Primis Business Checking

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
FDIC
Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.
Rating
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

Monthly maintenance: $0 unconditional on all three digital products

Fee waiver: N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed

Transaction fees: No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).

Overdraft/NSF: $0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.

ATM fees: Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.

Wire/ACH: Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Cash deposit: Not disclosed as per-$ fee on digital schedule. VA/MD branches and V1BE cash courier (marketed free in footprint). No national Green Dot/Allpoint cash network.

Interest & Yields

Checking APY: Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.

Savings APY: Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.

FDIC coverage: Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Access, Features & Tools

Access

Branch/ATM: 24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.

Mobile app: Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.

Cash deposits: VA/MD branches; V1BE on-demand cash courier (free, same-day ~2 hours, Mid-Atlantic footprint). No national retail cash network.

Features

Invoicing/bill pay: Bill pay included — $99,999 per transaction, no published daily cap. Native invoicing/payment links not disclosed.

Virtual cards: Not disclosed

International: USD domestic bank. Outgoing intl wires $35; FX markup not disclosed. Multi-currency wallets not offered.

Integrations

  • Export/download to QuickBooks, Quicken, Microsoft Money, or CSV

Limits & Requirements

Opening deposit: $1.00

Minimum balance: None advertised. Zero-balance closure after 35 consecutive days (Unlimited packet).

Eligibility: Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Best for: No monthly fee (unconditional) 4.00% business savings APY 1.75% checking APY (Pro) 1% debit cash-back (Unlimited) Real FDIC bank Extended FDIC $2M on savings Incoming wires free Cheap outgoing wires ($5) ATM surcharge rebate V1BE free cash courier (VA/MD)

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • ✗ Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • ✗ App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • ✗ Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • ✗ Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • ✗ Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction
Overall Verdict

Strong Pick (SMB wanting $0 fee + 4% savings or 1.75% checking; modest ACH volume)

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.

8.4
Rating