Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards
$0-fee 3%/2%/1% business cash-back with a monthly-switchable category and a $50k combined bonus cap; up to 5.25%/3.5%/1.75% with Preferred Rewards for Business Platinum Honors
Spark 1% Classic
No-annual-fee 1% flat cash-back business card aimed at fair/limited personal credit, with a high ongoing APR and no welcome bonus
Costs & Pricing
| Metric | Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards | Spark 1% Classic |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 | $0 (ongoing; no intro-year structure) |
| Employee card fee | $0 (no published cap on number) | $0 (free employee cards; no per-card fee published) |
| Purchase APR | 16.74%–26.74% variable after intro (creditworthiness-based; Prime + margin not printed on marketing summary) | 28.99% variable on the product page and pre-approval rates block (Sept. 3, 2026). Not published as a range; no Prime + margin table on the Classic page. Review sites still show 29.49%–30.74% — treat as stale vs issuer page. |
| Intro APR (purchases) | 0% for 7 billing cycles, then 16.74%–26.74% variable | Not offered |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% | $0 |
| Late payment fee | Not disclosed on public product pages | Not on the official Classic page. Bankrate (Dec 19, 2025): up to $39. Do not apply Cap One charge-card 2.99%-of-unpaid-minimum language to Classic. |
Rewards & Value
| Metric | Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards | Spark 1% Classic |
|---|---|---|
| Base earn rate | 1% on all other Net Purchases (PRFB can lift to 1.25%/1.50%/1.75%) | Unlimited 1% cash back on every purchase. Marketing: no limits or category restrictions; no minimums. Rewards will not expire for the life of the account. |
| Welcome bonus | $500 cash rewards after at least $5,000 in purchases in the first 90 days (live public online offer, 3 Sep 2026) | None. Live public offer as of September 3, 2026: no cash bonus, no spend threshold. Historical typical offer: also none. |
| Redemption value | 1¢ per 1% (cash is cash). No travel portal, no transfer partners. | Cash at face value on statement credit or check (1¢ per 1% dollar). Official FAQ: redeem for any amount / no minimums. Gift-card rates may vary. Do not assume portal 5% unless the user actually books hotels/cars in Capital One Business Travel. Do not assume World Elite travel credits or transferable miles. |
| Transfer partners | None | None on this cash-back product. Official FAQ: cash rewards earned through spending on Spark Classic are not taxable (issuer still says consult a tax expert). |
Credit & Eligibility
| Metric | Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards | Spark 1% Classic |
|---|---|---|
| Personal guarantee | Required in substance — cards are backed by personal credit; owner/authorized officer applies | Not quoted on the Classic product page. Commonly reported as required; official Classic sentence missing. Secondary sources (NerdWallet, Ramp, WalletHub) treat Cap One small-business cards, including Classic, as PG required. |
| Credit check | Hard personal pull on applying owner/authorized officer (treat as hard unless a prequalification tool says otherwise — none advertised) | Pre-approval advertised as no impact to personal score. Submitted application treated by reviewers as a hard pull on personal credit (commonly all three bureaus). Official: application may be declined if you have a freeze with credit bureaus. |
| Employee cards | Free; no published numeric cap; employee-transaction monitoring. Per-card sub-limits Unclear vs the separate CORP product. | Free; add with name, DOB, phone; option to issue plastic or not; custom spend and cash limits, reset mid-cycle. Number allowed not disclosed. Primary account / guarantor remains responsible (Classic page does not spell joint and several). |
| Product type | Revolving small-business credit card | Revolving business credit card (balance may be carried; interest applies). Not a charge card. Contrast siblings: Spark Cash Plus and Venture X Business are pay-in-full / NPSL charge cards. |
Pros & Cons
Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards
Pros
- $0 annual fee and $0 employee-card fees
- Monthly-switchable 3% category plus 2% dining (first $50k combined); PRFB can take choice to 5.25%
- Live $500 / $5,000 / 90-day bonus and 0% purchase APR for 7 billing cycles
- Cash redeems to deposit, statement, or check; no expiration while open
- In good standing, issuer says the card stays off personal credit reports
Cons
- 3% foreign-transaction fee
- 3%/2% share one $50,000 calendar cap, then 1% (+ PRFB)
- Headline 'up to' rates require business checking and $20k–$100k combined balances
- Personal-credit underwriting and personal liability; not a no-PG startup card
- Intro APR is short and purchases-only; 5% BT fee with no 0% BT
Spark 1% Classic
Pros
- $0 annual fee with no year-2 surprise
- Explicitly underwritten for fair personal credit — rare in the Spark/Ink/Amex Business set
- Unlimited 1% + 5% Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars; rewards do not expire while the account is open
- $0 foreign-transaction fee on a fair-credit product
- Free employee cards with spend limits, virtual numbers, QBO/Excel export, year-end summaries, and $0 fraud-liability language covering employee cards
Cons
- 28.99% variable purchase APR and no intro 0% — carrying a balance is expensive
- No welcome bonus
- 1% base lags Spark Cash Select (1.5%) and Spark Cash (2%)
- Balance transfers not available
- Likely reports full activity to personal credit — utilization risk
Verdict
Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards
Customized is the category SKU, not the flat 1.5% Unlimited card. It wins when gas, office supply, travel, telecom, computer services, or consulting plus dining stay under $50k combined. After the cap, or if you will not enroll in PRFB, Unlimited is usually simpler. Poor fit for foreign spend, ad-heavy businesses, or anyone who needs no personal guarantee.
Spark 1% Classic
Spark Classic is a credit-access card, not a rewards engine and not a 0% working-capital tool. Do not confuse it with Spark Cash Select (1.5%, $750 bonus, 9-month 0%) or Spark Cash Plus (2% NPSL charge card). Do not copy Venture X or World Elite Spark insurance onto this SKU until Classic’s own Guide to Benefits is confirmed. If you can qualify for Select or Ink Unlimited, those are better earners. If you cannot, Classic is a reasonable builder — only if you pay in full.