Head-to-Head

American Express® Business Gold Card

Premium Membership Rewards charge/hybrid card — auto-4X on the two highest of six business categories (capped), stacked statement credits, NPSL, no FTF

VS

Capital One Venture Business

Low-fee flat 2X transferable miles business card with small annual travel + ads/software credits; fixed limit; personal underwriting

Annual Fee
$375
$95 (no first-year waiver on Venture ...
Base Earn
1X Membership Rewards point per $1 on...
Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every pur...
Intro APR
Not a standard public offer (some tar...
Not offered
Rating
8.6/10
8.5/10

Costs & Pricing

MetricAmerican Express® Business Gold CardCapital One Venture Business
Annual fee$375$95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business). Legacy Spark Miles was $0 intro year 1, then $95 — do not use that waiver in a 2026 new-applicant calculator.
Employee card feeEmployee Business Gold $95 (first 5 then $95 each); Employee Business Expense Cards $0; max 99 additional cards$0
Purchase APR17.74%–28.49% variable on Pay Over Time only (Prime + 10.99% to +21.74%)24.49% variable (marketing page shows a single rate, not a range). Review-captured terms: Prime + 17.74%; updates quarterly. Confirm whether 24.49% is universal or representative.
Intro APR (purchases)Not a standard public offer (some targeted pages have shown 0% for 6 months on POT-eligible purchases)Not offered
Foreign transaction fee$0$0
Late payment fee$39 or 2.99% of any past-due Pay In Full amount, whichever is greaterUp to $39 (captured Capital One account-terms / review Schumer boxes)

Rewards & Value

MetricAmerican Express® Business Gold CardCapital One Venture Business
Base earn rate1X Membership Rewards point per $1 on other eligible purchasesUnlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. No category tracking, no published annual cap. Same earn structure on legacy Spark Miles and live Venture Business.
Welcome bonusPersonalized — marketed as high as 200,000 Membership Rewards points after $15,000 eligible purchases in first 3 months (offer varies; you may not be eligible)Live Venture Business (Sept. 3, 2026): 100,000 miles after $10,000 in first 3 months. Product-page footnote: may not be available for existing or previous Capital One Business card holders. Offer expiration date not dated on the live product page.
Redemption valueVaries by redemption; Amex does not publish a single cpp. Treat Pay With Points / statement credit at ~1¢; transfers can be higher or lower — do not assume 2¢.Issuer marketing treats miles as 1¢ each for Capital One Business Travel and cover-travel redemptions (request within 90 days). Cash/gift-card value is lower and varies / subject to change (business FAQ). Do not assume 1¢ for cash. Transfers not assumed unless the user picks a partner.
Transfer partnersMembership Rewards partners (most airlines 1:1; hotel ratios vary). U.S. airline transfers: excise tax offset $0.0006/point, max $99. Confirm live at membershiprewards.com/pointsinfo.Official partner article (Jan. 29, 2026) — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas Frequent Flyer, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines Mileage Bank. 5:3: JetBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be lost if closed. Minimum transfer not disclosed on that article (third parties often cite 1,000-mile increments).

Credit & Eligibility

MetricAmerican Express® Business Gold CardCapital One Venture Business
Personal guaranteeRequired (standard small-business Amex model; no published no-PG path)Required in ordinary Capital One small-business underwriting. Card-specific agreement sentence not disclosed in a public PDF located this run. Application collects SSNs of all business owners.
Credit checkApply with Confidence — no personal-score impact to learn approval; accepting the card may impact personal credit. Submitting may affect business credit.Hard pull on apply is the industry-standard Capital One path; pre-approval tool is marketed as no impact on personal score. Whose credit: owners whose SSNs are submitted.
Employee cardsUp to 99 total; Gold employee cards $95 structure; Expense Cards $0; spend limits and alertsFree; individual limits; receipts/notes in Expense Management; same 2X earn per marketing.
Product typeHybrid small-business charge card with revolving Pay Over Time (NPSL on purchases)Revolving business credit card with a fixed credit line (not NPSL; not a charge card). Capital One contrasts this with Venture X Business and Spark Cash Plus (pay-in-full / NPSL).

Pros & Cons

American Express® Business Gold Card

Pros

  • Auto-4X on whichever two of six categories lead each month, up to $150k combined — no annual category lock-in
  • Transferable Membership Rewards (same partner list as other MR cards)
  • Statement-credit stack can exceed the $375 fee if credits are enrolled and used
  • $0 foreign transaction fee; NPSL plus optional Pay Over Time
  • Personalized welcome marketed as high as 200k / $15k / 3 months

Cons

  • $375 annual fee plus $95 Employee Business Gold cards
  • 4X dies after $150k combined and is only two categories per cycle; 1X residual is weak
  • Shipping dropped from 4X (2026 refresh); credits need enrollment and specific vendors
  • No lounge, Global Entry/TSA, or airline incidental credit
  • Hybrid pay-in-full + high POT APR; late fee can be 2.99% of past-due Pay In Full

Capital One Venture Business

Pros

  • Unlimited 2X miles with no category caps, plus 5X on Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars and 15+ transfer partners
  • $0 FTF and free employee cards
  • $50 travel + $50 ads/software credits can offset the $95 fee if used
  • Global Entry/TSA PreCheck up to $120 every 4 years
  • Live 100,000 / $10,000 / 3-month bonus is richer than the last Spark Miles 50k / $4,500 offer

Cons

  • $95 fee with no year-1 waiver on the live SKU
  • No 0% intro APR; BTs not available; purchase APR 24.49% variable
  • No lounge access; 5X travel is portal hotels/cars only — not flights, not direct bookings
  • Ads/software credit is MCC-fragile
  • Spark Miles closed; existing holders must re-apply (no product change) to get new credits and may lose the bonus

Verdict

American Express® Business Gold Card

Business Gold is a specialist, not a simple daily driver. Auto-4X that follows whichever two categories win each month is powerful for ads, software, restaurants, gas, transit, or wireless — and the credit stack can more than offset $375 if you already buy those products. After the $150k cap, or if you will not enroll in credits, a no-fee 2% card or Ink Preferred is usually cleaner. Poor substitute for 0% capital, no-PG fintech cards, or Business Platinum travel perks.

Capital One Venture Business

New applicants see Venture Business, not Spark Miles. Existing Spark Miles accounts stay on the old product ($0 year-1 then $95; GE/PreCheck only among this pair’s credits; no $50 travel or ads/software unless they separately apply). Do not mix with VentureOne (1.5X, $0) or Venture X Business ($395, NPSL, lounges). Skip it for 0% float, no-PG underwriting, or anyone who will revolve at 24.49%.