Head-to-Head

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking

No monthly fee + tiered checking APY + 1% debit cash back (balance-gated); digital SMB; weak for cash-heavy retail

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional (complimentary)
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
Tiered variable: 1.00% APY ($0.01–$24,999.99); 1.35% APY ($25,000–$250,000); 1.00% APY (≥$250,000.01)
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
8.2/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricGrasshopper Innovator Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditional (complimentary)$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverN/A — already $0N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesUnlimited fee-free transactions advertised; no excess-item fees on published scheduleNo per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft fees; overdrafts not permitted. Returned deposited check $10; ACH return $10; intl wire return $5.$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesMoneyPass (~37,000+) and SUM (~8,500+) fee-free withdrawals. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; no rebate published. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled MoneyPass only — $1,000/cardholder/day.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $10. Incoming intl: $5. Outgoing intl: $25. Standard ACH in/out: $0. Same-day ACH: $0. Instant FedNow: 0.65% ($1 min / $10 max).Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricGrasshopper Innovator Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APYTiered variable: 1.00% APY ($0.01–$24,999.99); 1.35% APY ($25,000–$250,000); 1.00% APY (≥$250,000.01)Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYInnovator MMA: 1.55% APY below $25k; 3.00% APY at ≥$25k (as of 2026-01-05). Separate product.Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Grasshopper Bank, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricGrasshopper Innovator Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. MoneyPass (~37,000+) + SUM (~8,500+) for withdrawals. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled MoneyPass only.24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appiOS 4.5 (~327 ratings); Android 4.4 (~125–128 reviews)Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsIncluded — up to 5 active (SMB); lock/unlock in appNot disclosed
Opening deposit$100$1.00
EligibilityU.S. citizen or permanent resident, 18+, address in 50 states + D.C. All small business owners except prohibited industries.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 overdraft fee; unlimited posted transactions on Innovator schedule
  • Interest-bearing checking up to 1.35% APY in $25k–$250k band (as of 01/05/2026)
  • 1% signature-debit cash back at $10k monthly average with no NSF in 12 months
  • Free incoming domestic wires, standard/same-day ACH; outbound domestic wire $10
  • Direct FDIC member bank plus optional IntraFi ICS; Autobooks/QBO and virtual Visa debit

Cons

  • Checking APY drops to 1.00% above $250k — poor for large idle cash in checking
  • Cash deposits limited to $1k/day MoneyPass ATMs with delayed posting
  • No bank checkbook; no Zelle; no branches
  • Default ACH $10k/day and 5 active virtual cards until limits raised
  • U.S. citizen/LPR only; cash-back and best APY band are balance-gated; weekday-only support

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking

Grasshopper Innovator Business Checking is an online-only DDA issued directly by Grasshopper Bank, N.A., Member FDIC — a nationally chartered bank, not a partner-bank fintech. $0 monthly maintenance, $100 to open, free standard and same-day ACH, free incoming domestic wires, $10 outgoing domestic. Checking APY is tiered: 1.00% below $25k, 1.35% at $25k–$250k, 1.00% above $250k (as of 01/05/2026). Separate 1% signature-debit cashback requires $10k monthly average. Cash weak: MoneyPass deposit ATMs $1k/cardholder/day only. Default ACH $10k/day. Optional ICS to $125M. $300 bonus (NW300) through 9/30/2026. Enova acquisition pending 2H 2026.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.