Head-to-Head

Capital One Business Checking

Waivable monthly fee + unlimited digital transactions + 70,000+ ATMs; cash-friendly near Cap One/Allpoint or Enhanced's $40k/mo design limit

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
Basic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and Enhanced
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
7.7/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricCapital One Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceBasic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverBasic: $2,000+ 30- or 90-day avg ledger balance (whichever greater), nonprofit classification, or up to 2 Basic accounts waived if Enhanced open. Enhanced: $25,000+ avg ledger balance.N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesUnlimited fee-free digital transactions (mobile deposit, ACH, select bill pay). No per-item fee on checks, ACH, or debit purchases.No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$35 NSF/OD/Uncollected Funds when transaction would bring balance below $0. Free Overdraft Protection transfer from linked Cap One Business deposit account (does not eliminate $35 if uncovered).$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM fees$0 at Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint. Out-of-network $2 + owner surcharge (no rebate).Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHBasic: incoming domestic $15, outgoing domestic $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40 FX / $50 USD. Enhanced: incoming domestic $0, first 5 outgoing domestic free then $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40/$50. Standard ACH $0.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricCapital One Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APYNone — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and EnhancedUnlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYBusiness Savings marketed up to 3.50% APY (promotional; re-check rate page — not checking yield)Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Capital One, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricCapital One Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~260 branches (8 states + D.C.); 60+ Cafés; 70,000+ Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appGoogle Play ~4.5/5 (~1.7M reviews); iOS ~4.8–4.9 cited (consumer-dominated app)Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsDigital debit + employee debit mentioned; granular spend controls unclear on Basic/EnhancedNot disclosed
Opening depositNot disclosed (commonly $0)$1.00
EligibilityLegal U.S. resident 18+; U.S. street address (no P.O. box). Typical corp, LLC, partnership, sole prop structures.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Capital One Business Checking

Pros

  • Unlimited fee-free digital transactions on both tiers — ACH, mobile deposit, select bill pay
  • 70,000+ fee-free withdrawal ATMs (Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint)
  • Basic: Cap One/select Allpoint ATM cash deposits don't hit the $5k teller fee bucket
  • Enhanced: $0 cash deposits (under $40k/mo), $0 inbound domestic wires, 5 free outbound domestic wires
  • Enhanced can carry two Basic accounts at $0 monthly fee; nonprofit Basic waiver

Cons

  • Checking pays 0.00% APY
  • Branch footprint small (~260 branches) for a big-bank cash business
  • Public fee PDF lists $35 NSF/OD — linked-account protection doesn't eliminate fee if uncovered
  • No Zelle for Business, native invoicing, multi-currency, or published multi-user controls
  • Enhanced not unlimited cash — conversion/closure language at $40k/month

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Capital One Business Checking

Capital One Business Basic ($15/mo, waived at $2,000 avg ledger) and Enhanced ($35/mo, waived at $25,000) are non-interest checking at Capital One, N.A. with unlimited fee-free digital transactions — a structural advantage over item-metered big-bank accounts. Cash splits by tier: Basic gives $5k free teller cash then $1/$1k (ATM cash at Cap One/select Allpoint exempt); Enhanced is $0 cash but designed for under $40k/month. Wires: Basic $15 in/$25 out domestic; Enhanced free inbound and first 5 outbound domestic. Thin branch network but 70,000+ ATMs. Modest software (QuickBooks feed, no invoicing/Zelle). Use Basic for low-balance digital ops; Enhanced for higher balances, wire volume, and two extra Basics.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.