Head-to-Head

Mercury Business Banking

Startup / multi-user digital ops — $0 monthly fee, free USD wires & ACH, no cash deposits, 0% checking APY

VS

Meow Business Banking

Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank

Monthly Fee
$0 on deposit accounts. Optional Plus ~$29.90–$35/mo; Pro $299/mo (software subscriptions, not DDA maintenance)
Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Checking APY
0.00% — non-interest-bearing (Column Exhibit 1, Aug 14, 2026)
Rating
8.6/10
8.5/10

Costs & Fees

MetricMercury Business BankingMeow Business Banking
Monthly maintenance$0 on deposit accounts. Optional Plus ~$29.90–$35/mo; Pro $299/mo (software subscriptions, not DDA maintenance)Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Fee waiverN/A — core banking is $0 unconditional; Plus/Pro are optional paid software tiersN/A — no published maintenance fee to waive
Transaction feesNo per-item fees on ordinary ACH, wires, checks. Unlimited USD ACH, domestic wires, USD intl wires (SHA), RTP (Column).No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits.
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft fee; overdrafts not permitted — items may be rejected. Persistent negative ≥30 days may trigger closure.CRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed.
ATM feesMercury does not charge own ATM withdrawal fee (U.S.). Operator surcharge possible; business ATM rebate not confirmed on current help page. 3% FX on non-USD ATM cash.Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $0. Incoming intl: $0 from Mercury. Outgoing intl USD SHA: $0; USD OUR: $15; non-USD: 1% FX. ACH in/out: $0. Same-day ACH $0 if before 12pm PT and <$1M.Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0.

Interest & Yields

MetricMercury Business BankingMeow Business Banking
Checking APY0.00% — non-interest-bearing (Column Exhibit 1, Aug 14, 2026)
Savings APY0.00% APY on business savings (0.001% rate; Column Exhibit 1). Not a high-yield account.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Choice or ColumnStandard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank

Features & Access

MetricMercury Business BankingMeow Business Banking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. Mastercard chip ATMs for cash withdrawal only — $1,000/card/business day, $3,000 company-wide. No cash deposits.None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails.
Mobile appTrustpilot 4.0 (~2,761 reviews); Google Play ~4.6 (~1.76k); App Store ~4.9 (CA listing)No first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP.
Virtual cardsIncluded — physical + virtual debit with freeze, merchant lock, spend limitsIncluded — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API
Opening deposit$0$0 marketed for core checking
EligibilityU.S.-formed LLC, corp, partnership typical. EIN letter required. Trusts refused on business onboarding. International founders OK if U.S. entity and not in prohibited residence country.Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated.

Pros & Cons

Mercury Business Banking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 overdraft fee on deposit accounts
  • $0 domestic wires, $0 USD intl wires (SHA), $0 ACH, $0 same-day ACH under $1M/12pm PT
  • Sweep FDIC marketed up to $5M; RTP/FedNow-style rails $0 on Column accounts
  • Strong multi-user, virtual cards, QBO/Xero/NetSuite feeds, bill pay, invoicing on free tier
  • IO charge card 1.5% cashback, $0 annual fee (Patriot Bank; separate product)

Cons

  • Business checking/savings APY 0.00% — yield requires Treasury ≥$250k (SIPC, not FDIC)
  • No cash deposits at all; ATM cash-out capped $1k/card, $3k company
  • Fintech + partner-bank stack; documented closure/freeze complaint pattern
  • 3% card FX and 1% non-USD wire; Plus/Pro needed for advanced AP/AR automation
  • Treasury wrap fee 0.15%–0.60%; Choice consent order and bank migration uncertainty

Meow Business Banking

Pros

  • Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
  • IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
  • Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
  • Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
  • Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend

Cons

  • Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
  • Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
  • No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
  • No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
  • Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set

Verdict

Mercury Business Banking

Mercury is a fintech front end with deposits at Choice Financial Group and Column N.A. (FDIC), optional sweep to $5M. Core checking and savings have $0 monthly fee, $0 minimums, $0 overdraft fee, and $0 USD ACH/wires/RTP (Column). Checking and savings APY are 0.00%. Yield is separate Mercury Treasury (Apex/SIPC, 0.15–0.60% wrap) unlocked at $250k. Cash deposits not offered. Differentiator is startup-grade ops: multi-user permissions, virtual cards, QBO/Xero/NetSuite, bill pay, invoicing on free tier. Weak on 0% checking, no cash, partner-bank risk, and closure complaints. Do not treat Treasury yield as checking APY or Mercury as an FDIC member.

Meow Business Banking

Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.