nbkc Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + unlimited cash deposits at partner ATMs; bank (not fintech)
Found Business Banking
$0 monthly fee + built-in taxes/bookkeeping for self-employed; APY only on paid plans or card-spend bonus
Costs & Fees
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Found Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional | Found Free $0. Optional Plus $35/mo or $315/yr; Pro $80/mo or $720/yr. No balance waiver required. |
| Fee waiver | N/A — already $0; no balance or activity hoops | N/A — Free tier has $0 maintenance; Plus/Pro are optional subscriptions |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited — no per-item, per-check, or excess transaction fees on published schedule | No excess-item or per-count fees on ACH, deposited checks, or electronic items. Unlimited standard ACH in/out. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $0 Overdraft, Returned Item, Insufficient Funds. Bank not obligated to pay overdrafts. No published OD protection program. | No overdraft fees. Account not designed to overdraft; negative balance from merchant adjustments or ACH timing risks closure. |
| ATM fees | $0 at nbkc, MoneyPass, and Allpoint ATMs. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; auto rebate up to $12/month. | Found does not add ATM fee. Operator surcharge possible. No surcharge rebate. No branded free network. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $5/wire (online, cutoff 3:30 PM CT). Incoming international: $45. Outgoing international: $45 (cutoff 2:00 PM CT). Incoming ACH: $0. Originating ACH credits/debits: $15/mo or $150/yr add-on. | Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15 (Free/Plus), $10 (Pro). Incoming intl USD: $0 (SWIFT LEADUS49). Outgoing intl: not disclosed/not offered. Standard ACH in/out: $0 unlimited. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Found Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None — non-interest-bearing by design | Free: 0% ongoing. Yield is monthly Balance bonus labeled APY — variable, paid 1st of following month. |
| Savings APY | Business Money Market: 2.75% APY on all balances from $0.01; $0 monthly fee (as of 2026-09-02). Separate account, not checking APY. | N/A — Pockets are sub-accounts in same checking; same yield rules apply |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at nbkc bank | FDIC pass-through via Lead Bank — $250,000 per depositor per ownership category |
Features & Access
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Found Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | 4 branches (KC metro only). MoneyPass + Allpoint + nbkc ATMs — 90,000+ marketed globally. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled partner ATMs. | No branches. Any Mastercard ATM for withdrawal — Found $0, no rebate. ATM cash-out $550/day new, $1,550/day established. No ATM cash deposit. |
| Mobile app | iOS ~4.4–4.5; Android ~4.2 (~700 reviews) | iOS Found: Business Banking ~4.8 (~26k–34k ratings); Google Play ~4.7 (~16k–18.5k reviews) |
| Virtual cards | Not disclosed; multiple physical debit cards allowed | Virtual + team cards with spend limits; lock/delete virtual cards |
| Opening deposit | $0 | $0 |
| Eligibility | U.S.-located/registered entities — corp, LLC, partnership, DBA, sole prop (SSN), nonprofit. Controlling person needs SSN. Foreign businesses not accepted. | Sole prop, single/multi-member LLC, C-Corp, S-Corp, partnership. Nonprofits can use banking/invoicing (tax tools poor fit). Up to 4 additional beneficial owners plus primary. |
Pros & Cons
nbkc Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 OD/NSF/stop/returned-item on Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule
- Unlimited fee-free cash deposits at eligible MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs — rare among online business checking
- $0 incoming domestic wires and $5 outbound domestic — cheap vs big-bank business checking
- Direct FDIC member bank (Cert #35014), not fintech + partner-bank stack
- $12/mo out-of-network ATM rebate plus 90,000+ ATM network; optional Business MMA at 2.75% APY
Cons
- Checking earns 0% APY — yield requires separate Business Money Market account
- Originated ACH ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), and positive pay ($5/mo) are paid add-ons
- Only 4 branches, all Kansas City metro; no weekend lobby
- International wires $45 in and out; standard $250k FDIC only
- Weekday 7–6 CT support; new-account and ATM-cash holds are operational drag
Found Business Banking
Pros
- $0 maintenance, $0 min balance, $0 overdraft fee, unlimited standard ACH (Jul 13, 2026 schedule)
- Native tax Pocket, estimates, write-offs, invoicing, and 1099 contractor tools on Free
- Pockets with dedicated account numbers; up to 5 businesses per login
- Incoming domestic + USD international wires at $0 from Found; SWIFT LEADUS49
- Optional 2.50% APY no cap on Pro; 1% card cash-back on Pro; strong app-store ratings
Cons
- Found is not a bank; pass-through FDIC $250,000 at Lead Bank only
- Cash ($2/deposit after 1 free/month) and mobile-check caps low for cash businesses
- Free APY is $0 or spend-gated bonus; Plus yield capped at $20k and can be eaten by subscription
- No surcharge-free ATM network; no ATM cash deposit
- Patterned freeze/hold complaints; outgoing FX wires, checkbooks, ICS, and W-2 payroll absent
Verdict
nbkc Business Checking
nbkc Business Account is a single-tier, non-interest-bearing checking at nbkc bank (FDIC #35014) — a real Kansas-chartered bank, not a BaaS fintech. The Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule prices monthly service, OD, NSF, stop payment, and inactivity at $0 with $0 to open. Standout features are unlimited $0 cash deposits at deposit-enabled MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs, unlimited items, $0 incoming domestic wires, and $5 outbound domestic. Checking yields 0%; park idle cash in Business MMA at 2.75% APY (Sep 2, 2026). Costs appear only for add-ons: ACH origination ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), positive pay ($5/mo), Autobooks ($10/mo). Best for cost-conscious and cash-heavy operators who accept weekday support, 4 KC branches, and standard $250k FDIC.
Found Business Banking
Found is an online business checking platform from Indie Technologies with deposits at Lead Bank (FDIC Cert. 8283). Three tiers share same rails: Free ($0), Plus ($35/mo), Pro ($80/mo). Jul 13, 2026 schedule: $0 maintenance, $0 overdraft, unlimited free ACH. Costs on wires ($10–$15), mailed checks ($1, free Pro), Instant/Express payouts, cash ($2 after 1 free/month), dormancy ($10/12 mo). Yield: Free 0% or 2% card-spend bonus; Plus 1.50% on first $20k; Pro 2.50% no cap + 1% card cash-back. Differentiator is built-in tax Pocket, Schedule C books, invoicing, and contractor 1099s. Cash capped $2k/week and $4k/month at retail. $250k FDIC only. Strong app UX; freeze/support complaints are operational risk.