Head-to-Head

Wells Fargo Business Checking

National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks

VS

Primis Business Checking

$0 monthly + $1 open; pick 1% debit cash-back or 1.75% checking APY, plus 4.00% business savings — online nationwide, cash only in VA/MD footprint

Monthly Fee
Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)
$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Checking APY
Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Rating
7.7/10
8.4/10

Costs & Fees

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Monthly maintenanceInitiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)$0 unconditional on all three digital products
Fee waiverInitiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts.N/A — already $0; no balance or activity waiver needed
Transaction feesInitiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count.No per-item fees on digital line. Marketing 'unlimited transactions'; operational channel caps on ACH/wires/ATM apply (see limits).
Overdraft/NSF$35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit.$0 NSF; $0 overdraft item; $0 return deposited item. Not an invitation to overdraw; bank may return items. OD protection not disclosed as priced product.
ATM feesWF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period.Primis ATM $0. Any U.S. ATM — no Primis fee; foreign operator surcharge rebated (~15th of month; account must remain open). Daily ATM cash-out cap $550.
Wire/ACHIncoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch.Incoming domestic wire $0 (+ originating-bank fee refund + $10 if requested within 30 days with docs). Outgoing domestic $5. Incoming intl $0. Outgoing intl $35 (FX markup not disclosed). App ACH in/out $0 but volume capped.

Interest & Yields

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Checking APYInitiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.Unlimited: 0% APY (1% debit cash-back reward). Pro: 1.75% APY on all balances, no tiers, no earnings limit.
Savings APYBusiness Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize)Business Savings: 4.00% APY on all balances; no account maximum on marketing. Separate account from checking.
FDIC coverageStandard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at Primis Bank. Primis + 316 Financial + Panacea aggregate.

Features & Access

MetricWells Fargo Business CheckingPrimis Business Checking
Branch/ATM network~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others).24 full-service VA/MD branches (YE2025). Any U.S. ATM for withdrawal — surcharge rebate on checking. Cash deposit at ATM implied Primis machines in VA/MD only.
Mobile appiOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer appPrimis Digital Banking iOS ~4.6 (289 ratings); Android ~4.9 (~232 reviews). Legacy Classic Business Android ~3.0 (~29) — treat as deprecated.
Virtual cardsDebit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosedNot disclosed
Opening deposit$25$1.00
EligibilitySole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN.Sole props and small business marketed. Entity list not fully published. Beneficial ownership information required.

Pros & Cons

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Pros

  • Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
  • Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
  • Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
  • Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
  • Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open

Cons

  • Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
  • 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
  • Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
  • Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
  • SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep

Primis Business Checking

Pros

  • Unconditional $0 monthly, $0 NSF/OD, $0 item fees on digital line (12/1/2025 schedule)
  • $1 opening; Pro 1.75% APY and Business Savings 4.00% APY with no balance tiers (stamp 7/1/2025; observed 9/1/2026)
  • Incoming wires $0 plus originating-fee refund + $10 program
  • Nationwide ATM surcharge rebate; automatic extra FDIC up to $2M on Business Savings
  • V1BE free cash courier in Mid-Atlantic; real Virginia-chartered FDIC bank (Cert. 57968)

Cons

  • Marketing 'no fees' conflicts with $5 domestic / $35 international outgoing wires and ancillary fees
  • App ACH capped at $18,000/day and $100,000/month undercuts 'unlimited' claim
  • Cash deposit regional only — VA/MD branches and V1BE, no national retail rail
  • Integrations and multi-user controls thin vs specialist business banks; export-only QBO
  • Digital products unavailable in PR/territories; reviews cite denials, freezes, hold friction

Verdict

Wells Fargo Business Checking

Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.

Primis Business Checking

Primis Bank (FDIC Cert. 57968) offers a digital trio: Unlimited (1% debit cash-back), Pro (1.75% APY), Business Savings (4.00% APY), each $1 to open and $0 monthly. Fee schedule (12/1/2025) prices outgoing wires at $5/$35 despite 'no fees' marketing. Channel limits bind before item fees: app ACH $18k/day and $100k/month. Savings auto-sweeps for up to $2M FDIC. Bill pay, positive pay, and cash-flow analytics included; not a full treasury stack. Strong yield-focused pick for modest-volume digital SMBs.