Chartway Premium Business Checking
Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB
North One Business Banking
$0 Standard checking + APY if you spend $500 on the debit card; envelopes + integrations; weak cash / no international wires
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Chartway Premium Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $10.00/month | Standard: $0. Plus: $30/month or $300/year. Not balance-waivable. Unpaid Plus cycle → downgrade to Standard. |
| Fee waiver | Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation. | N/A on Plus — hard subscription. Standard already $0. |
| Transaction fees | Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items. | No excess-item fees on standard ACH, card, deposits. Flat subscription + listed item fees only. |
| Overdraft/NSF | Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0. | $0 NSF/overdraft. Insufficient funds → declined/returned. No overdraft protection offered. |
| ATM fees | Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed). | Allpoint: $0 North One fee. OON: $2.50 + operator surcharge. Rebates discretionary (request within 60 days). Standard: marketing 2 OON reimbursements/mo; Plus: up to 6. |
| Wire/ACH | Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF. | Incoming domestic wire $0, unlimited count. Outgoing domestic $20 (Standard) / $15 (Plus). International wires rejected. Standard ACH in/out $0. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Chartway Premium Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026) | Standard: 2.50% (rate 2.47%) on first $250,000 ADB. Plus: 3.00% (rate 2.96%) on first $250,000 ADB. Above $250k: 0.00%. |
| Savings APY | Business Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM | N/A — Envelopes are designations on same deposit balance, not separate savings APY |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at The Bancorp Bank, N.A. |
Features & Access
| Metric | Chartway Premium Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited). | No branches. Allpoint ~55,000+ (withdrawal $0). Cash deposit via Green Dot retailers (Walgreens, CVS, Walmart, 7-Eleven). No teller/night drop. |
| Mobile app | Chartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app. | North One - Business Banking iOS ~4.7 (~2.8k ratings); Android 3.9 (~1.85k reviews). Android login-failure complaints noted. |
| Virtual cards | Not disclosed | Included — team cards, freeze, permissions |
| Opening deposit | $100 membership share | $0 marketing / $50 in reviews — confirm in app |
| Eligibility | Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required. | Sole prop, partnership, LP, LLP, LLC, corporation. Nonprofits explicitly excluded. Not for personal/household purposes. |
Pros & Cons
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Pros
- Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
- $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
- NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
- Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
- Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access
Cons
- 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
- Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
- Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
- $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
- Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint
North One Business Banking
Pros
- Standard $0 with no min-balance fee and $0 NSF/overdraft (declines instead)
- Checking APY 2.50% / 3.00% on first $250k if $500/mo debit spend — rare among $0 business checking
- Incoming domestic wires $0, unlimited count
- Unlimited Envelopes + QBO and processor connections on both plans
- Same-day ACH and mailed checks $0 on Plus; inbound RTP up to $1M per payment
Cons
- No international wires (rejected)
- Green Dot cash cap $5,000/month; retailer fees after 1–3 reimbursements
- APY 0% above $250k; no extended FDIC sweep
- APY requires $500 monthly card spend — not park-and-earn
- Plus hard $30/$300 subscription; BBB F and freeze/closure complaints; weaker Android ratings
Verdict
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.
North One Business Banking
North One is a Bancorp-partnered fintech with Standard $0 and Plus $30/$300. Conditional APY 2.50%/3.00% on first $250k requires $500 monthly debit spend. Incoming wires free; outgoing $20/$15; intl wires rejected. Green Dot cash capped $5k/mo. Envelopes and processor rails are differentiators but envelopes are labels not sub-accounts. Hard fails: cash-heavy, intl, nonprofits, non-resident founders, treasury above $250k.