Head-to-Head

Rho Business Banking

Startup / growth-stage digital treasury + $0 wires/ACH + sweep FDIC on savings; no cash, no branches

VS

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

$0 monthly fee + modest checking APY + unlimited items, online-only, weak cash rails

Monthly Fee
$0 unconditional on checking and savings — no paid banking subscription tiers
$0 unconditional
Checking APY
0% — non-interest-bearing DDA. Do not treat card cashback or Treasury yield as checking APY.
0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%.
Rating
8.7/10
7.9/10

Costs & Fees

MetricRho Business BankingFirst Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Monthly maintenance$0 unconditional on checking and savings — no paid banking subscription tiers$0 unconditional
Fee waiverN/A — core banking is $0N/A — already $0
Transaction feesUnlimited electronic ACH, wires, checks at $0 on published pricing. Savings limited to 6 outbound transfers/month.Unlimited transactions; no per-item fees advertised. Footnote: 'Dollar amount restrictions may apply' — meaning not disclosed.
Overdraft/NSF$0 overdraft fees advertised; overdraft facility not published. NSF/return matrix not fully disclosed.Conflict: marketing says 'no overdraft fees.' Fee schedule lists Returned Item $20 and Uncollected Funds $30 (schedule dated 03/15/2018). Confirm at opening.
ATM feesNot offered — cards cannot withdraw cash at ATMs; no cash advanceBank ATM fee $0. Third-party operator surcharge possible. Up to $10/month reimbursement of third-party ATM surcharges. No branded free network. 2% ISA on intl ATM/debit.
Wire/ACHIncoming/outgoing domestic wire: $0. Same-day ACH: $0 before 2pm ET. Incoming intl: $0 Rho-side. Outgoing intl: $0 Rho fee + optional $15 SWIFT + 1% FX via Wise. Returned domestic wire ~$20–$45; recall $30 (conflict with help center 'recalls free').Incoming domestic: $15. Outgoing domestic: $20. Incoming intl: $15. Outgoing foreign: $50. Standard ACH in/out: not disclosed as fee (treated as free). Business ACH default cap $25,000/day unless raised in writing.

Interest & Yields

MetricRho Business BankingFirst Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Checking APY0% — non-interest-bearing DDA. Do not treat card cashback or Treasury yield as checking APY.0.50% APY variable — requires $10,000 average daily balance to earn interest. Daily Balance method. Below $10k ADB, effectively 0%.
Savings APYVariable competitive yield — no public rate sheet number; check live rate at rho.co/business-savings. Requires $25,000 average monthly balance or no interest.
FDIC coverageChecking: $250,000 at Webster/Santander. Savings: up to $75M advertised via ADM sweep ($250k per program bank).Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at First Internet Bank of Indiana

Features & Access

MetricRho Business BankingFirst Internet Bank Do More Business Checking
Branch/ATM networkNone. No branches, no ATM cash access.No branch network. HQ lobby Fishers, IN only. Any ATM for withdrawal — bank $0, up to $10/month surcharge rebate. No ATM cash deposit advertised.
Mobile appG2 4.8 (~121 reviews); iOS ~4.6–4.8 (small n); Android ~3.8 (5 reviews); Trustpilot low-to-mid 3siOS 4.3/5 (~265 ratings); Google Play ~4.1–4.2 (~115–116 reviews)
Virtual cardsIncluded — physical + virtual Mastercard with spend controls, merchant locksNot disclosed for this checking tier
Opening deposit$0$100 conservative (official page silent; secondary sources split $0 vs $100)
EligibilityU.S.-based incorporated businesses — LLC, C-corp, S-corp, nonprofits with EIN. Sole proprietorships NOT eligible per FAQ. EIN required to move money.U.S.-based businesses; owner at least 18. Structures not fully published — NerdWallet cites sole prop, LLC, corp with EIN or SSN and formation docs.

Pros & Cons

Rho Business Banking

Pros

  • $0 monthly, $0 same-day ACH, $0 domestic wires, $0 mailed checks on published pricing
  • Checking at Webster/Santander (Santander U.S. org ~$327B post 8/20/2026 close)
  • Savings ADM sweep advertises $75M FDIC per entity via 400+ bank network
  • Treasury RIA securities book (T-bills + funds) with dated net-yield grid and $50k minimum
  • AP, expenses, invoicing, and QBO/NetSuite/Sage/Xero bundled at $0 per seat with role/approval controls

Cons

  • No cash, no ATMs, no branches — requires second bank for cash businesses
  • Checking earns 0%; operating cash in checking is a yield leak
  • $75M FDIC headline is savings-only; checking capped at $250k Webster
  • Treasury 4.60% is VFSTX/$20M+/15bp case — SIPC not FDIC, market risk, 2–3 day liquidity
  • Sole props ineligible; strict industry/geo KYC; savings APY not published; 6 savings transfers/month

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

Pros

  • $0 monthly maintenance, $0 stated per-item fees, unlimited transactions (2026 FAQ)
  • 0.50% APY on checking at $10k ADB — uncommon among free business checking (rate 6/16/2026)
  • Balance Optimizer sweeps idle cash to First IB MMA at 2.94% / 3.64% without third-party sweep
  • Phone support into evening and Saturday; Zelle for Business and account aggregation included
  • Direct FDIC member bank (cert. 34607) — not a fintech/partner stack

Cons

  • No usable cash-deposit system
  • Incoming wires $15 even domestic — recurring cost for wire-paid businesses
  • Checking APY modest and gated at $10,000 ADB; below that, yield effectively zero
  • Standard FDIC $250k only; no advertised excess-insurance network
  • Stale 2018 fee schedule vs 'no overdraft fees' marketing; check holds up to 7–9 business days

Verdict

Rho Business Banking

Rho is a fintech (Under Technologies, Inc.) with checking and cards at Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. ($250k FDIC). Rho Savings is a separate ADM sweep to $75M (400+ banks) with $25k average balance gate for interest. Rho Treasury is SIPC securities (T-bills + funds) at $50k min with 15–60 bp wrap. Published banking price is $0 for monthly fee, ACH, same-day ACH, domestic wires, and mailed checks. Differentiator is bundled AP, expenses, invoicing, and ERP integrations at $0 per seat. No cash or ATMs. Checking 0% APY. Fits incorporated cashless startups; not sole props or cash businesses. Re-verify savings APY and Treasury yields quarterly.

First Internet Bank Do More Business Checking

Do More Business™ Checking is First Internet Bank of Indiana's single-tier online SMB checking. Direct FDIC member (cert. 34607). $0 maintenance, unlimited items, no cash network. 0.50% APY requires $10k ADB (rate 6/16/2026). Balance Optimizer sweeps to internal MMA (2.94%/3.64%). Costs: $15 incoming wires, $20 outgoing domestic, $50 outgoing foreign, $10/month ATM rebate cap, $3 paper statements, $5/month dormant. Funds availability can hold checks 7–9 days. Strong phone hours and Zelle; weak for cash, incoming wires, and balances above $250k FDIC.