Capital One Business Checking
Waivable monthly fee + unlimited digital transactions + 70,000+ ATMs; cash-friendly near Cap One/Allpoint or Enhanced's $40k/mo design limit
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + modest checking APY + unlimited items, online-only, weak cash rails
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | Basic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo | $0 unconditional |
| Fee waiver | Basic: $2,000+ 30- or 90-day avg ledger balance (whichever greater), nonprofit classification, or up to 2 Basic accounts waived if Enhanced open. Enhanced: $25,000+ avg ledger balance. | N/A — already $0 |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited fee-free digital transactions (mobile deposit, ACH, select bill pay). No per-item fee on checks, ACH, or debit purchases. | Unlimited transactions; no per-item fees advertised. Footnote: 'Dollar amount restrictions may apply' — meaning not disclosed. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $35 NSF/OD/Uncollected Funds when transaction would bring balance below $0. Free Overdraft Protection transfer from linked Cap One Business deposit account (does not eliminate $35 if uncovered). | Conflict: marketing says 'no overdraft fees.' Fee schedule lists Returned Item $20 and Uncollected Funds $30 (schedule dated 03/15/2018). Confirm at opening. |
| ATM fees | $0 at Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint. Out-of-network $2 + owner surcharge (no rebate). | Bank ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge possible. Up to $10/month reimbursement of third-party ATM surcharges. No branded free network. 2% ISA on intl ATM/debit. |
| Wire/ACH | Basic: incoming domestic $15, outgoing domestic $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40 FX / $50 USD. Enhanced: incoming domestic $0, first 5 outgoing domestic free then $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40/$50. Standard ACH $0. | Incoming domestic: $15. Outgoing domestic: $20. Incoming intl: $15. Outgoing foreign: $50. Standard ACH in/out: not disclosed as fee (treated as free). Business ACH default cap $25,000/day unless raised in writing. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and Enhanced | 0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%. |
| Savings APY | Business Savings marketed up to 3.50% APY (promotional; re-check rate page — not checking yield) | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Capital One, N.A. | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at First Internet Bank of Indiana |
Features & Access
| Metric | Capital One Business Checking | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~260 branches (8 states + D.C.); 60+ Cafés; 70,000+ Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs | No branch network. HQ lobby Fishers, IN only. Any ATM for withdrawal — bank $0, up to $10/month surcharge rebate. No ATM cash deposit advertised. |
| Mobile app | Google Play ~4.5/5 (~1.7M reviews); iOS ~4.8–4.9 cited (consumer-dominated app) | iOS 4.3/5 (~265 ratings); Google Play ~4.1–4.2 (~115–116 reviews) |
| Virtual cards | Digital debit + employee debit mentioned; granular spend controls unclear on Basic/Enhanced | Not disclosed for this checking tier |
| Opening deposit | Not disclosed (commonly $0) | $100 conservative (official page silent; secondary sources split $0 vs $100) |
| Eligibility | Legal U.S. resident 18+; U.S. street address (no P.O. box). Typical corp, LLC, partnership, sole prop structures. | U.S.-based businesses; owner at least 18. Structures not fully published — NerdWallet cites sole prop, LLC, corp with EIN or SSN and formation docs. |
Pros & Cons
Capital One Business Checking
Pros
- Unlimited fee-free digital transactions on both tiers — ACH, mobile deposit, select bill pay
- 70,000+ fee-free withdrawal ATMs (Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint)
- Basic: Cap One/select Allpoint ATM cash deposits don't hit the $5k teller fee bucket
- Enhanced: $0 cash deposits (under $40k/mo), $0 inbound domestic wires, 5 free outbound domestic wires
- Enhanced can carry two Basic accounts at $0 monthly fee; nonprofit Basic waiver
Cons
- Checking pays 0.00% APY
- Branch footprint small (~260 branches) for a big-bank cash business
- Public fee PDF lists $35 NSF/OD — linked-account protection doesn't eliminate fee if uncovered
- No Zelle for Business, native invoicing, multi-currency, or published multi-user controls
- Enhanced not unlimited cash — conversion/closure language at $40k/month
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly maintenance, $0 stated per-item fees, unlimited transactions (2026 FAQ)
- 0.50% APY on checking at $10k ADB — uncommon among free business checking (rate 6/16/2026)
- Balance Optimizer sweeps idle cash to First IB MMA at 2.94% / 3.64% without third-party sweep
- Phone support into evening and Saturday; Zelle for Business and account aggregation included
- Direct FDIC member bank (cert. 34607) — not a fintech/partner stack
Cons
- No usable cash-deposit system
- Incoming wires $15 even domestic — recurring cost for wire-paid businesses
- Checking APY modest and gated at $10,000 ADB; below that, yield effectively zero
- Standard FDIC $250k only; no advertised excess-insurance network
- Stale 2018 fee schedule vs 'no overdraft fees' marketing; check holds up to 7–9 business days
Verdict
Capital One Business Checking
Capital One Business Basic ($15/mo, waived at $2,000 avg ledger) and Enhanced ($35/mo, waived at $25,000) are non-interest checking at Capital One, N.A. with unlimited fee-free digital transactions — a structural advantage over item-metered big-bank accounts. Cash splits by tier: Basic gives $5k free teller cash then $1/$1k (ATM cash at Cap One/select Allpoint exempt); Enhanced is $0 cash but designed for under $40k/month. Wires: Basic $15 in/$25 out domestic; Enhanced free inbound and first 5 outbound domestic. Thin branch network but 70,000+ ATMs. Modest software (QuickBooks feed, no invoicing/Zelle). Use Basic for low-balance digital ops; Enhanced for higher balances, wire volume, and two extra Basics.
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Do More Business™ Checking is First Internet Bank of Indiana's single-tier online SMB checking. Direct FDIC member (cert. 34607). $0 maintenance, unlimited items, no cash network. 0.50% APY requires $10k ADB (rate 6/16/2026). Balance Optimizer sweeps to internal MMA (2.94%/3.64%). Costs: $15 incoming wires, $20 outgoing domestic, $50 outgoing foreign, $10/month ATM rebate cap, $3 paper statements, $5/month dormant. Funds availability can hold checks 7–9 days. Strong phone hours and Zelle; weak for cash, incoming wires, and balances above $250k FDIC.