U.S. Bank Business Checking
Branch + cash deposits + $0 entry checking; fee-heavy wires/ACH; weak checking APY
Primis Business Checking
$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint
Costs & Fees
| Metric | U.S. Bank Business Checking | Primis Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | Essentials $0 unconditional; Gold $20; Platinum $30; Premium $34; Nonprofit $0 | $0 unconditional on all three digital products |
| Fee waiver | Gold: Payment Solutions OR $10k avg collected OR $20k combined business deposits OR $50k deposits+credit (interest Gold: $25k/$50k/$75k). Platinum: Payment Solutions OR $25k collected OR $75k deposits+credit. Premium: offset via earnings credit. | N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed |
| Transaction fees | Essentials: unlimited digital items; 25 teller/paper free/cycle then $0.50. Gold: 350 items then $0.45. Platinum: 550 then $0.40. Nonprofit: 1,800/year then $0.50 (billed January). Cash is separate unit fee. | No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits). |
| Overdraft/NSF | Overdraft Paid $0 if item ≤$5; $36 if ≥$5.01. Max 3 OD paid fees/day. Redeposited item $10. | $0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product. |
| ATM fees | USB/partner-logo ATM $0. Non-USB $3.00 per ATM transaction. MoneyPass surcharge refundable on request. Cash deposit at USB ATMs only. | Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic $14 Fedwire / $16 CTP / $7 internal. Outgoing digital domestic $30; branch $40. Incoming intl $20. Outgoing intl digital USD $45 / FX $75. ACH outgoing $1 standard / $3 same-day. Enhanced Payments ($25/mo): ACH $0.50, same-day $1.70, instant $0.75, domestic wire $16, intl USD $35. | Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | U.S. Bank Business Checking | Primis Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | Essentials and Platinum: none (non-interest). Gold with Interest and Nonprofit: variable ~0.01% APY in aggregators; official rate ZIP-dependent. Premium: ECR not APY. | Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit. |
| Savings APY | Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking. | |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at U.S. Bank N.A. | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate. |
Features & Access
| Metric | U.S. Bank Business Checking | Primis Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~2,066 branches in 26+ states. ~4,458 U.S. Bank ATMs. MoneyPass network (surcharge refundable on request). Cash deposit at USB ATMs and branches; not at non-USB ATMs. | 24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only. |
| Mobile app | iOS 4.8 (~2.1M ratings); Google Play 4.7 (~492k–500k). Javelin 2026 Mobile Banking Scorecard #1 among large banks. | Primis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated. |
| Virtual cards | Not a documented default of these DDA packages | Not disclosed |
| Opening deposit | $25 | $1.00 |
| Eligibility | Sole prop, LLC, corp, partnership, nonprofit (dedicated SKU). Holding company/fund/SPV not published — expect manual KYC. | Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required. |
Pros & Cons
U.S. Bank Business Checking
Pros
- Essentials: unconditional $0 monthly at a top-10 bank with unlimited digital items
- Official fee PDFs public (May 11, 2026 BPI; Aug 10, 2026 BEP)
- Branch + ~4,500 USB ATMs + MoneyPass surcharge refund path
- Gold/Platinum waive via merchant or collected balances; cash units to 125/250
- Essentials bundles $0-software Elavon acceptance + free first reader; Nonprofit $0 with 1,800 items/year
Cons
- Outgoing ACH $1 and domestic wires $30–$50 on default menu
- Essentials free cash only 25 units (~$2,500); excess $0.35/$100
- Checking APY none or ~0.01%; idle cash must leave operating DDA
- Overdraft paid $36 up to 3/day; paper statements default on Essentials ($6.50)
- FDIC $250k only; no public ICS
Primis Business Checking
Pros
- Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
- $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
- Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
- Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
- V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)
Cons
- Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
- App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
- Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
- Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
- Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction
Verdict
U.S. Bank Business Checking
U.S. Bank's SMB checking: Essentials ($0, unlimited digital, 25 teller/paper, 25 cash units), Gold ($20, 350 items, 125 cash), Platinum ($30, 550 items, 250 cash), Premium ($34 analyzed + ECR), Nonprofit ($0, 1,800 items/year). Deposits at U.S. Bank N.A., FDIC $250k. Fee PDFs May 11 and Aug 10, 2026. Expensive internals: ACH out $1, wires $30–$75, non-USB ATM $3, OD $36. Enhanced Payments $25/mo cuts unit prices. No core checking APY. $400/$1,200 bonus through Sep 27, 2026. Strong app; wire/ACH-heavy ops should compare against fintech DDAs.
Primis Business Checking
Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.