Head-to-Head

Wells Fargo Business Checking

National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks

VS

Axos Bank Business Checking

Basic = $0 monthly + unlimited items + unlimited domestic ATM rebates. Interest = waivable $10 + declining-tier APY.

Monthly Fee
Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)
Basic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000
Checking APY
Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
Basic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+
Rating
7.7/10
8.1/10

Costs & Fees

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingAxos Bank Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceInitiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)Basic: $0 unconditional. Interest: $10/mo waived if average daily balance ≥ $5,000
Fee waiverInitiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts.Interest Checking only — $5,000 ADB waives $10 monthly fee. Basic has no monthly fee.
Transaction feesInitiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count.Basic: unlimited items (debits, credits, deposited items). Interest: 100 free items/month then $0.50 each. RDA deposits count as 2 items; 60 RDA items/month cap on both.
Overdraft/NSF$35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit.NSF paid or returned item $25 (max $75/day); no fee if negative balance less than NSF fee. Returned deposited item $10. Linked-account OD transfer free.
ATM feesWF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period.Axos charge $0. Unlimited domestic third-party ATM surcharge reimbursements on both products. International ATM surcharges not reimbursed.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch.Incoming domestic + international: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15. Basic reimburses 2 outgoing domestic wires/month. Outgoing international: $50. Online/automated transfers free. ACH origination is treasury add-on.

Interest & Yields

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingAxos Bank Business Checking
Checking APYInitiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.Basic: none. Interest: tiered variable — 1.01% ($0–$49,999.99), 0.20% ($50k–$249,999.99), 0.10% ($250k–$4,999,999.99), contact RM at $5M+
Savings APYBusiness Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize)Business Premium Savings advertised up to 3.60% APY as of 9/2/2026 — separate product, not checking APY
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Axos Bank (Cert 35546)

Features & Access

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingAxos Bank Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others).No SMB retail branches. Any U.S. ATM with unlimited domestic surcharge rebates (~90,000+ network cited). Cash deposits at deposit-taking Allpoint+/MoneyPass ATMs only.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer appiOS ~4.7; Android ~4.6 (~10.1K reviews); NerdWallet weighted ~4.52 (Feb 2026)
Virtual cardsDebit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosedStandard Visa debit only; virtual employee cards not disclosed
Opening deposit$25Basic: none. Interest: $100
EligibilitySole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN.U.S. companies only — sole prop, GP, LLC, LP/LLP, C-corp, nonprofit corp, association/HOA. U.S. resident signer with SSN and physical business address required.

Pros & Cons

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Pros

  • Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
  • Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
  • Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
  • Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
  • Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open

Cons

  • Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
  • 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
  • Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
  • Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
  • SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Axos Bank Business Checking

Pros

  • Basic: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited item processing (Agreement 07/2025)
  • Unlimited domestic ATM surcharge rebates on both products
  • Incoming domestic and international wires $0 on fee schedule
  • Basic reimburses two outgoing domestic wire fees per month
  • Interest Checking publishes dated deposit APY (1.01% as of 9/2/2026) with no spend gate; IntraFi ICS to $265MM

Cons

  • No branches; cash is ATM/retail-constrained with possible retailer fees
  • Interest Checking: $0.50/item after 100 plus 60-item RDA cap; APY falls sharply above $50k
  • RDA availability can be five business days by contract
  • Business support weekday-only; reviews cluster on holds, portal bugs, slow ops
  • Outbound international wires $50 + undisclosed FX; no multi-currency; weak native multi-user

Verdict

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.

Axos Bank Business Checking

Axos Bank offers two online SMB checking accounts at a direct FDIC member bank (Cert 35546). Basic Business Checking is structurally cheap: $0 monthly, $0 open, unlimited items, free incoming wires, and two reimbursed outgoing domestic wires — ideal for digital SMBs. Business Interest Checking adds tiered APY (1.01% below $50k as of 9/2/2026) but charges $10 unless $5k ADB and meters items after 100. Both cap mobile deposits at 60 items with up to 5th-business-day availability. IntraFi ICS to $265MM helps large balances but checking APY collapses above $50k. Weak on branches, cash, multi-user, and 24/7 support. Price Interest against the $50k APY cliff and item cap.