Head-to-Head

Business Advantage Unlimited Cash Rewards

$0-fee uncapped 1.5% business cash-back; up to 2.62% flat with Preferred Rewards for Business Platinum Honors

VS

Spark 1% Classic

No-annual-fee 1% flat cash-back business card aimed at fair/limited personal credit, with a high ongoing APR and no welcome bonus

Annual Fee
$0
$0 (ongoing; no intro-year structure)
Base Earn
1.50% unlimited on all Net Purchases ...
Unlimited 1% cash back on every purch...
Intro APR
0% for 7 billing cycles, then 16.74%–...
Not offered
Rating
8.2/10
7.2/10

Costs & Pricing

MetricBusiness Advantage Unlimited Cash RewardsSpark 1% Classic
Annual fee$0$0 (ongoing; no intro-year structure)
Employee card fee$0 (no published cap on number)$0 (free employee cards; no per-card fee published)
Purchase APR16.74%–26.74% variable after intro (creditworthiness-based)28.99% variable on the product page and pre-approval rates block (Sept. 3, 2026). Not published as a range; no Prime + margin table on the Classic page. Review sites still show 29.49%–30.74% — treat as stale vs issuer page.
Intro APR (purchases)0% for 7 billing cycles, then 16.74%–26.74% variableNot offered
Foreign transaction fee3%$0
Late payment feeNot disclosed on public product pagesNot on the official Classic page. Bankrate (Dec 19, 2025): up to $39. Do not apply Cap One charge-card 2.99%-of-unpaid-minimum language to Classic.

Rewards & Value

MetricBusiness Advantage Unlimited Cash RewardsSpark 1% Classic
Base earn rate1.50% unlimited on all Net Purchases (no category cap)Unlimited 1% cash back on every purchase. Marketing: no limits or category restrictions; no minimums. Rewards will not expire for the life of the account.
Welcome bonus$500 cash rewards after at least $5,000 in purchases in the first 90 days (live public online offer, 3 Sep 2026)None. Live public offer as of September 3, 2026: no cash bonus, no spend threshold. Historical typical offer: also none.
Redemption value1¢ per 1% (cash is cash). No travel portal, no transfer partners.Cash at face value on statement credit or check (1¢ per 1% dollar). Official FAQ: redeem for any amount / no minimums. Gift-card rates may vary. Do not assume portal 5% unless the user actually books hotels/cars in Capital One Business Travel. Do not assume World Elite travel credits or transferable miles.
Transfer partnersNoneNone on this cash-back product. Official FAQ: cash rewards earned through spending on Spark Classic are not taxable (issuer still says consult a tax expert).

Credit & Eligibility

MetricBusiness Advantage Unlimited Cash RewardsSpark 1% Classic
Personal guaranteeRequired in substance — cards are backed by personal creditNot quoted on the Classic product page. Commonly reported as required; official Classic sentence missing. Secondary sources (NerdWallet, Ramp, WalletHub) treat Cap One small-business cards, including Classic, as PG required.
Credit checkHard personal pull on applying owner/authorized officerPre-approval advertised as no impact to personal score. Submitted application treated by reviewers as a hard pull on personal credit (commonly all three bureaus). Official: application may be declined if you have a freeze with credit bureaus.
Employee cardsFree; no published numeric cap; employee-transaction monitoringFree; add with name, DOB, phone; option to issue plastic or not; custom spend and cash limits, reset mid-cycle. Number allowed not disclosed. Primary account / guarantor remains responsible (Classic page does not spell joint and several).
Product typeRevolving small-business credit cardRevolving business credit card (balance may be carried; interest applies). Not a charge card. Contrast siblings: Spark Cash Plus and Venture X Business are pay-in-full / NPSL charge cards.

Pros & Cons

Business Advantage Unlimited Cash Rewards

Pros

  • $0 annual fee and $0 employee-card fees
  • Uncapped 1.5% on all Net Purchases; PRFB can take it to 1.87%/2.25%/2.62%
  • Live $500 / $5,000 / 90-day bonus and 0% purchase APR for 7 billing cycles
  • No category tracking, no $50k bonus cap
  • In good standing, issuer says the card stays off personal credit reports

Cons

  • 3% foreign-transaction fee
  • 2.62% requires business checking and $100k combined BofA/Merrill balances
  • Personal-credit underwriting and personal liability
  • Intro APR is short and purchases-only; 5% BT fee with no 0% BT
  • No transfer partners, lounge, or TSA credits; 1.5% trails 2% flats without PRFB

Spark 1% Classic

Pros

  • $0 annual fee with no year-2 surprise
  • Explicitly underwritten for fair personal credit — rare in the Spark/Ink/Amex Business set
  • Unlimited 1% + 5% Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars; rewards do not expire while the account is open
  • $0 foreign-transaction fee on a fair-credit product
  • Free employee cards with spend limits, virtual numbers, QBO/Excel export, year-end summaries, and $0 fraud-liability language covering employee cards

Cons

  • 28.99% variable purchase APR and no intro 0% — carrying a balance is expensive
  • No welcome bonus
  • 1% base lags Spark Cash Select (1.5%) and Spark Cash (2%)
  • Balance transfers not available
  • Likely reports full activity to personal credit — utilization risk

Verdict

Business Advantage Unlimited Cash Rewards

Unlimited is the simple SKU in the Business Advantage cash pair — 1.5% with no cap, or up to 2.62% if Preferred Rewards for Business Platinum Honors is real for you. It is not Customized (3%/2%/1% with a $50k cap). Without PRFB it is a fine no-fee 1.5% card that loses to Ink Unlimited's bonus and Spark Select's longer 0% window. With PRFB it becomes one of the better uncapped cash rates in the set. Skip it for foreign spend or no-PG underwriting.

Spark 1% Classic

Spark Classic is a credit-access card, not a rewards engine and not a 0% working-capital tool. Do not confuse it with Spark Cash Select (1.5%, $750 bonus, 9-month 0%) or Spark Cash Plus (2% NPSL charge card). Do not copy Venture X or World Elite Spark insurance onto this SKU until Classic’s own Guide to Benefits is confirmed. If you can qualify for Select or Ink Unlimited, those are better earners. If you cannot, Classic is a reasonable builder — only if you pay in full.