Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards
$0-fee 3%/2%/1% business cash-back with a monthly-switchable category and a $50k combined bonus cap; up to 5.25%/3.5%/1.75% with Preferred Rewards for Business Platinum Honors
Engine X
No-annual-fee travel charge card: 6–10% Engine points on Engine hotel/car bookings, 1.5% on other spend; no personal guarantee
Costs & Pricing
| Metric | Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards | Engine X |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 | $0 |
| Employee card fee | $0 (no published cap on number) | $0; unlimited physical and virtual cards |
| Purchase APR | 16.74%–26.74% variable after intro (creditworthiness-based; Prime + margin not printed on marketing summary) | N/A — charge card. No purchase interest if paid by due date. No published purchase APR range. Marketing “0%” means no annual fee plus charge-card float until the due date, not an intro APR. |
| Intro APR (purchases) | 0% for 7 billing cycles, then 16.74%–26.74% variable | Not offered (not a revolving product) |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% | $0 (International Transaction Fee: $0 / None). Ordinary Visa FX conversion still applies (rate not separately itemized). |
| Late payment fee | Not disclosed on public product pages | $40 per late payment |
Rewards & Value
| Metric | Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards | Engine X |
|---|---|---|
| Base earn rate | 1% on all other Net Purchases (PRFB can lift to 1.25%/1.50%/1.75%) | 1.5% back in Engine points on Qualifying Card Purchases (everyday / off-Engine spend, including flights even if booked on Engine) |
| Welcome bonus | $500 cash rewards after at least $5,000 in purchases in the first 90 days (live public online offer, 3 Sep 2026) | 20,000 Engine points after the company activates an Engine X card and completes $2,000 in Qualifying Off-Platform Purchases within 30 days of first Card activation. Off-platform = card spend not booked through Engine.com. Engine travel bookings do not count. Employee/additional-card off-platform spend does count (company-level). First-time Engine X customer; one bonus per company. Offer ends 11:59 p.m. ET, 31 December 2026 (incentive terms updated 1 Jun 2026). |
| Redemption value | 1¢ per 1% (cash is cash). No travel portal, no transfer partners. | Official cents-per-point not disclosed. Points have no cash value and are redeemable only through the program. Checkout shows a point-to-dollar value before confirm. Secondary (TPG, 20 Aug 2026): statement credit described at ~50% of booking value — unofficial; do not hard-code 1¢ or 0.5¢ as issuer fact. Disclose user-selectable factor: 1.0× if redeemed for Engine bookings; 0.5× if using TPG’s statement-credit haircut. |
| Transfer partners | None | Not offered (no Chase/Amex/airline transfers) |
Credit & Eligibility
| Metric | Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards | Engine X |
|---|---|---|
| Personal guarantee | Required in substance — cards are backed by personal credit; owner/authorized officer applies | Official apply page: “We also do not require personal guarantees.” Program terms: company is the liable party. Owner KYC still collected. Confirm no hidden guaranty in the Issuing Bank Terms accepted at offer. |
| Credit check | Hard personal pull on applying owner/authorized officer (treat as hard unless a prequalification tool says otherwise — none advertised) | Official: no hard pull, will not impact personal credit score. Soft-pull vs none-at-all on a bureau file is not separately named. Last-4 SSN is for identity verification (CIP), not described as a full credit pull. |
| Employee cards | Free; no published numeric cap; employee-transaction monitoring. Per-card sub-limits Unclear vs the separate CORP product. | Unlimited physical + instant virtual, including 1099 / temporary workers. Spend controls by employee, project, expense type, category, merchant, transaction. Physical cards ~8 business days. Company remains liable. |
| Product type | Revolving small-business credit card | Business charge card + spend-management card (pay-in-full each cycle; assigned line of credit; no revolving APR). Not a consumer credit card. Sibling: Direct Bill (credit line limited to Engine hotel/flight/car bookings — not this card). |
Pros & Cons
Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards
Pros
- $0 annual fee and $0 employee-card fees
- Monthly-switchable 3% category plus 2% dining (first $50k combined); PRFB can take choice to 5.25%
- Live $500 / $5,000 / 90-day bonus and 0% purchase APR for 7 billing cycles
- Cash redeems to deposit, statement, or check; no expiration while open
- In good standing, issuer says the card stays off personal credit reports
Cons
- 3% foreign-transaction fee
- 3%/2% share one $50,000 calendar cap, then 1% (+ PRFB)
- Headline 'up to' rates require business checking and $20k–$100k combined balances
- Personal-credit underwriting and personal liability; not a no-PG startup card
- Intro APR is short and purchases-only; 5% BT fee with no 0% BT
Engine X
Pros
- $0 annual fee and $0 employee/virtual-card fees
- 6% (scaling to 10%) Engine points on Engine hotel and rental-car bookings — unusual on-platform travel earn at $0 fee
- No personal guarantee and no hard personal credit pull (official apply language)
- Charge card + Autopay + spend controls + unlimited cards for employees and 1099s; travel booking, policy, and folios in one dashboard
- $0 foreign-transaction fee in the fee table
Cons
- Elevated earn does not apply to flights or off-Engine hotels; marketing “up to 10% on travel” is broader than the legal category
- Pay-in-full charge card; $40 late / $40 returned-payment fees; no revolver
- Points have no cash value; official ¢/point not published; statement-credit value may haircut vs booking (secondary)
- Sole proprietors ineligible; U.S. entity + EIN required
- No published lounge, TSA/Global Entry, or card-insurance benefits guide; product is new (Mar 2026) so limit ranges and servicing quality are thinly documented
Verdict
Business Advantage Customized Cash Rewards
Customized is the category SKU, not the flat 1.5% Unlimited card. It wins when gas, office supply, travel, telecom, computer services, or consulting plus dining stay under $50k combined. After the cap, or if you will not enroll in PRFB, Unlimited is usually simpler. Poor fit for foreign spend, ad-heavy businesses, or anyone who needs no personal guarantee.
Engine X
Engine X is a TMC + charge card, not Direct Bill and not Ramp/Brex. Most SMBs stay Silver (6% / 1.5%). Skip it if travel will not move onto Engine, if you need revolving credit or transferable miles, or if you are a sole prop. Confirm the live 20,000-point offer (through 31 Dec 2026) requires $2,000 off-Engine spend within 30 days of first card activation.