Head-to-Head

nbkc Business Checking

$0 monthly fee + unlimited cash deposits at partner ATMs; bank (not fintech)

Airwallex Business Account

Multi-currency SME wallet — $0 Explore, local rails + FX, cards/spend; not cash or branch banking

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional
Explore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Checking APY
None — non-interest-bearing by design
None — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Rating
8.5/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

Metricnbkc Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditionalExplore: $0/month per entity (US fee schedule — no published balance waiver). Grow: $12 per Spend User per month + additional Airwallex Platform fee (dollar amount Not disclosed). Accelerate/Custom: custom.
Fee waiverN/A — already $0; no balance or activity hoopsN/A on Explore (already $0). Grow has no published balance waiver. Do not apply UK/EU/AU Explore waiver rules to U.S.
Transaction feesUnlimited — no per-item, per-check, or excess transaction fees on published scheduleNo classic item-count checking fees. Cost drivers: FX, SWIFT/Fedwire, incoming Fedwire, exotic inbound %, Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026, optional acquiring, Grow seats.
Overdraft/NSF$0 Overdraft, Returned Item, Insufficient Funds. Bank not obligated to pay overdrafts. No published OD protection program.Not disclosed / not a published overdraft product
ATM fees$0 at nbkc, MoneyPass, and Allpoint ATMs. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; auto rebate up to $12/month.Not disclosed. No ATM network marketed. CFSB card terms may allow ATM cash subject to limits/fees — product not designed as cash account.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $5/wire (online, cutoff 3:30 PM CT). Incoming international: $45. Outgoing international: $45 (cutoff 2:00 PM CT). Incoming ACH: $0. Originating ACH credits/debits: $15/mo or $150/yr add-on.Incoming US Fedwire into Global Accounts: $15. USA/Canada local networks in/out: $0. Outgoing FedWire/SWIFT SHA: $15; SWIFT OUR: $25. Incoming most currencies 0%; KRW/VND/BRL/MYR 0.60%. ACH/local USA-Canada $0 on SMB table.

Interest & Yields

Metricnbkc Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Checking APYNone — non-interest-bearing by designNone — wallet / Global Account balances have no advertised deposit APY. Do not label as checking APY.
Savings APYBusiness Money Market: 2.75% APY on all balances from $0.01; $0 monthly fee (as of 2026-09-02). Separate account, not checking APY.N/A — no separate FDIC savings product
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at nbkc bankEligible USD at U.S. partner banks: FDIC pass-through up to $250,000 per qualified customer per institution in customer beneficial interest (omnibus FBO). Not Airwallex’s own operating cash.

Features & Access

Metricnbkc Business CheckingAirwallex Business Account
Branch/ATM network4 branches (KC metro only). MoneyPass + Allpoint + nbkc ATMs — 90,000+ marketed globally. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled partner ATMs.None. No marketed ATM network. Cash access unreliable / not a design goal.
Mobile appiOS ~4.4–4.5; Android ~4.2 (~700 reviews)App Store US ~4.8/5 (~426 ratings, Aug 2025 scrape); AppBrain ~4.84 (~478); older Google Play ~4.2 — recheck live stores.
Virtual cardsNot disclosed; multiple physical debit cards allowedIncluded — unlimited virtual on marketing; merchant/limit controls Explore; richer rules Grow+
Opening deposit$0$0
EligibilityU.S.-located/registered entities — corp, LLC, partnership, DBA, sole prop (SSN), nonprofit. Controlling person needs SSN. Foreign businesses not accepted.Legal business entity or sole proprietor; principal place of business in the United States (Airwallex US / Evolve). Corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, LLC, incorporated nonprofit, sole prop. Not for consumers/personal/household use.

Pros & Cons

nbkc Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 OD/NSF/stop/returned-item on Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule
  • Unlimited fee-free cash deposits at eligible MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs — rare among online business checking
  • $0 incoming domestic wires and $5 outbound domestic — cheap vs big-bank business checking
  • Direct FDIC member bank (Cert #35014), not fintech + partner-bank stack
  • $12/mo out-of-network ATM rebate plus 90,000+ ATM network; optional Business MMA at 2.75% APY

Cons

  • Checking earns 0% APY — yield requires separate Business Money Market account
  • Originated ACH ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), and positive pay ($5/mo) are paid add-ons
  • Only 4 branches, all Kansas City metro; no weekend lobby
  • International wires $45 in and out; standard $250k FDIC only
  • Weekday 7–6 CT support; new-account and ATM-cash holds are operational drag

Airwallex Business Account

Pros

  • US Explore $0/month with no published minimum balance (US Fee Schedule, 18 Sep 2026)
  • Transparent FX 0.50% majors / 1.00% others vs typical 2–4%+ bank markups
  • Local-rail payouts and USA/Canada transfers $0; Grow/Accelerate exempt from Explore local-intl fees from 12 Oct 2026
  • Local receiving in 20+ currencies reduces incoming international wire friction
  • Cards + expense + bill pay + QBO/Xero on one wallet; Grow adds NetSuite-class controls; optional Yield ~3.3–3.6% net MMF

Cons

  • Not a bank; FDIC pass-through $250k at partner banks (omnibus FBO); no advertised multi-bank sweep
  • Yield is SIPC MMF — not FDIC and not checking APY
  • No cash or check deposit rail
  • Grow is $12 × Spend users + unpublished platform fee — hard to model from public docs
  • Trustpilot 2.9/5 and freeze/hold complaint pattern; Explore has no dedicated RM; incoming Fedwire $15

Verdict

nbkc Business Checking

nbkc Business Account is a single-tier, non-interest-bearing checking at nbkc bank (FDIC #35014) — a real Kansas-chartered bank, not a BaaS fintech. The Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule prices monthly service, OD, NSF, stop payment, and inactivity at $0 with $0 to open. Standout features are unlimited $0 cash deposits at deposit-enabled MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs, unlimited items, $0 incoming domestic wires, and $5 outbound domestic. Checking yields 0%; park idle cash in Business MMA at 2.75% APY (Sep 2, 2026). Costs appear only for add-ons: ACH origination ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), positive pay ($5/mo), Autobooks ($10/mo). Best for cost-conscious and cash-heavy operators who accept weekday support, 4 KC branches, and standard $250k FDIC.

Airwallex Business Account

Airwallex US is a money transmitter with USD at partner banks (Evolve named for certain customers) — FDIC pass-through $250k, no advertised ICS sweep. Explore $0; Grow $12/Spend user + undisclosed platform fee. Wallet FX 0.50%/1.00%; USA/Canada local $0; SWIFT $15/$25; incoming Fedwire $15. No cash/checks. Optional Yield MMF ~3.33–3.60% net (22 Sep 2026) is SIPC not FDIC. Strong for FX-heavy digital firms; weak for cash, branch, and freeze-averse buyers given Trustpilot 2.9.