nbkc Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + unlimited cash deposits at partner ATMs; bank (not fintech)
Meow Business Banking
Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank
Costs & Fees
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional | Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice). |
| Fee waiver | N/A — already $0; no balance or activity hoops | N/A — no published maintenance fee to waive |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited — no per-item, per-check, or excess transaction fees on published schedule | No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $0 Overdraft, Returned Item, Insufficient Funds. Bank not obligated to pay overdrafts. No published OD protection program. | CRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed. |
| ATM fees | $0 at nbkc, MoneyPass, and Allpoint ATMs. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; auto rebate up to $12/month. | Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $5/wire (online, cutoff 3:30 PM CT). Incoming international: $45. Outgoing international: $45 (cutoff 2:00 PM CT). Incoming ACH: $0. Originating ACH credits/debits: $15/mo or $150/yr add-on. | Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None — non-interest-bearing by design | |
| Savings APY | Business Money Market: 2.75% APY on all balances from $0.01; $0 monthly fee (as of 2026-09-02). Separate account, not checking APY. | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at nbkc bank | Standard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank |
Features & Access
| Metric | nbkc Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | 4 branches (KC metro only). MoneyPass + Allpoint + nbkc ATMs — 90,000+ marketed globally. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled partner ATMs. | None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails. |
| Mobile app | iOS ~4.4–4.5; Android ~4.2 (~700 reviews) | No first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP. |
| Virtual cards | Not disclosed; multiple physical debit cards allowed | Included — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API |
| Opening deposit | $0 | $0 marketed for core checking |
| Eligibility | U.S.-located/registered entities — corp, LLC, partnership, DBA, sole prop (SSN), nonprofit. Controlling person needs SSN. Foreign businesses not accepted. | Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated. |
Pros & Cons
nbkc Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 OD/NSF/stop/returned-item on Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule
- Unlimited fee-free cash deposits at eligible MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs — rare among online business checking
- $0 incoming domestic wires and $5 outbound domestic — cheap vs big-bank business checking
- Direct FDIC member bank (Cert #35014), not fintech + partner-bank stack
- $12/mo out-of-network ATM rebate plus 90,000+ ATM network; optional Business MMA at 2.75% APY
Cons
- Checking earns 0% APY — yield requires separate Business Money Market account
- Originated ACH ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), and positive pay ($5/mo) are paid add-ons
- Only 4 branches, all Kansas City metro; no weekend lobby
- International wires $45 in and out; standard $250k FDIC only
- Weekday 7–6 CT support; new-account and ATM-cash holds are operational drag
Meow Business Banking
Pros
- Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
- IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
- Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
- Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
- Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend
Cons
- Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
- Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
- No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
- No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
- Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set
Verdict
nbkc Business Checking
nbkc Business Account is a single-tier, non-interest-bearing checking at nbkc bank (FDIC #35014) — a real Kansas-chartered bank, not a BaaS fintech. The Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule prices monthly service, OD, NSF, stop payment, and inactivity at $0 with $0 to open. Standout features are unlimited $0 cash deposits at deposit-enabled MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs, unlimited items, $0 incoming domestic wires, and $5 outbound domestic. Checking yields 0%; park idle cash in Business MMA at 2.75% APY (Sep 2, 2026). Costs appear only for add-ons: ACH origination ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), positive pay ($5/mo), Autobooks ($10/mo). Best for cost-conscious and cash-heavy operators who accept weekday support, 4 KC branches, and standard $250k FDIC.
Meow Business Banking
Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.