Head-to-Head

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking

No monthly fee + tiered checking APY + 1% debit cash back (balance-gated); digital SMB; weak for cash-heavy retail

Airwallex Business Account

Multi-currency SME wallet — $0 Explore, local rails + FX, cards/spend; not cash or branch banking

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional (complimentary)
Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Checking APY
Tiered variable: 1.00% APY ($0.01–$24,999.99); 1.35% APY ($25,000–$250,000); 1.00% APY (≥$250,000.01)
None — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Rating
8.2/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricGrasshopper Innovator Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditional (complimentary)Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Fee waiverN/A — already $0N/A on Explore (already $0). Grow has no published balance waiver. Do not apply UK/EU/AU Explore waiver rules to U.S.
Transaction feesUnlimited fee-free transactions advertised; no excess-item fees on published scheduleNo classic item-count checking fees. Cost drivers: FX, SWIFT/Fedwire, incoming Fedwire, exotic inbound %, Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026, optional acquiring, Grow seats.
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft fees; overdrafts not permitted. Returned deposited check $10; ACH return $10; intl wire return $5.Not disclosed / not a published overdraft product
ATM feesMoneyPass (~37,000+) and SUM (~8,500+) fee-free withdrawals. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; no rebate published. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled MoneyPass only — $1,000/cardholder/day.Not disclosed. No ATM network marketed. CFSB card terms may allow ATM cash subject to limits/fees — product not designed as cash account.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $10. Incoming intl: $5. Outgoing intl: $25. Standard ACH in/out: $0. Same-day ACH: $0. Instant FedNow: 0.65% ($1 min / $10 max).Incoming US Fedwire into Global Accounts: $15. USA/Canada local networks in/out: $0. Outgoing FedWire/SWIFT SHA: $15; SWIFT OUR: $25. Incoming most currencies 0%; KRW/VND/BRL/MYR 0.60%. ACH/local USA-Canada $0 on SMB table.

Interest & Yields

MetricGrasshopper Innovator Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Checking APYTiered variable: 1.00% APY ($0.01–$24,999.99); 1.35% APY ($25,000–$250,000); 1.00% APY (≥$250,000.01)None — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Savings APYInnovator MMA: 1.55% APY below $25k; 3.00% APY at ≥$25k (as of 2026-01-05). Separate product.N/A — no separate FDIC savings product
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Grasshopper Bank, N.A.Eligible USD at U.S. partner banks: FDIC pass-through up to $250,000 per qualified customer per institution in customer beneficial interest (omnibus FBO). Not Airwallex’s own operating cash.

Features & Access

MetricGrasshopper Innovator Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. MoneyPass (~37,000+) + SUM (~8,500+) for withdrawals. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled MoneyPass only.None. No marketed ATM network. Cash access unreliable / not a design goal.
Mobile appiOS 4.5 (~327 ratings); Android 4.4 (~125–128 reviews)App Store US ~4.8/5 (~426 ratings, Aug 2025 scrape); AppBrain ~4.84 (~478); older Google Play ~4.2 — recheck live stores.
Virtual cardsIncluded — up to 5 active (SMB); lock/unlock in appIncluded — unlimited virtual on marketing; merchant/limit controls Explore; richer rules Grow+
Opening deposit$100$0
EligibilityU.S. citizen or permanent resident, 18+, address in 50 states + D.C. All small business owners except prohibited industries.Legal business entity or sole proprietor; principal place of business in the United States (Airwallex US / Evolve). Corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, LLC, incorporated nonprofit, sole prop. Not for consumers/personal/household use.

Pros & Cons

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 overdraft fee; unlimited posted transactions on Innovator schedule
  • Interest-bearing checking up to 1.35% APY in $25k–$250k band (as of 01/05/2026)
  • 1% signature-debit cash back at $10k monthly average with no NSF in 12 months
  • Free incoming domestic wires, standard/same-day ACH; outbound domestic wire $10
  • Direct FDIC member bank plus optional IntraFi ICS; Autobooks/QBO and virtual Visa debit

Cons

  • Checking APY drops to 1.00% above $250k — poor for large idle cash in checking
  • Cash deposits limited to $1k/day MoneyPass ATMs with delayed posting
  • No bank checkbook; no Zelle; no branches
  • Default ACH $10k/day and 5 active virtual cards until limits raised
  • U.S. citizen/LPR only; cash-back and best APY band are balance-gated; weekday-only support

Airwallex Business Account

Pros

  • US Explore $0/month with no published minimum balance (US Fee Schedule, 18 Sep 2026)
  • Transparent FX 0.50% majors / 1.00% others vs typical 2–4%+ bank markups
  • Local-rail payouts and USA/Canada transfers $0; Grow/Accelerate exempt from Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026
  • Local receiving in 20+ currencies reduces incoming international wire friction
  • Cards + expense + bill pay + QBO/Xero on one wallet; Grow adds NetSuite-class controls; optional Yield ~3.3–3.6% net MMF

Cons

  • Not a bank; FDIC pass-through $250k at partner banks (omnibus FBO); no advertised multi-bank sweep
  • Yield is SIPC MMF — not FDIC and not checking APY
  • No cash or check deposit rail
  • Grow is $12 × Spend users + unpublished platform fee — hard to model from public docs
  • Trustpilot 2.9/5 and freeze/hold complaint pattern; Explore has no dedicated RM; incoming Fedwire $15

Verdict

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking is an online-only DDA issued directly by Grasshopper Bank, N.A., Member FDIC — a nationally chartered bank, not a partner-bank fintech. $0 monthly maintenance, $100 to open, free standard and same-day ACH, free incoming domestic wires, $10 outgoing domestic. Checking APY is tiered: 1.00% below $25k, 1.35% at $25k–$250k, 1.00% above $250k (as of 01/05/2026). Separate 1% signature-debit cashback requires $10k monthly average. Cash weak: MoneyPass deposit ATMs $1k/cardholder/day only. Default ACH $10k/day. Optional ICS to $125M. $300 bonus (NW300) through 9/30/2026. Enova acquisition pending 2H 2026.

Airwallex Business Account

Airwallex US is a money transmitter with USD at partner banks (Evolve named for certain customers) — FDIC pass-through $250k, no advertised ICS sweep. Explore $0; Grow $12/Spend user + undisclosed platform fee. Wallet FX 0.50%/1.00%; USA/Canada local $0; SWIFT $15/$25; incoming Fedwire $15. No cash/checks. Optional Yield MMF ~3.33–3.60% net (22 Sep 2026) is SIPC not FDIC. Strong for FX-heavy digital firms; weak for cash, branch, and freeze-averse buyers given Trustpilot 2.9.