Rho Business Banking
Startup / growth-stage digital treasury + $0 wires/ACH + sweep FDIC on savings; no cash, no branches
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Rho Business Banking | Chartway Premium Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | $0 unconditional on checking and savings — no paid banking subscription tiers | $10.00/month |
| Fee waiver | N/A — core banking is $0 | Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation. |
| Transaction fees | Unlimited electronic ACH, wires, checks at $0 on published pricing. Savings limited to 6 outbound transfers/month. | Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items. |
| Overdraft/NSF | $0 overdraft fees advertised; overdraft facility not published. NSF/return matrix not fully disclosed. | Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0. |
| ATM fees | Not offered — cards cannot withdraw cash at ATMs; no cash advance | Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed). |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming/outgoing domestic wire: $0. Same-day ACH: $0 before 2pm ET. Incoming intl: $0 Rho-side. Outgoing intl: $0 Rho fee + optional $15 SWIFT + 1% FX via Wise. Returned domestic wire ~$20–$45; recall $30 (conflict with help center 'recalls free'). | Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Rho Business Banking | Chartway Premium Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | 0% — non-interest-bearing DDA. Do not treat card cashback or Treasury yield as checking APY. | Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026) |
| Savings APY | Variable competitive yield — no public rate sheet number; check live rate at rho.co/business-savings. Requires $25,000 average monthly balance or no interest. | Business Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM |
| FDIC coverage | Checking: $250,000 at Webster/Santander. Savings: up to $75M advertised via ADM sweep ($250k per program bank). |
Features & Access
| Metric | Rho Business Banking | Chartway Premium Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | None. No branches, no ATM cash access. | ~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited). |
| Mobile app | G2 4.8 (~121 reviews); iOS ~4.6–4.8 (small n); Android ~3.8 (5 reviews); Trustpilot low-to-mid 3s | Chartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app. |
| Virtual cards | Included — physical + virtual Mastercard with spend controls, merchant locks | Not disclosed |
| Opening deposit | $0 | $100 membership share |
| Eligibility | U.S.-based incorporated businesses — LLC, C-corp, S-corp, nonprofits with EIN. Sole proprietorships NOT eligible per FAQ. EIN required to move money. | Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required. |
Pros & Cons
Rho Business Banking
Pros
- $0 monthly, $0 same-day ACH, $0 domestic wires, $0 mailed checks on published pricing
- Checking at Webster/Santander (Santander U.S. org ~$327B post 8/20/2026 close)
- Savings ADM sweep advertises $75M FDIC per entity via 400+ bank network
- Treasury RIA securities book (T-bills + funds) with dated net-yield grid and $50k minimum
- AP, expenses, invoicing, and QBO/NetSuite/Sage/Xero bundled at $0 per seat with role/approval controls
Cons
- No cash, no ATMs, no branches — requires second bank for cash businesses
- Checking earns 0%; operating cash in checking is a yield leak
- $75M FDIC headline is savings-only; checking capped at $250k Webster
- Treasury 4.60% is VFSTX/$20M+/15bp case — SIPC not FDIC, market risk, 2–3 day liquidity
- Sole props ineligible; strict industry/geo KYC; savings APY not published; 6 savings transfers/month
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Pros
- Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
- $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
- NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
- Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
- Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access
Cons
- 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
- Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
- Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
- $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
- Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint
Verdict
Rho Business Banking
Rho is a fintech (Under Technologies, Inc.) with checking and cards at Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. ($250k FDIC). Rho Savings is a separate ADM sweep to $75M (400+ banks) with $25k average balance gate for interest. Rho Treasury is SIPC securities (T-bills + funds) at $50k min with 15–60 bp wrap. Published banking price is $0 for monthly fee, ACH, same-day ACH, domestic wires, and mailed checks. Differentiator is bundled AP, expenses, invoicing, and ERP integrations at $0 per seat. No cash or ATMs. Checking 0% APY. Fits incorporated cashless startups; not sole props or cash businesses. Re-verify savings APY and Treasury yields quarterly.
Chartway Premium Business Checking
Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.