Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking
No monthly fee + tiered checking APY + 1% debit cash back (balance-gated); digital SMB; weak for cash-heavy retail
Meow Business Banking
Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional (complimentary) | Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice). |
| Fee waiver | N/A — already $0 | N/A — no published maintenance fee to waive |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited fee-free transactions advertised; no excess-item fees on published schedule | No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $0 overdraft fees; overdrafts not permitted. Returned deposited check $10; ACH return $10; intl wire return $5. | CRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed. |
| ATM fees | MoneyPass (~37,000+) and SUM (~8,500+) fee-free withdrawals. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; no rebate published. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled MoneyPass only — $1,000/cardholder/day. | Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $10. Incoming intl: $5. Outgoing intl: $25. Standard ACH in/out: $0. Same-day ACH: $0. Instant FedNow: 0.65% ($1 min / $10 max). | Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | Tiered variable: 1.00% APY ($0.01–$24,999.99); 1.35% APY ($25,000–$250,000); 1.00% APY (≥$250,000.01) | |
| Savings APY | Innovator MMA: 1.55% APY below $25k; 3.00% APY at ≥$25k (as of 2026-01-05). Separate product. | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Grasshopper Bank, N.A. | Standard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank |
Features & Access
| Metric | Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | No branches. MoneyPass (~37,000+) + SUM (~8,500+) for withdrawals. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled MoneyPass only. | None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails. |
| Mobile app | iOS 4.5 (~327 ratings); Android 4.4 (~125–128 reviews) | No first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP. |
| Virtual cards | Included — up to 5 active (SMB); lock/unlock in app | Included — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API |
| Opening deposit | $100 | $0 marketed for core checking |
| Eligibility | U.S. citizen or permanent resident, 18+, address in 50 states + D.C. All small business owners except prohibited industries. | Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated. |
Pros & Cons
Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly, $0 overdraft fee; unlimited posted transactions on Innovator schedule
- Interest-bearing checking up to 1.35% APY in $25k–$250k band (as of 01/05/2026)
- 1% signature-debit cash back at $10k monthly average with no NSF in 12 months
- Free incoming domestic wires, standard/same-day ACH; outbound domestic wire $10
- Direct FDIC member bank plus optional IntraFi ICS; Autobooks/QBO and virtual Visa debit
Cons
- Checking APY drops to 1.00% above $250k — poor for large idle cash in checking
- Cash deposits limited to $1k/day MoneyPass ATMs with delayed posting
- No bank checkbook; no Zelle; no branches
- Default ACH $10k/day and 5 active virtual cards until limits raised
- U.S. citizen/LPR only; cash-back and best APY band are balance-gated; weekday-only support
Meow Business Banking
Pros
- Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
- IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
- Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
- Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
- Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend
Cons
- Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
- Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
- No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
- No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
- Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set
Verdict
Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking
Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking is an online-only DDA issued directly by Grasshopper Bank, N.A., Member FDIC — a nationally chartered bank, not a partner-bank fintech. $0 monthly maintenance, $100 to open, free standard and same-day ACH, free incoming domestic wires, $10 outgoing domestic. Checking APY is tiered: 1.00% below $25k, 1.35% at $25k–$250k, 1.00% above $250k (as of 01/05/2026). Separate 1% signature-debit cashback requires $10k monthly average. Cash weak: MoneyPass deposit ATMs $1k/cardholder/day only. Default ACH $10k/day. Optional ICS to $125M. $300 bonus (NW300) through 9/30/2026. Enova acquisition pending 2H 2026.
Meow Business Banking
Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.