Head-to-Head

Novo Business Checking

No monthly fee + invoicing/integrations; online-only; no cash deposits; 0% APY

VS

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional
$10.00/month
Checking APY
0% — non-interest-bearing (fee schedule Annual Percentage Yield 0%)
Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Rating
8.0/10
7.7/10

Costs & Fees

MetricNovo Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditional$10.00/month
Fee waiverN/A — already $0Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation.
Transaction feesNo excess-item fees on schedule. Operational limits on ACH, RDC, mailed checks, ATM, POS (raisable in-app).Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items.
Overdraft/NSF$0 Insufficient Funds; $0 Uncollected Funds Returned. No overdraft protection product.Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0.
ATM feesNovo ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge rebate max $7/customer/month. No branded free network disclosed.Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed).
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: up to $45 (online only, eligibility-gated). Incoming intl: $0 Novo-side. Outgoing intl: via Wise (Wise fees apply). Standard ACH in/out: $0.Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF.

Interest & Yields

MetricNovo Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Checking APY0% — non-interest-bearing (fee schedule Annual Percentage Yield 0%)Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Savings APYN/A — Reserves earn 0%; same deposit accountBusiness Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM
FDIC coverageFDIC pass-through at Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A. — $250,000 per depositor per ownership category

Features & Access

MetricNovo Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. Any ATM for withdrawal only — $7/month rebate cap. No ATM cash deposit.~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited).
Mobile appiOS ~4.8; Android ~4.5–4.6 (secondary 2026 aggregators)Chartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app.
Virtual cardsVirtual debit included. Fine-grained merchant locks not documented.Not disclosed
Opening deposit$0 ($1,000 recommended)$100 membership share
EligibilityU.S. sole prop (incl. DBA), LLC, corp, partnership, 501(c)(3). Trusts not offered. One checking login per EIN.Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required.

Pros & Cons

Novo Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 minimum, $0 NSF/stop-pay/statement/card replace (Feb 2026 schedule)
  • Free standard ACH both ways; $0 inbound domestic and foreign wires
  • Invoices + up to 20 Reserves in one account
  • Stripe/Shopify/Square/QuickBooks/Xero connectors (40+ integrations)
  • Virtual + physical debit; $7/month ATM rebate; fast U.S. online open including nonprofits

Cons

  • No cash deposits at all
  • 0% APY; Reserves earn nothing
  • Advertised FDIC $250,000 only — no marketed multi-million sweep
  • Outbound wires up to $45 and eligibility-gated; FX via Wise only
  • Weekday support; added users get full owner access; freeze/hold complaints recur

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Pros

  • Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
  • $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
  • NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
  • Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
  • Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access

Cons

  • 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
  • Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
  • Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
  • $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
  • Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint

Verdict

Novo Business Checking

Novo Business Checking is a single-tier online account from fintech Novo Platform Inc. with deposits at Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A. (FDIC Cert. 28368). Feb 26, 2026 fee schedule: $0 monthly, $0 NSF, $0 standard ACH, $0 inbound wires, 0% APY. Costs appear on Express ACH (1.5%), Express Check Deposit (up to 2%), outbound wires (up to $45 when enabled), and ATM surcharges above $7/month rebate. Up to 20 Reserves inside same 0% account. Strong ecommerce integrations. No cash, no branches, $250k FDIC advertised. Fits indie digital businesses; weak for cash, treasury, international founders, and teams needing permission controls.

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.