PNC Business Checking
Branch + cash deposits + analyzed treasury for higher-volume businesses; monthly fee waivable but not unconditionally free; no APY on standard checking
Meow Business Banking
Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank
Costs & Fees
| Metric | PNC Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | BC $12; Plus $22; Analysis $25; TEP $50. First 3 statement cycles $0 on BC/Plus/TEP. | Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice). |
| Fee waiver | BC: $500 avg monthly collected balance OR $500 linked PNC business-card purchases OR $500 linked Merchant deposits. Plus: $5,000 collected OR $5,000 card OR $5,000 merchant OR $20,000 combined business checking+MMA. TEP: $30,000 combined collected across master + beneficiaries. Analysis: offset by earnings credit. | N/A — no published maintenance fee to waive |
| Transaction fees | Combined items = deposits + deposited items + paid items + ACH credits/debits received. BC: 150 free then $0.50 each. Plus: 500 free then $0.50. TEP: unlimited per 2026 marketing (confirm PDF). Cash priced separately on volume. | No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $36 per item; max 4/day. Auto-refund if overdrawn ≤$5 after all items post. | CRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed. |
| ATM fees | PNC ATM $0. OON: $3 US/CA/PR/USVI; $5 other countries. Plus: first 2 non-PNC ATM transactions reimbursed/statement. TEP/Analysis: $0 PNC fee at non-PNC ATMs (surcharge may remain). | Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic $15 (Plus/TEP: 1 free received domestic wire/month). Outgoing domestic $95. Incoming intl $21. Outgoing intl $135 same-currency / $110 cross-currency. ACH received counts toward item bucket; no separate ACH received fee. | Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | PNC Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | None on BC, Plus, TEP DDA. Non-interest checking. | |
| Savings APY | ||
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at PNC Bank, N.A. | Standard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank |
Features & Access
| Metric | PNC Business Checking | Meow Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~2,300–2,419 branches in 27 states + DC. ~58,000–60,000 PNC + partner ATMs. Night depository at many branches. HQ lobby Fishers-style hours vary by location. | None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails. |
| Mobile app | iOS ~4.8–4.9 (~1.9–2.0M ratings); Google Play ~4.6 (~306k). NerdWallet weighted 4.72 (May 21, 2026). J.D. Power 2025 mobile #2 at 675/1000. | No first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP. |
| Virtual cards | Easy Lock + standard Visa controls. Full virtual-card program not offered as checking feature. | Included — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API |
| Opening deposit | $100 | $0 marketed for core checking |
| Eligibility | Sole prop, partnership, LLC/LLP, corporation, unincorporated association, nonprofit. Holding companies/funds/SPVs not listed — expect enhanced KYC. | Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated. |
Pros & Cons
PNC Business Checking
Pros
- Official all-market fee PDF current (effective 5/31/2026) — rare clarity
- BC monthly fee waives at only $500 average collected — low national-bank bar
- Real cash rails (branch, night drop, Quick Deposit) with free caps to $50,000 on TEP
- TEP packages 4 extra checking accounts, aggregated limits, and $0 QuickBooks Direct Connect
- $400 / $1,000 bonuses through 9/30/2026; business phone line and ~58k ATM network
Cons
- No APY on core checking; Interest Checking rate unpublished and historically ~0.01%
- Outgoing wires $95 domestic / $110–$135 intl at list — among highest in SMB sets
- $36 OD max 4/day; only ≤$5 overdraw refunded
- Combined-item definition broader than checks written — 150 can burn fast on BC
- QuickBooks Direct Connect $15/month unless TEP; FDIC stays $250k
Meow Business Banking
Pros
- Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
- IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
- Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
- Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
- Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend
Cons
- Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
- Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
- No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
- No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
- Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set
Verdict
PNC Business Checking
PNC's SMB checking is a conventional regional-national bank stack from PNC Bank, N.A. (direct FDIC member). Four tiers: BC ($12, 150 items, $5k cash), Plus ($22, 500 items, $10k cash), Analysis ($25 analyzed + ECR), TEP ($50, unlimited items, $50k cash, 4 beneficiary accounts, ECR >$125k). Fee schedule effective 5/31/2026: outgoing domestic wires $95, OD $36, incoming wires $15. No APY on core DDAs. First 3 months fee-free; waivers by collected balance or card/merchant activity. ~2,400 branches in 27 states + DC. $400/$1,000 bonus through 9/30/2026. Strong app; weak site-level CSAT. Poor filter match for wire-heavy, APY-seeking, or out-of-footprint digital-only firms.
Meow Business Banking
Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.