Wells Fargo Business Checking
National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks
nbkc Business Checking
$0 monthly fee + unlimited cash deposits at partner ATMs; bank (not fintech)
Costs & Fees
| Metric | Wells Fargo Business Checking | nbkc Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance | Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional) | $0 unconditional |
| Fee waiver | Initiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts. | N/A — already $0; no balance or activity hoops |
| Transaction fees | Initiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count. | Unlimited — no per-item, per-check, or excess transaction fees on published schedule |
| Overdraft/NSF | $35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit. | $0 Overdraft, Returned Item, Insufficient Funds. Bank not obligated to pay overdrafts. No published OD protection program. |
| ATM fees | WF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period. | $0 at nbkc, MoneyPass, and Allpoint ATMs. Out-of-network operator surcharge possible; auto rebate up to $12/month. |
| Wire/ACH | Incoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch. | Incoming domestic: $0. Outgoing domestic: $5/wire (online, cutoff 3:30 PM CT). Incoming international: $45. Outgoing international: $45 (cutoff 2:00 PM CT). Incoming ACH: $0. Originating ACH credits/debits: $15/mo or $150/yr add-on. |
Interest & Yields
| Metric | Wells Fargo Business Checking | nbkc Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Checking APY | Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY. | None — non-interest-bearing by design |
| Savings APY | Business Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize) | Business Money Market: 2.75% APY on all balances from $0.01; $0 monthly fee (as of 2026-09-02). Separate account, not checking APY. |
| FDIC coverage | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. | Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at nbkc bank |
Features & Access
| Metric | Wells Fargo Business Checking | nbkc Business Checking |
|---|---|---|
| Branch/ATM network | ~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others). | 4 branches (KC metro only). MoneyPass + Allpoint + nbkc ATMs — 90,000+ marketed globally. Cash deposit at deposit-enabled partner ATMs. |
| Mobile app | iOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer app | iOS ~4.4–4.5; Android ~4.2 (~700 reviews) |
| Virtual cards | Debit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosed | Not disclosed; multiple physical debit cards allowed |
| Opening deposit | $25 | $0 |
| Eligibility | Sole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN. | U.S.-located/registered entities — corp, LLC, partnership, DBA, sole prop (SSN), nonprofit. Controlling person needs SSN. Foreign businesses not accepted. |
Pros & Cons
Wells Fargo Business Checking
Pros
- Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
- Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
- Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
- Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
- Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open
Cons
- Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
- 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
- Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
- Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
- SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep
nbkc Business Checking
Pros
- $0 monthly, $0 min, $0 OD/NSF/stop/returned-item on Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule
- Unlimited fee-free cash deposits at eligible MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs — rare among online business checking
- $0 incoming domestic wires and $5 outbound domestic — cheap vs big-bank business checking
- Direct FDIC member bank (Cert #35014), not fintech + partner-bank stack
- $12/mo out-of-network ATM rebate plus 90,000+ ATM network; optional Business MMA at 2.75% APY
Cons
- Checking earns 0% APY — yield requires separate Business Money Market account
- Originated ACH ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), and positive pay ($5/mo) are paid add-ons
- Only 4 branches, all Kansas City metro; no weekend lobby
- International wires $45 in and out; standard $250k FDIC only
- Weekday 7–6 CT support; new-account and ATM-cash holds are operational drag
Verdict
Wells Fargo Business Checking
Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.
nbkc Business Checking
nbkc Business Account is a single-tier, non-interest-bearing checking at nbkc bank (FDIC #35014) — a real Kansas-chartered bank, not a BaaS fintech. The Nov 15, 2024 fee schedule prices monthly service, OD, NSF, stop payment, and inactivity at $0 with $0 to open. Standout features are unlimited $0 cash deposits at deposit-enabled MoneyPass/Allpoint ATMs, unlimited items, $0 incoming domestic wires, and $5 outbound domestic. Checking yields 0%; park idle cash in Business MMA at 2.75% APY (Sep 2, 2026). Costs appear only for add-ons: ACH origination ($15/mo), scanner RDC ($15/mo), positive pay ($5/mo), Autobooks ($10/mo). Best for cost-conscious and cash-heavy operators who accept weekday support, 4 KC branches, and standard $250k FDIC.