Head-to-Head

U.S. Bank Business Checking

Branch + cash deposits + $0 entry checking; fee-heavy wires/ACH; weak checking APY

VS

Meow Business Banking

Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank

Monthly Fee
Essentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0
Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Checking APY
Essentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY.
Rating
7.8/10
8.5/10

Costs & Fees

MetricU.S. Bank Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Monthly maintenanceEssentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Fee waiverGold: Payment Solutions OR $10k avg collected OR $20k combined business deposits OR $50k deposits+credit (interest Gold: $25k/$50k/$75k). Platinum: Payment Solutions OR $25k collected OR $75k deposits+credit. Premium: offset via earnings credit.N/A — no published maintenance fee to waive
Transaction feesEssentials: unlimited digital items; 25 teller/paper free/cycle then $0.50. Gold: 350 items then $0.45. Platinum: 550 then $0.40. Nonprofit: 1,800/year then $0.50 (billed January). Cash is separate unit fee.No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits.
Overdraft/NSFOverdraft Paid $0 if item ≤$5; $36 if ≥$5.01. Max 3 OD paid fees/day. Redeposited item $10.CRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed.
ATM feesUSB/partner-logo ATM $0. Non-USB $3.00 per ATM transaction. MoneyPass surcharge refundable on request. Cash deposit at USB ATMs only.Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic $14 Fedwire / $16 CTP / $7 internal. Outgoing digital domestic $30; branch $40. Incoming intl $20. Outgoing intl digital USD $45 / FX $75. ACH outgoing $1 standard / $3 same-day. Enhanced Payments ($25/mo): ACH $0.50, same-day $1.70, instant $0.75, domestic wire $16, intl USD $35.Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0.

Interest & Yields

MetricU.S. Bank Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Checking APYEssentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY.
Savings APY
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at U.S. Bank N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank

Features & Access

MetricU.S. Bank Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Branch/ATM network~2,066 branches in 26+ states. ~4,458 U.S. Bank ATMs. MoneyPass network (surcharge refundable on request). Cash deposit at USB ATMs and branches; not at non-USB ATMs.None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails.
Mobile appiOS 4.8 (~2.1M ratings); Google Play 4.7 (~492k–500k). Javelin 2026 Mobile Banking Scorecard #1 among large banks.No first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP.
Virtual cardsNot a documented default of these DDA packagesIncluded — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API
Opening deposit$25$0 marketed for core checking
EligibilitySole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, nonprofit (dedicated SKU). Holding company/fund/SPV not published — expect manual KYC.Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated.

Pros & Cons

U.S. Bank Business Checking

Pros

  • Essentials: unconditional $0 monthly at a top-10 bank with unlimited digital items
  • Official fee PDFs public (May 11, 2026 BPI; Aug 10, 2026 BEP)
  • Branch + ~4,500 USB ATMs + MoneyPass surcharge refund path
  • Gold/Platinum waive via merchant or collected balances; cash units to 125/250
  • Essentials bundles $0-software Elavon acceptance + free first reader; Nonprofit $0 with 1,800 items/year

Cons

  • Outgoing ACH $1 and domestic wires $30–$50 on default menu
  • Essentials free cash only 25 units (~$2,500); excess $0.35/$100
  • Checking APY none or ~0.01%; idle cash must leave operating DDA
  • Overdraft paid $36 up to 3/day; paper statements default on Essentials ($6.50)
  • FDIC $250k only; no public ICS

Meow Business Banking

Pros

  • Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
  • IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
  • Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
  • Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
  • Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend

Cons

  • Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
  • Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
  • No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
  • No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
  • Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set

Verdict

U.S. Bank Business Checking

U.S. Bank's SMB checking: Essentials ($0, unlimited digital, 25 teller/paper, 25 cash units), Gold ($20, 350 items, 125 cash), Platinum ($30, 550 items, 250 cash), Premium ($34 analyzed + ECR), Nonprofit ($0, 1,800 items/year). Deposits at U.S. Bank N.A., FDIC $250k. Fee PDFs May 11 and Aug 10, 2026. Expensive internals: ACH out $1, wires $30–$75, non-USB ATM $3, OD $36. Enhanced Payments $25/mo cuts unit prices. No core checking APY. $400/$1,200 bonus through Sep 27, 2026. Strong app; wire/ACH-heavy ops should compare against fintech DDAs.

Meow Business Banking

Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.