nbkc Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + unlimited cash deposits at partner ATMs; bank (not fintech)
Live Oak Bank Business Checking
Online U.S. bank checking with waivable monthly fees, unlimited items, Allpoint ATM cash-out, no cash deposits, no checking APY
Costs & Fees
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Live Oak Bank Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional | Essential $10/cycle if ADB <$1,000; Plus $25/cycle if ADB <$25,000; Analysis $100/mo (offset by earnings credit — rate unpublished) |
| Fee waiver | N/A — already $0; no balance or activity hoops | Essential: cycle ADB ≥ $1,000. Plus: cycle ADB ≥ $25,000. Analysis: earnings credit offsets fees. |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited — no per-item, per-check, or excess transaction fees on published schedule | Unlimited — no charge for checks paid/deposits, ACH, debit card on Essential/Plus (fee schedule 7.21.25) |
| Overdraft/NSF | $0 Overdraft, Returned Item, Insufficient Funds. Bank not obligated to pay overdrafts. No published OD protection program. | Overdraft $25; NSF no charge; returned item $5. No daily cap published. |
| ATM fees | $0 at nbkc, MoneyPass, and Allpoint ATMs. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; auto rebate up to $12/month. | Allpoint 55,000+: $0 from Live Oak. OON: Live Oak $0 + owner surcharge. Foreign ATM 3% of amount. No rebate program. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $5/wire (online, cutoff 3:30 PM CT). Incoming international: $45. Outgoing international: $45 (cutoff 2:00 PM CT). Incoming ACH: $0. Originating ACH credits/debits: $15/mo or $150/yr add-on. | Incoming wire $10. Outgoing domestic $19. Outgoing international $40. ACH no charge on fee schedule. ACH collections/payments/EFTPS are Plus/Analysis features only. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Live Oak Bank Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None — non-interest-bearing by design | None — non-interest-bearing on all three current tiers |
| Savings APY | Business Money Market: 2.75% APY on all balances from $0.01; $0 monthly fee (as of 2026-09-02). Separate account, not checking APY. | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at nbkc bank | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Live Oak Banking Company |
Features & Access
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Live Oak Bank Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | 4 branches (KC metro only). MoneyPass + Allpoint + nbkc ATMs — 90,000+ marketed globally. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled partner ATMs. | No retail branch network. Allpoint 55,000+ for cash withdrawal only — no ATM cash deposit. OON Live Oak fee $0. |
| Mobile app | iOS ~4.4–4.5; Android ~4.2 (~700 reviews) | iOS ~2.6/5 (~109 ratings); Android ~3.0–3.1/5 (~100–107 reviews) — Forbes Advisor Aug 2026 called mediocre |
| Virtual cards | Not disclosed; multiple physical debit cards allowed | Not disclosed beyond debit Card Center |
| Opening deposit | $0 | $100 |
| Eligibility | U.S.-located/registered entities — corp, LLC, partnership, DBA, sole prop (SSN), nonprofit. Controlling person needs SSN. Foreign businesses not accepted. | Sole prop, partnership, LLC, corporation, nonprofit. LP, professional corp, association on savings/CD pages. |
Pros & Cons
nbkc Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 OD/NSF/stop/returned-item on Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule
- Unlimited fee-free cash deposits at eligible MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs — rare among online business checking
- $0 incoming domestic wires and $5 outbound domestic — cheap vs big-bank business checking
- Direct FDIC member bank (Cert #35014), not fintech + partner-bank stack
- $12/mo out-of-network ATM rebate plus 90,000+ ATM network; optional Business MMA at 2.75% APY
Cons
- Checking earns 0% APY — yield requires separate Business Money Market account
- Originated ACH ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), and positive pay ($5/mo) are paid add-ons
- Only 4 branches, all Kansas City metro; no weekend lobby
- International wires $45 in and out; standard $250k FDIC only
- Weekday 7–6 CT support; new-account and ATM-cash holds are operational drag
Live Oak Bank Business Checking
Pros
- Unlimited transactions and $0 item/ACH/debit fees on Essential/Plus (fee schedule 7.21.25)
- Monthly fee waivable at modest ADB — $1,000 Essential, $25,000 Plus
- Deposits at Live Oak Banking Company (true bank) with optional IntraFi ICS
- Allpoint 55,000+ cash-out with no Live Oak surcharge
- QuickBooks, bill pay, mobile deposit, multi-approver controls; long weekday phone hours (8am–11pm ET)
Cons
- Checking earns no APY
- No cash deposits and no branches
- Essential lacks online wire origination and ACH collections/payments per official matrix
- Outgoing wires $19 domestic / $40 international; Analysis fee schedule not public
- Weak mobile app ratings (~2.6 iOS); ICS liquidity not instant ($350k enrollment minimum)
Verdict
nbkc Business Checking
nbkc Business Account is a single-tier, non-interest-bearing checking at nbkc bank (FDIC #35014) — a real Kansas-chartered bank, not a BaaS fintech. The Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule prices monthly service, OD, NSF, stop payment, and inactivity at $0 with $0 to open. Standout features are unlimited $0 cash deposits at deposit-enabled MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs, unlimited items, $0 incoming domestic wires, and $5 outbound domestic. Checking yields 0%; park idle cash in Business MMA at 2.75% APY (Sep 2, 2026). Costs appear only for add-ons: ACH origination ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), positive pay ($5/mo), Autobooks ($10/mo). Best for cost-conscious and cash-heavy operators who accept weekday support, 4 KC branches, and standard $250k FDIC.
Live Oak Bank Business Checking
Live Oak Bank offers three online-only business checking tiers at Live Oak Banking Company (Member FDIC): Essential ($10, waived at $1k ADB), Plus ($25, waived at $25k ADB), Plus Analysis ($100, ECR offset unpublished). Fee schedule 7.21.25: unlimited items, $0 ACH/debit, $10 incoming wires, $19/$40 outgoing wires, $25 OD. Essential = QuickBooks, bill pay, mobile deposit. Plus adds wire origination, ACH collections/payments, EFTPS, RDC. No cash, no APY, no branches. Allpoint cash-out only. Optional IntraFi ICS ($350k min). Weak app ratings. $200 bonus expired Apr 2026.