Head-to-Head

Wells Fargo Business Checking

National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks

VS

Meow Business Banking

Treasury + high coverage + free wires for startups/funds; not a cash or branch bank

Monthly Fee
Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)
Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Checking APY
Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
Rating
7.7/10
8.5/10

Costs & Fees

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Monthly maintenanceInitiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)Marketed $0. CRB published fee schedule: no fees currently imposed (reserves right to add with notice).
Fee waiverInitiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts.N/A — no published maintenance fee to waive
Transaction feesInitiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count.No published excess-item grid. Marketed unlimited free wires/ACH/checks. ToS: discretionary daily/weekly/monthly payment limits.
Overdraft/NSF$35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit.CRB DAA contemplates NSF/overdraft per fee schedule; current schedule lists no fees imposed. Amounts not disclosed.
ATM feesWF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period.Not disclosed — no ATM network advertised
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch.Incoming/outgoing domestic wires marketed $0. Incoming/outgoing international wire bank fee marketed $0 (FX separate via Airwallex 0.16%–1.00% margin). ACH marketed $0.

Interest & Yields

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Checking APYInitiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
Savings APYBusiness Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize)
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 SMDIA per depositor per ownership category at partner bank

Features & Access

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingMeow Business Banking
Branch/ATM network~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others).None. Partner banks not offered as walk-in network. No ATM network or cash rails.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer appNo first-party mobile app by design (blog May 2026). Web dashboard + API + MCP.
Virtual cardsDebit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosedIncluded — unlimited virtual/physical, merchant lock, category limits, API
Opening deposit$25$0 marketed for core checking
EligibilitySole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN.Business entities; commercial use only; no consumers. Startups, funds, real estate, crypto-native marketed. Nonprofit/SPV not enumerated.

Pros & Cons

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Pros

  • Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
  • Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
  • Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
  • Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
  • Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open

Cons

  • Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
  • 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
  • Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
  • Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
  • SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Meow Business Banking

Pros

  • Marketed $0 monthly, domestic/international wires, ACH, and checks (CRB schedule currently $0)
  • IntraFi sweep advertised up to $125M–$200M at partner banks
  • Treasury stack: T-bills at 1 bp/month marketing; Commercial Paper 3.56%–3.80% net (09/02/2026)
  • Multi-entity dashboard, payment approvals, public API + MCP, USDC/USDT rails
  • Virtual/physical cards with controls; 2.5% rewards on Anthropic/OpenAI spend

Cons

  • Meow is not a bank; partner banks have rotated (FirstBank/OMB/Third Coast/CRB/Grasshopper)
  • Checking APY tiered and partner-specific (Grasshopper 0.50%/3.02%); CRB may be 0% + rewards; not CP headline rate
  • No cash, no branches, no official mobile app
  • No complete public fee PDF; insurance max and eligibility language conflict across pages
  • Thin reviews (Trustpilot 3.6/16); closures and holds in complaint set

Verdict

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.

Meow Business Banking

Meow Technologies is a fintech with checking at Cross River and Grasshopper. Marketed $0 monthly/wires/ACH/checks; CRB schedule currently $0 but incomplete public fee book. Grasshopper checking APY 0.50% to $100k and 3.02% above — not Commercial Paper 3.56–3.80%. IntraFi up to $125M–$200M advertised. No cash, no mobile app. API, stablecoins, and treasury are differentiators; partner rotation and disclosure gaps require diligence.