Primis Business Checking
$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint
North One Business Banking
$0 Standard checking + APY if you spend $500 on the debit card; envelopes + integrations; weak cash / no international wires
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Primis Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional on all three digital products | Standard: $0. Plus: $30/month or $300/year. Not balance-waivable. Unpaid Plus cycle → downgrade to Standard. |
| Fee waiver | N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed | N/A on Plus — hard subscription. Standard already $0. |
| Transaction fees | No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits). | No excess-item fees on standard ACH, card, deposits. Flat subscription + listed item fees only. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product. | $0 NSF/overdraft. Insufficient funds → declined/returned. No overdraft protection offered. |
| ATM fees | Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550. | Allpoint: $0 North One fee. OON: $2.50 + operator surcharge. Rebates discretionary (request within 60 days). Standard: marketing 2 OON reimbursements/mo; Plus: up to 6. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped. | Incoming domestic wire $0, unlimited count. Outgoing domestic $20 (Standard) / $15 (Plus). International wires rejected. Standard ACH in/out $0. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Primis Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit. | Standard: 2.50% (rate 2.47%) on first $250,000 ADB. Plus: 3.00% (rate 2.96%) on first $250,000 ADB. Above $250k: 0.00%. |
| Savings APY | Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking. | N/A — Envelopes are designations on same deposit balance, not separate savings APY |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate. | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at The Bancorp Bank, N.A. |
Features & Access
| Metric | Primis Business Checking | North One Business Banking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | 24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only. | No branches. Allpoint ~55,000+ (withdrawal $0). Cash deposit via Green Dot retailers (Walgreens, CVS, Walmart, 7-Eleven). No teller/night drop. |
| Mobile app | Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated. | North One - Business Banking iOS ~4.7 (~2.8k ratings); Android 3.9 (~1.85k reviews). Android login-failure complaints noted. |
| Virtual cards | Not disclosed | Included — team cards, freeze, permissions |
| Opening deposit | $1.00 | $0 marketing / $50 in reviews — confirm in app |
| Eligibility | Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required. | Sole prop, partnership, LP, LLP, LLC, corporation. Nonprofits explicitly excluded. Not for personal/household purposes. |
Pros & Cons
Primis Business Checking
Pros
- Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
- $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
- Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
- Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
- V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)
Cons
- Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
- App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
- Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
- Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
- Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction
North One Business Banking
Pros
- Standard $0 with no min-balance fee and $0 NSF/overdraft (declines instead)
- Checking APY 2.50% / 3.00% on first $250k if $500/mo debit spend — rare among $0 business checking
- Incoming domestic wires $0, unlimited count
- Unlimited Envelopes + QBO and processor connections on both plans
- Same-day ACH and mailed checks $0 on Plus; inbound RTP up to $1M per payment
Cons
- No international wires (rejected)
- Green Dot cash cap $5,000/month; retailer fees after 1–3 reimbursements
- APY 0% above $250k; no extended FDIC sweep
- APY requires $500 monthly card spend — not park-and-earn
- Plus hard $30/$300 subscription; BBB F and freeze/closure complaints; weaker Android ratings
Verdict
Primis Business Checking
Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.
North One Business Banking
North One is a Bancorp-partnered fintech with Standard $0 and Plus $30/$300. Conditional APY 2.50%/3.00% on first $250k requires $500 monthly debit spend. Incoming wires free; outgoing $20/$15; intl wires rejected. Green Dot cash capped $5k/mo. Envelopes and processor rails are differentiators but envelopes are labels not sub-accounts. Hard fails: cash-heavy, intl, nonprofits, non-resident founders, treasury above $250k.