Head-to-Head

Novo Business Checking

No monthly fee + invoicing/integrations; online-only; no cash deposits; 0% APY

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
0% — non-interest-bearing (fee schedule Annual Percentage Yield 0%)
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
8.0/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricNovo Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditional$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverN/A — already $0N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesNo excess-item fees on schedule. Operational limits on ACH, RDC, mailed checks, ATM, POS (raisable in-app).No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$0 Insufficient Funds; $0 Uncollected Funds Returned. No overdraft protection product.$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesNovo ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge rebate max $7/customer/month. No branded free network disclosed.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: up to $45 (online only, eligibility-gated). Incoming intl: $0 Novo-side. Outgoing intl: via Wise (Wise fees apply). Standard ACH in/out: $0.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricNovo Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APY0% — non-interest-bearing (fee schedule Annual Percentage Yield 0%)Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYN/A — Reserves earn 0%; same deposit accountBusiness Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageFDIC pass-through at Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A. — $250,000 per depositor per ownership categoryStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricNovo Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNo branches. Any ATM for withdrawal only — $7/month rebate cap. No ATM cash deposit.24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8; Android ~4.5–4.6 (secondary 2026 aggregators)Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsVirtual debit included. Fine-grained merchant locks not documented.Not disclosed
Opening deposit$0 ($1,000 recommended)$1.00
EligibilityU.S. sole prop (incl. DBA), LLC, corp, partnership, 501(c)(3). Trusts not offered. One checking login per EIN.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Novo Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 minimum, $0 NSF/stop-pay/statement/card replace (Feb 2026 schedule)
  • Free standard ACH both ways; $0 inbound domestic and foreign wires
  • Invoices + up to 20 Reserves in one account
  • Stripe/Shopify/Square/QuickBooks/Xero connectors (40+ integrations)
  • Virtual + physical debit; $7/month ATM rebate; fast U.S. online open including nonprofits

Cons

  • No cash deposits at all
  • 0% APY; Reserves earn nothing
  • Advertised FDIC $250,000 only — no marketed multi-million sweep
  • Outbound wires up to $45 and eligibility-gated; FX via Wise only
  • Weekday support; added users get full owner access; freeze/hold complaints recur

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Novo Business Checking

Novo Business Checking is a single-tier online account from fintech Novo Platform Inc. with deposits at Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A. (FDIC Cert. 28368). Feb 26, 2026 fee schedule: $0 monthly, $0 NSF, $0 standard ACH, $0 inbound wires, 0% APY. Costs appear on Express ACH (1.5%), Express Check Deposit (up to 2%), outbound wires (up to $45 when enabled), and ATM surcharges above $7/month rebate. Up to 20 Reserves inside same 0% account. Strong ecommerce integrations. No cash, no branches, $250k FDIC advertised. Fits indie digital businesses; weak for cash, treasury, international founders, and teams needing permission controls.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.