Head-to-Head

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

$0 monthly fee + modest checking APY + unlimited items, online-only, weak cash rails

VS

U.S. Bank Business Checking

Branch + cash deposits + $0 entry checking; fee-heavy wires/ACH; weak checking APY

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional
Essentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0
Checking APY
0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%.
Essentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY.
Rating
7.9/10
7.8/10

Costs & Fees

MetricFirst Internet Bank Do More Business CheckingU.S. Bank Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditionalEssentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0
Fee waiverN/A — already $0Gold: Payment Solutions OR $10k avg collected OR $20k combined business deposits OR $50k deposits+credit (interest Gold: $25k/$50k/$75k). Platinum: Payment Solutions OR $25k collected OR $75k deposits+credit. Premium: offset via earnings credit.
Transaction feesUnlimited transactions; no per-item fees advertised. Footnote: 'Dollar amount restrictions may apply' — meaning not disclosed.Essentials: unlimited digital items; 25 teller/paper free/cycle then $0.50. Gold: 350 items then $0.45. Platinum: 550 then $0.40. Nonprofit: 1,800/year then $0.50 (billed January). Cash is separate unit fee.
Overdraft/NSFConflict: marketing says 'no overdraft fees.' Fee schedule lists Returned Item $20 and Uncollected Funds $30 (schedule dated 03/15/2018). Confirm at opening.Overdraft Paid $0 if item ≤$5; $36 if ≥$5.01. Max 3 OD paid fees/day. Redeposited item $10.
ATM feesBank ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge possible. Up to $10/month reimbursement of third-party ATM surcharges. No branded free network. 2% ISA on intl ATM/debit.USB/partner-logo ATM $0. Non-USB $3.00 per ATM transaction. MoneyPass surcharge refundable on request. Cash deposit at USB ATMs only.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $15. Outgoing domestic: $20. Incoming intl: $15. Outgoing foreign: $50. Standard ACH in/out: not disclosed as fee (treated as free). Business ACH default cap $25,000/day unless raised in writing.Incoming domestic $14 Fedwire / $16 CTP / $7 internal. Outgoing digital domestic $30; branch $40. Incoming intl $20. Outgoing intl digital USD $45 / FX $75. ACH outgoing $1 standard / $3 same-day. Enhanced Payments ($25/mo): ACH $0.50, same-day $1.70, instant $0.75, domestic wire $16, intl USD $35.

Interest & Yields

MetricFirst Internet Bank Do More Business CheckingU.S. Bank Business Checking
Checking APY0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%.Essentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY.
Savings APY
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at First Internet Bank of IndianaStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at U.S. Bank N.A.

Features & Access

MetricFirst Internet Bank Do More Business CheckingU.S. Bank Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branch network. HQ lobby Fishers, IN only. Any ATM for withdrawal — bank $0, up to $10/month surcharge rebate. No ATM cash deposit advertised.~2,066 branches in 26+ states. ~4,458 U.S. Bank ATMs. MoneyPass network (surcharge refundable on request). Cash deposit at USB ATMs and branches; not at non-USB ATMs.
Mobile appiOS 4.3/5 (~265 ratings); Google Play ~4.1–4.2 (~115–116 reviews)iOS 4.8 (~2.1M ratings); Google Play 4.7 (~492k–500k). Javelin 2026 Mobile Banking Scorecard #1 among large banks.
Virtual cardsNot disclosed for this checking tierNot a documented default of these DDA packages
Opening deposit$100 conservative (official page silent; secondary sources split $0 vs $100)$25
EligibilityU.S.-based businesses; owner at least 18. Structures not fully published — NerdWallet cites sole prop, LLC, corp with EIN or SSN and formation docs.Sole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, nonprofit (dedicated SKU). Holding company/fund/SPV not published — expect manual KYC.

Pros & Cons

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly maintenance, $0 stated per-item fees, unlimited transactions (2026 FAQ)
  • 0.50% APY on checking at $10k ADB — uncommon among free business checking (rate 6/16/2026)
  • Balance Optimizer sweeps idle cash to First IB MMA at 2.94% / 3.64% without third-party sweep
  • Phone support into evening and Saturday; Zelle for Business and account aggregation included
  • Direct FDIC member bank (cert. 34607) — not a fintech/partner stack

Cons

  • No usable cash-deposit system
  • Incoming wires $15 even domestic — recurring cost for wire-paid businesses
  • Checking APY modest and gated at $10,000 ADB; below that, yield effectively zero
  • Standard FDIC $250k only; no advertised excess-insurance network
  • Stale 2018 fee schedule vs 'no overdraft fees' marketing; check holds up to 7–9 business days

U.S. Bank Business Checking

Pros

  • Essentials: unconditional $0 monthly at a top-10 bank with unlimited digital items
  • Official fee PDFs public (May 11, 2026 BPI; Aug 10, 2026 BEP)
  • Branch + ~4,500 USB ATMs + MoneyPass surcharge refund path
  • Gold/Platinum waive via merchant or collected balances; cash units to 125/250
  • Essentials bundles $0-software Elavon acceptance + free first reader; Nonprofit $0 with 1,800 items/year

Cons

  • Outgoing ACH $1 and domestic wires $30–$50 on default menu
  • Essentials free cash only 25 units (~$2,500); excess $0.35/$100
  • Checking APY none or ~0.01%; idle cash must leave operating DDA
  • Overdraft paid $36 up to 3/day; paper statements default on Essentials ($6.50)
  • FDIC $250k only; no public ICS

Verdict

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

Do More Business™ Checking is First Internet Bank of Indiana's single-tier online SMB checking. Direct FDIC member (cert. 34607). $0 maintenance, unlimited items, no cash network. 0.50% APY requires $10k ADB (rate 6/16/2026). Balance Optimizer sweeps to internal MMA (2.94%/3.64%). Costs: $15 incoming wires, $20 outgoing domestic, $50 outgoing foreign, $10/month ATM rebate cap, $3 paper statements, $5/month dormant. Funds availability can hold checks 7–9 days. Strong phone hours and Zelle; weak for cash, incoming wires, and balances above $250k FDIC.

U.S. Bank Business Checking

U.S. Bank's SMB checking: Essentials ($0, unlimited digital, 25 teller/paper, 25 cash units), Gold ($20, 350 items, 125 cash), Platinum ($30, 550 items, 250 cash), Premium ($34 analyzed + ECR), Nonprofit ($0, 1,800 items/year). Deposits at U.S. Bank N.A., FDIC $250k. Fee PDFs May 11 and Aug 10, 2026. Expensive internals: ACH out $1, wires $30–$75, non-USB ATM $3, OD $36. Enhanced Payments $25/mo cuts unit prices. No core checking APY. $400/$1,200 bonus through Sep 27, 2026. Strong app; wire/ACH-heavy ops should compare against fintech DDAs.