Capital One Business Checking

Capital One Business Checking

Waivable monthly fee + unlimited digital transactions + 70,000+ ATMs; cash-friendly near Cap One/Allpoint or Enhanced's $40k/mo design limit

Monthly Fee
Basic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and Enhanced
FDIC
Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Capital One, N.A.
Rating
7.7/10

Costs & Fees

Monthly maintenance: Basic $15/mo; Enhanced $35/mo

Fee waiver: Basic: $2,000+ 30- or 90-day avg ledger balance (whichever greater), nonprofit classification, or up to 2 Basic accounts waived if Enhanced open. Enhanced: $25,000+ avg ledger balance.

Transaction fees: Unlimited fee-free digital transactions (mobile deposit, ACH, select bill pay). No per-item fee on checks, ACH, or debit purchases.

Overdraft/NSF: $35 NSF/OD/Uncollected Funds when transaction would bring balance below $0. Free Overdraft Protection transfer from linked Cap One Business deposit account (does not eliminate $35 if uncovered).

ATM fees: $0 at Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint. Out-of-network $2 + owner surcharge (no rebate).

Wire/ACH: Basic: incoming domestic $15, outgoing domestic $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40 FX / $50 USD. Enhanced: incoming domestic $0, first 5 outgoing domestic free then $25, incoming intl $15, outgoing intl $40/$50. Standard ACH $0.

Cash deposit: Basic teller: first $5,000/cycle free then $1 per $1,000. Cap One/select Allpoint ATM cash: no fee, does not count against teller bucket. Enhanced: $0 cash fee (designed for under $40,000/month; conversion/closure risk above).

Interest & Yields

Checking APY: None — non-interest-bearing on both Basic and Enhanced

Savings APY: Business Savings marketed up to 3.50% APY (promotional; re-check rate page — not checking yield)

FDIC coverage: Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Capital One, N.A.

Access, Features & Tools

Access

Branch/ATM: ~260 branches (8 states + D.C.); 60+ Cafés; 70,000+ Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs

Mobile app: Google Play ~4.5/5 (~1.7M reviews); iOS ~4.8–4.9 cited (consumer-dominated app)

Cash deposits: Branch/Café teller; Cap One and select Allpoint ATMs (geography-dependent for Allpoint cash deposit)

Features

Invoicing/bill pay: Bill pay included (select electronic $0; credit-card bill pay has fees); no native invoicing, no Zelle for Business

Virtual cards: Digital debit + employee debit mentioned; granular spend controls unclear on Basic/Enhanced

International: USD only; international wires $15 in / $40 FX or $50 USD out

Integrations

  • QuickBooks bank feed (Direct Connect reliability mixed per reviews)

Limits & Requirements

Opening deposit: Not disclosed (commonly $0)

Minimum balance: Not disclosed; unfunded accounts may close after 90 business days (older disclosure)

Eligibility: Legal U.S. resident 18+; U.S. street address (no P.O. box). Typical corp, LLC, partnership, sole prop structures.

Best for: Unlimited digital transactions Monthly fee waivable 70,000+ fee-free ATMs Enhanced free inbound wires QuickBooks integration Nonprofit waiver (Basic)

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Unlimited fee-free digital transactions on both tiers — ACH, mobile deposit, select bill pay
  • 70,000+ fee-free withdrawal ATMs (Cap One/MoneyPass/Allpoint)
  • Basic: Cap One/select Allpoint ATM cash deposits don't hit the $5k teller fee bucket
  • Enhanced: $0 cash deposits (under $40k/mo), $0 inbound domestic wires, 5 free outbound domestic wires
  • Enhanced can carry two Basic accounts at $0 monthly fee; nonprofit Basic waiver

Cons

  • ✗ Checking pays 0.00% APY
  • ✗ Branch footprint small (~260 branches) for a big-bank cash business
  • ✗ Public fee PDF lists $35 NSF/OD — linked-account protection doesn't eliminate fee if uncovered
  • ✗ No Zelle for Business, native invoicing, multi-currency, or published multi-user controls
  • ✗ Enhanced not unlimited cash — conversion/closure language at $40k/month
Overall Verdict

Solid Pick (digital-heavy SMBs who can hit balance waivers)

Capital One Business Basic ($15/mo, waived at $2,000 avg ledger) and Enhanced ($35/mo, waived at $25,000) are non-interest checking at Capital One, N.A. with unlimited fee-free digital transactions — a structural advantage over item-metered big-bank accounts. Cash splits by tier: Basic gives $5k free teller cash then $1/$1k (ATM cash at Cap One/select Allpoint exempt); Enhanced is $0 cash but designed for under $40k/month. Wires: Basic $15 in/$25 out domestic; Enhanced free inbound and first 5 outbound domestic. Thin branch network but 70,000+ ATMs. Modest software (QuickBooks feed, no invoicing/Zelle). Use Basic for low-balance digital ops; Enhanced for higher balances, wire volume, and two extra Basics.

7.7
Rating