Head-to-Head

Mercury Business Banking

Startup / multi-user digital ops — $0 monthly fee, free USD wires & ACH, no cash deposits, 0% checking APY

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
$0 on deposit accounts. Optional Plus ~$29.90–$35/mo; Pro $299/mo (software subscriptions, not DDA maintenance)
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
0.00% — non-interest-bearing (Column Exhibit 1, Aug 14, 2026)
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
8.6/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricMercury Business BankingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 on deposit accounts. Optional Plus ~$29.90–$35/mo; Pro $299/mo (software subscriptions, not DDA maintenance)$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverN/A — core banking is $0 unconditional; Plus/Pro are optional paid software tiersN/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesNo per-item fees on ordinary ACH, wires, checks. Unlimited USD ACH, domestic wires, USD intl wires (SHA), RTP (Column).No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft fee; overdrafts not permitted — items may be rejected. Persistent negative ≥30 days may trigger closure.$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesMercury does not charge own ATM withdrawal fee (U.S.). Operator surcharge possible; business ATM rebate not confirmed on current help page. 3% FX on non-USD ATM cash.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $0. Incoming intl: $0 from Mercury. Outgoing intl USD SHA: $0; USD OUR: $15; non-USD: 1% FX. ACH in/out: $0. Same-day ACH $0 if before 12pm PT and <$1M.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricMercury Business BankingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APY0.00% — non-interest-bearing (Column Exhibit 1, Aug 14, 2026)Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APY0.00% APY on business savings (0.001% rate; Column Exhibit 1). Not a high-yield account.Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Choice or ColumnStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricMercury Business BankingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. Mastercard chip ATMs for cash withdrawal only — $1,000/card/business day, $3,000 company-wide. No cash deposits.24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appTrustpilot 4.0 (~2,761 reviews); Google Play ~4.6 (~1.76k); App Store ~4.9 (CA listing)Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsIncluded — physical + virtual debit with freeze, merchant lock, spend limitsNot disclosed
Opening deposit$0$1.00
EligibilityU.S.-formed LLC, corp, partnership typical. EIN letter required. Trusts refused on business onboarding. International founders OK if U.S. entity and not in prohibited residence country.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Mercury Business Banking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 overdraft fee on deposit accounts
  • $0 domestic wires, $0 USD intl wires (SHA), $0 ACH, $0 same-day ACH under $1M/12pm PT
  • Sweep FDIC marketed up to $5M; RTP/FedNow-style rails $0 on Column accounts
  • Strong multi-user, virtual cards, QBO/Xero/NetSuite feeds, bill pay, invoicing on free tier
  • IO charge card 1.5% cashback, $0 annual fee (Patriot Bank; separate product)

Cons

  • Business checking/savings APY 0.00% — yield requires Treasury ≥$250k (SIPC, not FDIC)
  • No cash deposits at all; ATM cash-out capped $1k/card, $3k company
  • Fintech + partner-bank stack; documented closure/freeze complaint pattern
  • 3% card FX and 1% non-USD wire; Plus/Pro needed for advanced AP/AR automation
  • Treasury wrap fee 0.15%–0.60%; Choice consent order and bank migration uncertainty

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Mercury Business Banking

Mercury is a fintech front end with deposits at Choice Financial Group and Column N.A. (FDIC), optional sweep to $5M. Core checking and savings have $0 monthly fee, $0 minimums, $0 overdraft fee, and $0 USD ACH/wires/RTP (Column). Checking and savings APY are 0.00%. Yield is separate Mercury Treasury (Apex/SIPC, 0.15–0.60% wrap) unlocked at $250k. Cash deposits not offered. Differentiator is startup-grade ops: multi-user permissions, virtual cards, QBO/Xero/NetSuite, bill pay, invoicing on free tier. Weak on 0% checking, no cash, partner-bank risk, and closure complaints. Do not treat Treasury yield as checking APY or Mercury as an FDIC member.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.