Capital One Business Checking
Waivable monthly fee + unlimited digital transactions + 70,000+ ATMs; cash-friendly near Cap One/Allpoint or Enhanced's $40k/mo design limit
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | Chartway Premium Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | Basic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo | $10.00/month |
| Fee waiver | Basic: $2,000+ 30- or 90-day avg ledger balance (whichever greater), nonprofit classification, or up to 2 Basic accounts waived if Enhanced open. Enhanced: $25,000+ avg ledger balance. | Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation. |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited fee-free digital transactions (mobile deposit, ACH, select bill pay). No per-item fee on checks, ACH, or debit purchases. | Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $35 NSF/OD/Uncollected Funds when transaction would bring balance below $0. Free Overdraft Protection transfer from linked Cap One Business deposit account (does not eliminate $35 if uncovered). | Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0. |
| ATM fees | $0 at Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint. Out-of-network $2 + owner surcharge (no rebate). | Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed). |
| Wire/ACH | Basic: incoming domestic $15, outgoing domestic $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40 FX / $50 USD. Enhanced: incoming domestic $0, first 5 outgoing domestic free then $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40/$50. Standard ACH $0. | Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | Chartway Premium Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and Enhanced | Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026) |
| Savings APY | Business Savings marketed up to 3.50% APY (promotional; re-check rate page — not checking yield) | Business Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Capital One, N.A. |
Features & Access
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | Chartway Premium Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~260 branches (8 states + D.C.); 60+ Cafés; 70,000+ Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs | ~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited). |
| Mobile app | Google Play ~4.5/5 (~1.7M reviews); iOS ~4.8–4.9 cited (consumer-dominated app) | Chartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app. |
| Virtual cards | Digital debit + employee debit mentioned; granular spend controls unclear on Basic/Enhanced | Not disclosed |
| Opening deposit | Not disclosed (commonly $0) | $100 membership share |
| Eligibility | Legal U.S. resident 18+; U.S. street address (no P.O. box). Typical corp, LLC, partnership, sole prop structures. | Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required. |
Pros & Cons
Capital One Business Checking
Pros
- Unlimited fee-free digital transactions on both tiers — ACH, mobile deposit, select bill pay
- 70,000+ fee-free withdrawal ATMs (Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint)
- Basic: Cap One/select Allpoint ATM cash deposits don't hit the $5k teller fee bucket
- Enhanced: $0 cash deposits (under $40k/mo), $0 inbound domestic wires, 5 free outbound domestic wires
- Enhanced can carry two Basic accounts at $0 monthly fee; nonprofit Basic waiver
Cons
- Checking pays 0.00% APY
- Branch footprint small (~260 branches) for a big-bank cash business
- Public fee PDF lists $35 NSF/OD — linked-account protection doesn't eliminate fee if uncovered
- No Zelle for Business, native invoicing, multi-currency, or published multi-user controls
- Enhanced not unlimited cash — conversion/closure language at $40k/month
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Pros
- Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
- $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
- NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
- Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
- Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access
Cons
- 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
- Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
- Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
- $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
- Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint
Verdict
Capital One Business Checking
Capital One Business Basic ($15/mo, waived at $2,000 avg ledger) and Enhanced ($35/mo, waived at $25,000) are non-interest checking at Capital One, N.A. with unlimited fee-free digital transactions — a structural advantage over item-metered big-bank accounts. Cash splits by tier: Basic gives $5k free teller cash then $1/$1k (ATM cash at Cap One/select Allpoint exempt); Enhanced is $0 cash but designed for under $40k/month. Wires: Basic $15 in/$25 out domestic; Enhanced free inbound and first 5 outbound domestic. Thin branch network but 70,000+ ATMs. Modest software (QuickBooks feed, no invoicing/Zelle). Use Basic for low-balance digital ops; Enhanced for higher balances, wire volume, and two extra Basics.
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.