Spark Cash Plus
$150-fee NPSL charge card — unlimited 2% cash back, 5% on Capital One Business Travel, refundable fee at $150k spend
Capital One Venture Business
Low-fee flat 2X transferable miles business card with small annual travel + ads/software credits; fixed limit; personal underwriting
Costs & Pricing
| Metric | Spark Cash Plus | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $150 ($150 statement credit if ≥ $150,000 net purchases by membership anniversary) | $95 (no first-year waiver on Venture Business). Legacy Spark Miles was $0 intro year 1, then $95 — do not use that waiver in a 2026 new-applicant calculator. |
| Employee card fee | $0 (free employee and virtual cards) | $0 |
| Purchase APR | Not printed as revolving purchase APR; Pay Over Time variable APR ~25.74% (review sites, mid-2026) if balance carried | 24.49% variable (marketing page shows a single rate, not a range). Review-captured terms: Prime + 17.74%; updates quarterly. Confirm whether 24.49% is universal or representative. |
| Intro APR (purchases) | Not offered | Not offered |
| Foreign transaction fee | $0 | $0 |
| Late payment fee | 2.99% late fee if minimum payment not paid by due date | Up to $39 (captured Capital One account-terms / review Schumer boxes) |
Rewards & Value
| Metric | Spark Cash Plus | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Base earn rate | Unlimited 2% cash back on net purchases (no category caps) | Unlimited 2 miles per $1 on every purchase. No category tracking, no published annual cap. Same earn structure on legacy Spark Miles and live Venture Business. |
| Welcome bonus | $2,000 cash after $30,000 spend in first 3 months; +$2,000 for every $500,000 in year one (repeatable) | Live Venture Business (Sept. 3, 2026): 100,000 miles after $10,000 in first 3 months. Product-page footnote: may not be available for existing or previous Capital One Business card holders. Offer expiration date not dated on the live product page. |
| Redemption value | 1¢ per 1¢ cash back on statement credit/check | Issuer marketing treats miles as 1¢ each for Capital One Business Travel and cover-travel redemptions (request within 90 days). Cash/gift-card value is lower and varies / subject to change (business FAQ). Do not assume 1¢ for cash. Transfers not assumed unless the user picks a partner. |
| Transfer partners | No native transfer partners; cash may convert to Capital One miles ($1 = 100 miles) if linked to miles-earning Cap One card | Official partner article (Jan. 29, 2026) — 1:1 airlines: Aeromexico Rewards, Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles, British Airways Club, Cathay Pacific Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Finnair Plus, Flying Blue (Air France-KLM), Qantas Frequent Flyer, Qatar Privilege Club, Singapore KrisFlyer, TAP Miles&Go, Turkish Miles&Smiles, Virgin Red. 2:1.5: Emirates Skywards, EVA Air, Japan Airlines Mileage Bank. 5:3: JetBlue. Hotels: Choice Privileges 1:1, Wyndham Rewards 1:1, I Prefer 1:2, Accor Live Limitless 2:1. Miles do not expire while the account is open; may be lost if closed. Minimum transfer not disclosed on that article (third parties often cite 1,000-mile increments). |
Credit & Eligibility
| Metric | Spark Cash Plus | Capital One Venture Business |
|---|---|---|
| Personal guarantee | Required in practice (issuer-typical for Cap One business cards; not quoted on product page) | Required in ordinary Capital One small-business underwriting. Card-specific agreement sentence not disclosed in a public PDF located this run. Application collects SSNs of all business owners. |
| Credit check | Hard pull on submit; pre-approval advertised as no impact to personal credit | Hard pull on apply is the industry-standard Capital One path; pre-approval tool is marketed as no impact on personal score. Whose credit: owners whose SSNs are submitted. |
| Employee cards | Free; spend limits, lock/unlock, account manager role; primary remains liable | Free; individual limits; receipts/notes in Expense Management; same 2X earn per marketing. |
| Product type | Hybrid charge card / NPSL business card (designed pay-in-full; Pay Over Time optional) | Revolving business credit card with a fixed credit line (not NPSL; not a charge card). Capital One contrasts this with Venture X Business and Spark Cash Plus (pay-in-full / NPSL). |
Pros & Cons
Spark Cash Plus
Pros
- Uncapped 2% cash back on all net purchases
- NPSL capacity plus free employee and virtual cards
- $150 annual fee refunded at $150,000 net spend by anniversary
- Large year-1 bonuses — $2,000 at $30k/3 mo plus $2,000 per $500k spent
- $0 foreign transaction fee; 5% on Capital One Business Travel hotels/VR/cars
Cons
- $150 fee is real if spend stays below $150k/year
- Pay-in-full design — 2.99% late fee and Pay Over Time interest if you carry
- Bonus hurdles favor very high spenders ($30k/3 mo, $500k increments)
- No 0% intro APR and no balance transfers
- Bonus often blocked for existing/previous Capital One Business cardholders
Capital One Venture Business
Pros
- Unlimited 2X miles with no category caps, plus 5X on Capital One Business Travel hotels/cars and 15+ transfer partners
- $0 FTF and free employee cards
- $50 travel + $50 ads/software credits can offset the $95 fee if used
- Global Entry/TSA PreCheck up to $120 every 4 years
- Live 100,000 / $10,000 / 3-month bonus is richer than the last Spark Miles 50k / $4,500 offer
Cons
- $95 fee with no year-1 waiver on the live SKU
- No 0% intro APR; BTs not available; purchase APR 24.49% variable
- No lounge access; 5X travel is portal hotels/cars only — not flights, not direct bookings
- Ads/software credit is MCC-fragile
- Spark Miles closed; existing holders must re-apply (no product change) to get new credits and may lose the bonus
Verdict
Spark Cash Plus
Capital One Spark Cash Plus is the go-to for businesses with serious spend who can pay in full. Uncapped 2%, NPSL flexibility, free employee/virtual cards, and a refundable $150 fee at $150k make it a premium flat-rate engine — especially with the live $2,000 welcome bonus and limited $500 travel credit (through Sep 7, 2026). Poor fit for 0% financing seekers, lounge hunters, or businesses under $150k annual card spend.
Capital One Venture Business
New applicants see Venture Business, not Spark Miles. Existing Spark Miles accounts stay on the old product ($0 year-1 then $95; GE/PreCheck only among this pair’s credits; no $50 travel or ads/software unless they separately apply). Do not mix with VentureOne (1.5X, $0) or Venture X Business ($395, NPSL, lounges). Skip it for 0% float, no-PG underwriting, or anyone who will revolve at 24.49%.