Head-to-Head

Wells Fargo Business Checking

National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks

VS

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Credit-union business checking with tiered dividends up to 4.00% APY and a $10 fee waived at $2,500 ADB

Monthly Fee
Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)
$10.00/month
Checking APY
Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Rating
7.7/10
7.7/10

Costs & Fees

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceInitiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)$10.00/month
Fee waiverInitiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts.Waived if average daily balance of $2,500 maintained during the month. Product page also markets 'No Minimum Balance' for ongoing operation.
Transaction feesInitiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count.Hybrid limited analysis — not classic earnings-credit. No published excess fees for ACH batches, teller visits, checks written, or electronic items.
Overdraft/NSF$35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit.Overdraft Privilege $30/transaction (can cover up to $750 per fee schedule; ODP brochure cited $500 — conflict). NSF/returned item $30. Returned deposited item $20. Opt-in required. OD transfer from linked savings/MM $0.
ATM feesWF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period.Chartway-owned / CO-OP Network $0 Chartway fee. Out of Chartway-owned and out of CO-OP: $1 inquiry + $1 transaction (owner surcharge extra; no rebate disclosed).
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch.Outgoing domestic wire $25. Incoming domestic, incoming/outgoing international, ACH origination per-item/monthly fees not disclosed on business fee PDF.

Interest & Yields

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Checking APYInitiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.Tiered variable share dividends — progressive bands by balance (site Sep 2026)
Savings APYBusiness Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize)Business Money Market Plus separate — relationship APYs 1.25% ($10k) to 4.00% ($1M+) plus 1.00% relationship bonus with business checking and ≥$10k ADB in MM
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Features & Access

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingChartway Premium Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others).~33–42 branches in VA/NC, Utah, Houston TX (2025 snapshot). CO-OP Network ~37k–50k surcharge-free ATMs plus Chartway-owned. Direct Teller ITMs expanding (~50 path cited).
Mobile appiOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer appChartway Mobile Banking iOS 4.5/5 (5.7K ratings); Android 4.2/5 (~2.7–2.8K reviews). General app, not separate business treasury app.
Virtual cardsDebit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosedNot disclosed
Opening deposit$25$100 membership share
EligibilitySole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN.Sole prop, GP/LP, LLC (SMLLC may use SSN), corporation (incl. incorporated nonprofit), unincorporated association/club. Beneficial ownership required.

Pros & Cons

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Pros

  • Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
  • Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
  • Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
  • Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
  • Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open

Cons

  • Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
  • 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
  • Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
  • Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
  • SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Pros

  • Official tiered checking APY up to 4.00% with no spend or direct-deposit gate (site Sep 2026)
  • $10 monthly fee waived at relatively low $2,500 ADB
  • NCUSIF insurance at federally chartered CU — not fintech/partner-bank stack
  • Cash management (ACH origination + online wires) explicitly tied to Premium tier
  • Loan origination and rate discounts for Premium holders; CO-OP ATM + shared-branch access

Cons

  • 4% APY only at $500k+ — most SMBs earn 0.50–2.50% on lower bands
  • Business fee PDF omits incoming, international, ACH origination, FX, and card replace prices
  • Analysis fees on cash above $10k in+out and deposited checks above 250/month
  • $250k NCUSIF only — no extended-insurance sweep for large balances
  • Shared debit card number across authorized users; regional membership and branch footprint

Verdict

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.

Chartway Premium Business Checking

Chartway FCU Premium Business Checking is NCUSIF-insured share checking with $10/mo (waived at $2,500 ADB), $100 membership share, tiered APY to 4.00% at $500k+, and limited analysis on excess checks/cash. Outgoing domestic wires $25; many wire/ACH prices undisclosed. Treasury Management requires this tier. No ICS sweep above $250k NCUSIF. Strong for regional CU relationship and high-balance yield; weak for national digital-first SMBs and thin multi-user controls.