Head-to-Head

Wells Fargo Business Checking

National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks

VS

Found Business Banking

$0 monthly fee + built-in taxes/bookkeeping for self-employed; APY only on paid plans or card-spend bonus

Monthly Fee
Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)
Found Free $0. Optional Plus $35/mo or $315/yr; Pro $80/mo or $720/yr. No balance waiver required.
Checking APY
Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
Free: 0% ongoing. Yield is monthly Balance bonus labeled APY — variable, paid 1st of following month.
Rating
7.7/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingFound Business Banking
Monthly maintenanceInitiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)Found Free $0. Optional Plus $35/mo or $315/yr; Pro $80/mo or $720/yr. No balance waiver required.
Fee waiverInitiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts.N/A — Free tier has $0 maintenance; Plus/Pro are optional subscriptions
Transaction feesInitiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count.No excess-item or per-count fees on ACH, deposited checks, or electronic items. Unlimited standard ACH in/out.
Overdraft/NSF$35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit.No overdraft fees. Account not designed to overdraft; negative balance from merchant adjustments or ACH timing risks closure.
ATM feesWF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period.Found does not add ATM fee. Operator surcharge possible. No surcharge rebate. No branded free network.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch.Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $15 (Free/Plus), $10 (Pro). Incoming intl USD: $0 (SWIFT LEADUS49). Outgoing intl: not disclosed/not offered. Standard ACH in/out: $0 unlimited.

Interest & Yields

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingFound Business Banking
Checking APYInitiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.Free: 0% ongoing. Yield is monthly Balance bonus labeled APY — variable, paid 1st of following month.
Savings APYBusiness Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize)N/A — Pockets are sub-accounts in same checking; same yield rules apply
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.FDIC pass-through via Lead Bank — $250,000 per depositor per ownership category

Features & Access

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingFound Business Banking
Branch/ATM network~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others).No branches. Any Mastercard ATM for withdrawal — Found $0, no rebate. ATM cash-out $550/day new, $1,550/day established. No ATM cash deposit.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer appiOS Found: Business Banking ~4.8 (~26k–34k ratings); Google Play ~4.7 (~16k–18.5k reviews)
Virtual cardsDebit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosedVirtual + team cards with spend limits; lock/delete virtual cards
Opening deposit$25$0
EligibilitySole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN.Sole prop, single/multi-member LLC, C-Corp, S-Corp, partnership. Nonprofits can use banking/invoicing (tax tools poor fit). Up to 4 additional beneficial owners plus primary.

Pros & Cons

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Pros

  • Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
  • Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
  • Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
  • Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
  • Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open

Cons

  • Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
  • 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
  • Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
  • Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
  • SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Found Business Banking

Pros

  • $0 maintenance, $0 min balance, $0 overdraft fee, unlimited standard ACH (Jul 13, 2026 schedule)
  • Native tax Pocket, estimates, write-offs, invoicing, and 1099 contractor tools on Free
  • Pockets with dedicated account numbers; up to 5 businesses per login
  • Incoming domestic + USD international wires at $0 from Found; SWIFT LEADUS49
  • Optional 2.50% APY no cap on Pro; 1% card cash-back on Pro; strong app-store ratings

Cons

  • Found is not a bank; pass-through FDIC $250,000 at Lead Bank only
  • Cash ($2/deposit after 1 free/month) and mobile-check caps low for cash businesses
  • Free APY is $0 or spend-gated bonus; Plus yield capped at $20k and can be eaten by subscription
  • No surcharge-free ATM network; no ATM cash deposit
  • Patterned freeze/hold complaints; outgoing FX wires, checkbooks, ICS, and W-2 payroll absent

Verdict

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.

Found Business Banking

Found is an online business checking platform from Indie Technologies with deposits at Lead Bank (FDIC Cert. 8283). Three tiers share same rails: Free ($0), Plus ($35/mo), Pro ($80/mo). Jul 13, 2026 schedule: $0 maintenance, $0 overdraft, unlimited free ACH. Costs on wires ($10–$15), mailed checks ($1, free Pro), Instant/Express payouts, cash ($2 after 1 free/month), dormancy ($10/12 mo). Yield: Free 0% or 2% card-spend bonus; Plus 1.50% on first $20k; Pro 2.50% no cap + 1% card cash-back. Differentiator is built-in tax Pocket, Schedule C books, invoicing, and contractor 1099s. Cash capped $2k/week and $4k/month at retail. $250k FDIC only. Strong app UX; freeze/support complaints are operational risk.