Wells Fargo Business Checking

Wells Fargo Business Checking

National branch + cash deposits; three-tier fee ladder; Navigate is interest-bearing mid-tier among big banks

Monthly Fee
Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)
Checking APY
Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.
FDIC
Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.
Rating
7.7/10

Costs & Fees

Monthly maintenance: Initiate $15/mo; Navigate $25/mo; Optimize $75/mo (up to 5 linked accounts, +$30 each additional)

Fee waiver: Initiate: $2,000 min daily OR $5,000 avg combined deposits OR Premier/Private Bank consumer. Navigate: $10,000 min daily OR $15,000 combined OR Premier/Private Bank. Optimize: earnings allowance offsets fees (not balance-waived). First 64 days monthly fee waived on new accounts.

Transaction fees: Initiate: 100 free transactions/fee period then $0.50 each. Navigate: 250 free then $0.50. Optimize: 250 per billing relationship then $0.50. Debit card purchases excluded from count; ACH debits, wires, Bill Pay, checks count.

Overdraft/NSF: $35 OD paid item (max 4/day); $0 NSF/return; no fee on items ≤$10 or if overdrawn ≤$10 EOD. $0 Overdraft Protection transfer from linked business savings/credit.

ATM fees: WF ATM $0. Non-WF U.S. ATM $3 + surcharge; intl $5 + surcharge. Navigate: first 2 domestic non-WF withdrawals free/period.

Wire/ACH: Incoming domestic + intl: $0 (non-analyzed tiers per 8/8/2026 addenda). Outgoing domestic: digital $30, branch $40. Navigate: first 2 outgoing domestic free/period. Optimize: 5 Vantage wires free then $15. Outgoing intl USD $30 digital / $40 branch.

Cash deposit: Initiate: first $5,000/fee period free then $0.30 per $100. Navigate: first $20,000 free then $0.30/$100. Optimize: no free bucket — $0.0030 per $1 on all cash + $2.50 per teller/mail deposit.

Interest & Yields

Checking APY: Initiate: none. Navigate: location-variable APY (not published nationally — ZIP rate sheet required). Optimize: earnings credit rate, not APY.

Savings APY: Business Market Rate Savings and Business Platinum Savings are separate products (Platinum $15/mo fee waivable if linked to Navigate/Optimize)

FDIC coverage: Standard FDIC $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Access, Features & Tools

Access

Branch/ATM: ~4,000+ branches; ~11,000+ Wells Fargo ATMs. Not in all 50 states (no branches in HI, IN, KY, LA, ME, MA, MI, MO, NH, OH, OK, RI, VT, WV among others).

Mobile app: iOS ~4.8–4.9/5 (~11M ratings); Android ~4.7/5 (~2.9M reviews) — consumer app

Cash deposits: Branch teller, WF ATM cash deposit. No Green Dot or retail-partner rails published.

Features

Invoicing/bill pay: Business Bill Pay included; no native invoicing/AR suite. Dual-control AP on Optimize/Vantage.

Virtual cards: Debit controls + alerts; full virtual-card program not disclosed

International: USD only; incoming FX wires converted at WF marked-up rate

Integrations

  • File export via online banking (QBO/Xero/NetSuite native sync not disclosed on product pages)

Limits & Requirements

Opening deposit: $25

Minimum balance: Not disclosed; zero-balance accounts may be closed without notice

Eligibility: Sole prop, partnership, LLC, corp, nonprofit, association, trust (trusts/gov/public cos/tribes must apply in person). Every signer must provide SSN.

Best for: Strong branch network Monthly fee waivable Free incoming wires Navigate interest-bearing Cash deposits up to $20k (Navigate) Premier/Private Bank waiver path

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Three coherent tiers with official Quick Views and July 28, 2026 fee schedule
  • Navigate: $20,000 free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, interest-bearing
  • Incoming wires $0 on all non-analyzed tiers after August 8, 2026 addenda
  • Relatively tight OD policy — $0 NSF, $10 de minimis, 4-fee daily cap, $0 protection transfers
  • Dense branch/ATM network (~4,000 / ~11,000) where Wells is present; $25 open

Cons

  • ✗ Initiate fee rose to $15 with $2,000 waiver floor (March 1, 2026) — old cheap-entry story gone
  • ✗ 100-transaction cap on Initiate easy to breach — ACH/wires/Bill Pay count, $0.50 overage
  • ✗ Optimize has zero free cash and $2.50 teller/mail deposit fee — poor for retail cash
  • ✗ Navigate APY and Optimize ECR not published nationally — cannot score yield without ZIP sheet
  • ✗ SSN required for every signer; virtual addresses rejected; FDIC $250k only with no sweep
Overall Verdict

Solid Pick (branch-heavy businesses — choose tier by cash/wire volume)

Wells Fargo's Initiate ($15), Navigate ($25), and Optimize ($75) checking line offers a clear three-rung ladder at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Navigate is the standout for $20k free cash, 250 items, free incoming wires, 2 free outgoing domestic wires, and location-variable interest. Initiate's March 2026 price hike ($10→$15, waiver $500→$2k) and 100-transaction cap make it tight for ACH-heavy businesses. Optimize is analyzed treasury via Vantage — not for cash. Incoming wires are $0 on non-analyzed tiers. Use when branch access and WF ecosystem matter; not for yield, offshore founders, or unlimited digital items.

7.7
Rating