First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + modest checking APY + unlimited items, online-only, weak cash rails
North One Business Banking
$0 Standard checking + APY if you spend $500 on the debit card; envelopes + integrations; weak cash / no international wires
Costs & Fees
| Metric | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional | Standard: $0. Plus: $30/month or $300/year. Not balance-waivable. Unpaid Plus cycle → downgrade to Standard. |
| Fee waiver | N/A — already $0 | N/A on Plus — hard subscription. Standard already $0. |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited transactions; no per-item fees advertised. Footnote: 'Dollar amount restrictions may apply' — meaning not disclosed. | No excess-item fees on standard ACH, card, deposits. Flat subscription + listed item fees only. |
| Overdraft/NSF | Conflict: marketing says 'no overdraft fees.' Fee schedule lists Returned Item $20 and Uncollected Funds $30 (schedule dated 03/15/2018). Confirm at opening. | $0 NSF/overdraft. Insufficient funds → declined/returned. No overdraft protection offered. |
| ATM fees | Bank ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge possible. Up to $10/month reimbursement of third-party ATM surcharges. No branded free network. 2% ISA on intl ATM/debit. | Allpoint: $0 North One fee. OON: $2.50 + operator surcharge. Rebates discretionary (request within 60 days). Standard: marketing 2 OON reimbursements/mo; Plus: up to 6. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic: $15. Outgoing domestic: $20. Incoming intl: $15. Outgoing foreign: $50. Standard ACH in/out: not disclosed as fee (treated as free). Business ACH default cap $25,000/day unless raised in writing. | Incoming domestic wire $0, unlimited count. Outgoing domestic $20 (Standard) / $15 (Plus). International wires rejected. Standard ACH in/out $0. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | 0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%. | Standard: 2.50% (rate 2.47%) on first $250,000 ADB. Plus: 3.00% (rate 2.96%) on first $250,000 ADB. Above $250k: 0.00%. |
| Savings APY | N/A — Envelopes are designations on same deposit balance, not separate savings APY | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at First Internet Bank of Indiana | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at The Bancorp Bank, N.A. |
Features & Access
| Metric | First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | No branch network. HQ lobby Fishers, IN only. Any ATM for withdrawal — bank $0, up to $10/month surcharge rebate. No ATM cash deposit advertised. | No branches. Allpoint ~55,000+ (withdrawal $0). Cash deposit via Green Dot retailers (Walgreens, CVS, Walmart, 7-Eleven). No teller/night drop. |
| Mobile app | iOS 4.3/5 (~265 ratings); Google Play ~4.1–4.2 (~115–116 reviews) | North One - Business Banking iOS ~4.7 (~2.8k ratings); Android 3.9 (~1.85k reviews). Android login-failure complaints noted. |
| Virtual cards | Not disclosed for this checking tier | Included — team cards, freeze, permissions |
| Opening deposit | $100 conservative (official page silent; secondary sources split $0 vs $100) | $0 marketing / $50 in reviews — confirm in app |
| Eligibility | U.S.-based businesses; owner at least 18. Structures not fully published — NerdWallet cites sole prop, LLC, corp with EIN or SSN and formation docs. | Sole prop, partnership, LP, LLP, LLC, corporation. Nonprofits explicitly excluded. Not for personal/household purposes. |
Pros & Cons
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly maintenance, $0 stated per-item fees, unlimited transactions (2026 FAQ)
- 0.50% APY on checking at $10k ADB — uncommon among free business checking (rate 6/16/2026)
- Balance Optimizer sweeps idle cash to First IB MMA at 2.94% / 3.64% without third-party sweep
- Phone support into evening and Saturday; Zelle for Business and account aggregation included
- Direct FDIC member bank (cert. 34607) — not a fintech/partner stack
Cons
- No usable cash-deposit system
- Incoming wires $15 even domestic — recurring cost for wire-paid businesses
- Checking APY modest and gated at $10,000 ADB; below that, yield effectively zero
- Standard FDIC $250k only; no advertised excess-insurance network
- Stale 2018 fee schedule vs 'no overdraft fees' marketing; check holds up to 7–9 business days
North One Business Banking
Pros
- Standard $0 with no min-balance fee and $0 NSF/overdraft (declines instead)
- Checking APY 2.50% / 3.00% on first $250k if $500/mo debit spend — rare among $0 business checking
- Incoming domestic wires $0, unlimited count
- Unlimited Envelopes + QBO and processor connections on both plans
- Same-day ACH and mailed checks $0 on Plus; inbound RTP up to $1M per payment
Cons
- No international wires (rejected)
- Green Dot cash cap $5,000/month; retailer fees after 1–3 reimbursements
- APY 0% above $250k; no extended FDIC sweep
- APY requires $500 monthly card spend — not park-and-earn
- Plus hard $30/$300 subscription; BBB F and freeze/closure complaints; weaker Android ratings
Verdict
First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Do More Business™ Checking is First Internet Bank of Indiana's single-tier online SMB checking. Direct FDIC member (cert. 34607). $0 maintenance, unlimited items, no cash network. 0.50% APY requires $10k ADB (rate 6/16/2026). Balance Optimizer sweeps to internal MMA (2.94%/3.64%). Costs: $15 incoming wires, $20 outgoing domestic, $50 outgoing foreign, $10/month ATM rebate cap, $3 paper statements, $5/month dormant. Funds availability can hold checks 7–9 days. Strong phone hours and Zelle; weak for cash, incoming wires, and balances above $250k FDIC.
North One Business Banking
North One is a Bancorp-partnered fintech with Standard $0 and Plus $30/$300. Conditional APY 2.50%/3.00% on first $250k requires $500 monthly debit spend. Incoming wires free; outgoing $20/$15; intl wires rejected. Green Dot cash capped $5k/mo. Envelopes and processor rails are differentiators but envelopes are labels not sub-accounts. Hard fails: cash-heavy, intl, nonprofits, non-resident founders, treasury above $250k.