Head-to-Head

U.S. Bank Business Checking

Branch + cash deposits + $0 entry checking; fee-heavy wires/ACH; weak checking APY

VS

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB

Monthly Fee
Essentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0
$10.00/month
Checking APY
Essentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY.
Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Rating
7.8/10
7.7/10

Costs & Fees

MetricU.S. Bank Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceEssentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0$10.00/month
Fee waiverGold: Payment Solutions OR $10k avg collected OR $20k combined business deposits OR $50k deposits+credit (interest Gold: $25k/$50k/$75k). Platinum: Payment Solutions OR $25k collected OR $75k deposits+credit. Premium: offset via earnings credit.Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation.
Transaction feesEssentials: unlimited digital items; 25 teller/paper free/cycle then $0.50. Gold: 350 items then $0.45. Platinum: 550 then $0.40. Nonprofit: 1,800/year then $0.50 (billed January). Cash is separate unit fee.Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items.
Overdraft/NSFOverdraft Paid $0 if item ≤$5; $36 if ≥$5.01. Max 3 OD paid fees/day. Redeposited item $10.Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0.
ATM feesUSB/partner-logo ATM $0. Non-USB $3.00 per ATM transaction. MoneyPass surcharge refundable on request. Cash deposit at USB ATMs only.Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed).
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic $14 Fedwire / $16 CTP / $7 internal. Outgoing digital domestic $30; branch $40. Incoming intl $20. Outgoing intl digital USD $45 / FX $75. ACH outgoing $1 standard / $3 same-day. Enhanced Payments ($25/mo): ACH $0.50, same-day $1.70, instant $0.75, domestic wire $16, intl USD $35.Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF.

Interest & Yields

MetricU.S. Bank Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Checking APYEssentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY.Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Savings APYBusiness Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at U.S. Bank N.A.

Features & Access

MetricU.S. Bank Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~2,066 branches in 26+ states. ~4,458 U.S. Bank ATMs. MoneyPass network (surcharge refundable on request). Cash deposit at USB ATMs and branches; not at non-USB ATMs.~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited).
Mobile appiOS 4.8 (~2.1M ratings); Google Play 4.7 (~492k–500k). Javelin 2026 Mobile Banking Scorecard #1 among large banks.Chartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app.
Virtual cardsNot a documented default of these DDA packagesNot disclosed
Opening deposit$25$100 membership share
EligibilitySole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, nonprofit (dedicated SKU). Holding company/fund/SPV not published — expect manual KYC.Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required.

Pros & Cons

U.S. Bank Business Checking

Pros

  • Essentials: unconditional $0 monthly at a top-10 bank with unlimited digital items
  • Official fee PDFs public (May 11, 2026 BPI; Aug 10, 2026 BEP)
  • Branch + ~4,500 USB ATMs + MoneyPass surcharge refund path
  • Gold/Platinum waive via merchant or collected balances; cash units to 125/250
  • Essentials bundles $0-software Elavon acceptance + free first reader; Nonprofit $0 with 1,800 items/year

Cons

  • Outgoing ACH $1 and domestic wires $30–$50 on default menu
  • Essentials free cash only 25 units (~$2,500); excess $0.35/$100
  • Checking APY none or ~0.01%; idle cash must leave operating DDA
  • Overdraft paid $36 up to 3/day; paper statements default on Essentials ($6.50)
  • FDIC $250k only; no public ICS

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Pros

  • Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
  • $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
  • NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
  • Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
  • Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access

Cons

  • 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
  • Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
  • Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
  • $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
  • Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint

Verdict

U.S. Bank Business Checking

U.S. Bank's SMB checking: Essentials ($0, unlimited digital, 25 teller/paper, 25 cash units), Gold ($20, 350 items, 125 cash), Platinum ($30, 550 items, 250 cash), Premium ($34 analyzed + ECR), Nonprofit ($0, 1,800 items/year). Deposits at U.S. Bank N.A., FDIC $250k. Fee PDFs May 11 and Aug 10, 2026. Expensive internals: ACH out $1, wires $30–$75, non-USB ATM $3, OD $36. Enhanced Payments $25/mo cuts unit prices. No core checking APY. $400/$1,200 bonus through Sep 27, 2026. Strong app; wire/ACH-heavy ops should compare against fintech DDAs.

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.