inbound and first 5 outbound domestic. Thin branch network but 70,000+ ATMs. Modest software (QuickBooks feed, no invoicing/Zelle). Use Basic for low-balance digital ops; Enhanced for higher balances, wire volume, and two extra Basics.
Axos Bank Business Checking
Axos Bank offers two online SMB checking accounts at a direct FDIC member bank (Cert 35546). Basic Business Checking is structurally cheap: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited items, free incoming wires, and two reimbursed outgoing domestic wires — ideal for digital SMBs. Business Interest Checking adds tiered APY (1.01% below $50k as of 9/2/2026) but charges $10 unless $5k ADB and meters items after 100. Both cap mobile deposits at 60 items with up to 5th-business-day availability. IntraFi ICS to $265MM helps large balances but checking APY collapses above $50k. Weak on branches, cash, multi-user, and 24/7 support. Price Interest against the $50k APY cliff and item cap.